We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely clean friendly hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra
Ranked #28 of 125 Hotels in Granada
north wales
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely clean friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

Stayed a couple of nights over new year.
The hotel and rooms are very modern and clean. The breakfast is buffet which was ok. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is on the outskirts of Granada and there is nowhere close to walk to other than a restaurant which is next to the hotel.You can catch a bus to Granada which goes every 15 mins or so for 1.20 euros or Taxi which costs about 6 euros. The hotel is conveniently located for Sierra Nevada which is about a 30 min drive.We stayed half board the 3 course meal had a choice of about 4 options each course and again was ok. New years eve there was an option to join a party at the hotel but at 110 euros each we decided to stay in the main restaurant and then go into Granada where we had a great time in the bars and enjoyed bringing in the new year in the main square where there was a great atmosphere

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aceadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    618
    178
    34
    9
See reviews for
347
654
35
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

We stayed here for two nights at the end of a short tour of Andalucia on the basis of other Trip Advisor reviews and were really pleased we did. The hotel is incredible value for money, easy to find and gives good public transport access to Granada and the sights. The secure, underground carpark was also very welcome and reasonably priced.

Our room was large with plenty of wardrobe space, a desk and a chair and two large, comfortable beds. The view from the window wasn't great but how much time do you spend looking out of your hotel window? The hotel sits on a roundabout with several busy roads but the rooms are well sound-proofed so noise is not a problem.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful with information about Granada and the buses. They also have maps of the city.

Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. We also ate in the hotel restaurant both evenings - the first night because we had been travelling a lot and were too tired to try and find somewhere nice in Granada, the second night by choice after the lovely meal we had had the night before. The roast vegetable starter was particularly impressive ... and big.

It is possible to walk to The Alhambra from the hotel which we did but it is not a pleasant walk up a steep hill with a busy road and no pavement for about half the way. Either take your car, or a taxi to The Alhambra or the bus into Granada and walk up from there - also a steep hill but much more pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roxana1234
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2010

I advice everybody to be very carrefull. The service is ok - similar with other 4 star hotels in this category. Myself and my fiancee spend the new year's eve 2009-2010 in this hotel, in the restaurant. We were informed that the price is 110 per person so we were two and we were announced that they will charge the amount of 220 euro on my credit card. Everithing fine - 4 days latter we get home from Granada and I see the amount of 220 Euro charged twice. I call the hotel and they tell me that the money are only blocked - further on on January 9 I found out that in the same day they took out the entire amount from my credit card including the 220 Euro that didn't corespond them. Meaning instead of charging 220 Euro that where theirs they charged double .
As the hotel said that they only blocked the amount I asked for an invoice of 220 Euro but what was strange is that the hotel refused to send me an email saying that they did a mistake an charged 440 Euro by mistake. And now we are in 9th of January, I am returning to Romania and the hotel pretends they don't know anything but meanwhile they took 220 Euro from my credit card.
For any foreigner that pays with card in this hotel - be very carefull.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
Thank roxana1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2009

Spacious, clean comfortable room with modern bathroom. Flat screen TV, free room safe, free computer in lobby with internet access. Reception speaks English and was helpful. Hotel located on outskirts of Granada. About 15 minute bus ride (bus #33) to central Granada. Bus stops just couple minute walk from hotel. Bus stop to Alhambra (bus #13) about three minute walk.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dukems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

We stayed here over 2 years ago, so I don't know what has changed, but we liked this place so much we extended our stay in Granada by a couple days. Even though this place is a fantastic hotel (certainly deserving of 4 stars) we paid only 60 euro a night. The room was large, modern, clean and well decorated with a fantastic bathroom. The hotel itself is beautiful and very chic (I normally don't like trendy/chic design but it is done well here). It was not very crowded during our stay and the staff was very helpful. It is a bit out of town but I think the cabs were generally cheap and there is a bus to town, I think, that stops right outside. The only bad part of our stay was that we woke up very early to go to the Alhambra, before the bus up the hill was running...although this is probably the closest hotel it is still a good 25-30 minute walk up a steep hill to get there. Even though we left before 7am we had to wait on line for 4 hours to get tickets. It was worth it, though, as the Alhambra is one of those 'once in a lifetime' places and we now have a good story about the crazy experience getting tickets. Granada is a very nice town and you can eat and drink very cheaply. Staying here was a great way for us to relax at the end of our trip.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYC_TA_Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2009

If you’re coming to Granada with a car, this is a very good option. We happen to come in from a long drive and were really tired, so decided to stay at the hotel for dinner and while the food was nothing to write home about, it was not bad either. There’s a cute hang out area and a bar above the lobby. The room was nice and clean, nothing memorable, but we only stayed for a night. We considered staying here again on our way back North and decided to drive a bit further, but I would have gladly stayed again. The hotel has a parking garage for 9 euro which is very convenient with an elevator that takes you straight to your room.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AG_world_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2009

This hotel was very nice, but slightly stuffy. The hotel spa and breakfast was great, and transit to the city and the Alhambra site worked very well.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CKPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Centro - Sagrario
Hotel Granada Center
Hotel Granada Center
#34 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saray Hotel
#32 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Senator Granada Spa Hotel
#42 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Puerta de Las Granadas
#14 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra

Property: Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra
Address: Lugar Mirador del Genil 2, 18008 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing