We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On a steep hill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cerro Del Sol
Ranked #67 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Villach, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“On a steep hill”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The Hotel Cerro is a surprise.The bedrooms are well decorated and bed is comfortable.The room
we stayed in had no plug in the bath,and half way through a shower the water went off for half an
hour.The water did come back on after 3 phone calls to reception.The really disappointing thing was the terrible food in the bar area.We were the only diners,which was a bad sign,but the food
was terrible.All from the microwave,no potatoes or veggies with the main course,just a plate of meat.
All was heated up and served by the receptionist.This is not a place to eat for dinner although the buffet
breakfast is fine.Long way into town on the bus,and you need a taxi to visit the Alhambra.
The reception staff are very helpful and can arrange trips.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back with a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iangray13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    114
    50
    22
    13
See reviews for
68
200
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed in Cerro del Sol for 2 nights on our trip to Granada in September 2013. Yes it is out of town, and up a steep hill, but the frequent 33 bus means you are in the central district within minutes and the view is just lovely. The room was spotless, the price included a buffet breakfast, the staff were excellent and friendly (so they seem to have taken previous comments to heart), the pool is perfect for a relaxing dip after sight-seeing, there is a bar for evening drinks and you can book a meal. It was very quiet when we were there - no noise.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the terrace overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel was 5km out of Granada. it is not central. It is at the top of a huge hill which is a struggle each time. The bus into the city is cheap and frequent ( but after which you have to climb the big hill!!). The rooms were VERY noisy (both from other people staying and local barking dogs).I suppose this hotel would be ok if you had a car and needed parking. However, I would NOT recommend this hotel for people wanting to stay in Granada. I wish I had been advised how far out the hotel was. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCerroDelSol, Propietario at Hotel Cerro Del Sol, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear madam,

We are really sorry your experience in our hotel was such a disappointment. Nevertheless, we believe your comments are a bit unfair and therefore we would like to clarify them.
Nowhere in our website says we are located in the city centre. We are a hotel located at the top of a hill 5 minutes away from the Alhambra palace (which by the way, isn´t either in the centre of town).
Thanks to the fact that we are at the top of a hill, our guests enjoy lovely views over Granada and the Sierra Nevada mountain range. We offer free parking space, which is very appreciated by most of our guests, and there is a cheap bus that takes you anywhere in Granada in less than 10 minutes as you indicate. I understand that the hill to the hotel is a bit step for some guests but for the vast majority it isn´t.
The comments regarding the noise we think are very personal. Most of our guests say they like our location because it is very quiet and surrounded by greenery. We also have triple glazing in all our rooms.
The fact that people staying were a bit noisy is probably due to the fact that we were fully booked during your stay as we had quite a few doctors attending a conference, and some of them stayed until late in our restaurant.
Notwithstanding, we apologize for any inconvenience caused and really look forward to seeing you in the future. We will make sure should you decide to stay with us again to give you the quietest room we have.
Yours sincerely,

Hotel Cerro del Sol, Granada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We chose Cerro Del Sol as it really is ideally located for trips into Granada. Its literally just a 10 minute drive into the city centre (if you dare - parking is difficult!) but we used the excellent bus service. A word of warning though as the hotel is situated at the top of a very steep hill which is no fun either in the hot summer sun or at the end of a hot day tramping around Granada. We only stayed for a couple of nights and while the hotel ticks most of the boxes, it just seems slightly sterile despite being in a characterful building. The actual room we stayed in seemed very basic and didn't have any tea/coffee making facilities which was a little annoying. Service from the staff was reasonably good though on one night we sat in the bar waiting to order drinks and had to give up and go elsewhere as we waited for ages and there was not a member of staff to be found anywhere. One final point was the sheer amount of noise that the staff make early in the morning: slamming doors, laughing loudly, rattling trolleys etc is no fun for the guests at 7am.
Even so, not a bad place to stay but they need to try just a little harder.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Well positioned for a visit to Granada. Excellent views of the surrounding hills and a welcome swimming pool after a day sightseeing in the city. The number 33 bus from the stop at the bottom of the hill gets you into the city centre in 15 minutes and they run every 15 minutes. A word of warning though which is not much mentioned. The hotel sits on a hill which is great for the views but after a tiring day, particularly if you are not as young or fit as you would like to be, it is a difficult climb up. The odd smile from the staff would have been welcomed.

Room Tip: It is worth paying a little extra for a mountain view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Velez Rubio, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stayed at this lovely quaint hotel as part of my prelude to a birthday and was quite impressed by it. Arrived very late at night and was a bit apprehensive after reading some.of the negative reviews here. We were welcome.by the.tall gentleman at reception who showed us.to room nine it was clean, spacious with all the mod cons. Free parking and also easy access into city only 20mins on bus 33. If you don't like walking up a steep hill you can rectify that by taking your car and parking at the bottom. During our stay there was a rotation of staff at the front desk all nice and helpful. I loved the fact that.the.door was always locked guaranteeing security as you could tell its family run and running on limited staff which is perfect as their passion shows on how it's maintained. Breakfast is served till 10 which is also good as you don't want to go for lunch whilst they are still clearing morning crockery. Pool area very nice makes you feel as if you are in the middle.of the country not 20 minutes from the city. Had dinner on our first night was not impressed at all that was the only thing it might have been late but that is it an excuse to serve unpleasant food. But will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room nine did it for us. Don't know why they have twin beds that room will look fab with a doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CasaJoya1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The hotel is located just outside of the centre which isn't an issue as it's only a 10 minute bus ride away, buses seemed to be frequent too.
The hotel was quiet and the rooms lovely, spacious and clean, WIFI is available in the bedrooms.
I'm very glad we chose a place with a pool as it was over 35 degrees whilst we were there! Great value for money too.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esme_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Hotel Abades La Marquesa
#73 of 122 in Granada
77 reviews
B&B Hotel Granada
#23 of 122 in Granada
781 reviews
Saray Hotel
#35 of 122 in Granada
1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Hotel Carmen Granada
#43 of 122 in Granada
1,379 reviews
Allegro Granada
#53 of 122 in Granada
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cerro Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cerro Del Sol

Property: Hotel Cerro Del Sol
Address: Calle Salvador Dali 1, 18190 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cerro Del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views, just a stone's throw from the Alhambra of Granada and Sierra Nevada. Stay in a charming rural hotel in Granada. Enjoy the comfort of its exclusive 14 double rooms and one suite decorated with a special passion for detail. A 100 m² dining room with bar and chimney. A terrace with spectacular views. Gardens and swimming pool. Free WiFi. Free parking. Apart from relaxing, at the Hotel Cerro del Sol you can enjoy plenty of leisure entertainment activities such as golf, paragliding, horseback riding, hiking, skiing, sightseeing in Granada and, of course, see monuments such as the Alhambra or Generalife, just 5 minutes away, or visit the famous Science Park or the modern Andalusia Museum. Don’t forget that if you're here on business, the Health Technology Park is around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cerro Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro Del Sol Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing