We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, clean and modern”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra
Ranked #31 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Soest, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Spacious, clean and modern”
Reviewed 7 April 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. The room was luxereous: large, nice bed, clean and spacious bathroom. All the necessities like free wifi internet, television etc were available. Good continental breakfast, lousy diners in the evening.
The location is perfect for visiting Granada. There are two busstops nearby. One bus brings you to the center of Granada in about 10 min. We liked also liked the location, because the Sierra Nevada and other villages nearby could be easily reached (we had a rental car). Unfortunately there aren't any nice restaurants nearby, so you have to take the bus. The Arabic baths weren't very impressive, 20 euro pp for one hour access.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princessnijna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    640
    194
    37
    10
See reviews for
360
690
36
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

We only stayed here one night, but we were tremendously impressed with the convenience, quality and value of the Macia Real.
Convenience:
Couldn't be easier to get to, just take A395 from A44 all the way to the end. There is a roundabout when you come out of the tunnel and the hotel is right in front of you although the name is not visible until you have gone by it on the roundabout. Drive up on the tiled porte cochere at the front door until you get your parking pass to the underground parking. Parking at the hotel is 9 Euro per night. Bus stops for buses to Alhambra (less than 5 minutes) and to the Centro (less than 10 minutes) are within a two minute walk and run frequently. However give yourself some time to get to Alhambra. We were told there were two bus routes to Alhambra but only found the stop for one and that only ran every 25-30 minutes. Fortunately we only had to wait 15 minutes. If taking the bus to the Nazarie Palace allow about 1 1/2 hours to wait for bus, walk to main gate, collect your pre-purchased tickets and walk through Alhambra to the Nazarie Palace. Taxi won't save much time unless you have prearranged the pickup time.
Quality
The hotel appears to be brand new and is pretty sophisticated high end modern design. Public areas are very spacious, airy and bright. Rooms are modern but cosy. (Tip-you have to put your keycard into a slot beside the light switch at the door to turn on the lights.) Bathrooms are very chique. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. The breakfast buffet was enormous with a hugh selection of cereals, fruit, cold cuts, cheeses, yoghurt, pastries etc and a couple of hot selections. Front desk staff were very efficient, helpful and adequately friendly.
Value:
Value was exceptional - We paid $80 / night including breakfast for two through Expedia. The breakfast was well worth the extra for the package with the room.
I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank repleo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We had a bit of a challenge finding the hotel because the area is fairly new & our GPS didn't recognize the address. Fortunately, we remembered reviews that mentioned the hotel was a straight shot from Alhambra, so we managed to find our way. The check-in process was quick; we requested an extra bed, and they promptly set it up for us. The room was clean, beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was spotless. Overall, a great experience!

We were looking for a hotel that was not in Granada's city center because we were wanting a quiet location and newer facilities. We had a car, so distance wasn't an issue... for those traveling without a car, there is a regular bus service.

TIP: There was plenty of street parking around the hotel, so we didn't pay the 9 euro per night to park in the hotel's garage.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nesalsut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Short stay to enjoy the sights of Granada. Very pleasant hotel, reception and restaurant staff spoke English well but generally staff were direct rather than friendly. The hotel is spacious and bright, rooms not that large and designer baths not that comfortable. All rooms appear to be Twins- with bedding very well tucked in - not so good for romantic weekend!
Walked into Granada one day but drove on other occasions. Walk is pleasant especially in the side streets, the Cathedral, churches squares, even the hospital ( an old building with lovely murals and piazza). The Alhambra and its associated gardens and palaces really do take a full day, all the descriptions do not do it justice, it is stunning.
We ate at Cunnini's rated elsewhere- the food is great in the street area, inside the bar is very crowded as it is so popular.
The hotel breakfast will keep you going till dinner in the evening, it is plentiful and wide ranging and served till quite late. The food in the restaurant is well cooked and presented.
Parking is charged but there is a small amount of on street spaces, bus is very easy- stopping outside.
We had a lovely stay and will visit Granada again, but maybe in a Hotel in the centre

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelDBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

We spent just 2 nights here with some friends and we were all impressed with the overall standard of accommodation. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and very clean. The decor throughout is very stylish. The breakfasts were ample and of high quality. The staff were polite and helpful. Such an enjoyable experience and incredibly good value!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland uk
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2010

loved this hotel, awesome service indeed and awesome hotel, brilliant facilities, lived like a king, loved the arab bath house inside, just wish the bath house prices were a little cheaper, otherwise it was awesome and only a bus away from the alhambra palace and the centre and not far from the sierra nevada

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musaofsparta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2010

We booked two rooms through alpharooms.com albeit at minimal saving compared to the hotel website - we wanted a double room and adjoining twin for our teenage children, but were given two twins, which was acceptable. Rooms were clean and well-appointed with spacious modern bathrooms, but a rather urban view of the opposite hill, as the hotel is on the eastern outskirts of Granada. This suited us, as we were primarily there for a few days skiing in the Sierra Nevadas, and it only took us 40 minutes to get to the resort. It's also only a twenty minute walk from the Alhambra, although the hill in between might test a few aged limbs! There is a bus (No 13) which runs the route if this is preferred. Even though the hotel is on the road, there is no traffic noise and we slept well.

Reception staff were friendly, helpful and all spoke English: we were staying on a bed and breakfast basis and we ate one night in the restaurant. Breakfast was plentiful with an extensive buffet of hot and cold choices with plenty to keep children happy. The evening meal was disappointing after the breakfast - the staff were somewhat officious and the meal choices were less child friendly although there is a la carte (with average starter prices being 11 euros, mains 20 euros) as well as menu of the day at 20 euros for three courses. The vegetables were tinned and it didn't reach the same standard as breakfast. To eat out, you really need to travel into the city as there are only one or two restaurants near the hotel (beware - the adjoining pub looks appealing but plays loud techno dance music and is smoky) - but this is easy to do as the No. 33 bus runs right past the hotel every 15 minutes and you can be in the centre in 10 mins or so at the cost of 1.20 euros for a single. Buses run till after 11.

My wife wanted to go to the spa, and visited to book but found that although the staff were helpful and pleasant, they couldn't speak any English and with her very limited Spanish attempts to book what she wanted were defeated. This is not a criticism of the staff, but more a comment on our British expectation that all nationalities must speak English - it certainly helped being able to speak some Spanish around Granada as English-speakers were few and far between.

Overall, the hotel suited our purposes perfectly well, although we were disappointed when we realised that the promised pool was outside - not much good in February at 10 degrees! Granada is a lovely city and it will be even better when the park renovations are completed. Yes, we will probably be back.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tandannik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Saray Hotel
#33 of 122 in Granada
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abades Nevada Palace
#70 of 122 in Granada
726 reviews
Hotel Carmen Granada
#43 of 122 in Granada
1,352 reviews
Andalucia Center Hotel
#49 of 122 in Granada
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra

Property: Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra
Address: Lugar Mirador del Genil 2, 18008 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing