We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, helpful staff, let down by poor breakfast”
Review of Villa Oniria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Oniria
Ranked #26 of 124 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2011

For sightseeing in Granada and the Alhambra this hotel is well situated. It is well designed and laid out and the staff were very helpful.You can also book car parking which is a boon. Breakfast can only be described as mean. It was minimal to say the least and seemed to be more about art, with just a few pieces of food laid out in lines on black slate. There are however loads of places to have breakfast in the City. The dirty carpets and walls in the two rooms we had also disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank seadog229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 215 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2011

The hotel is conveniently located but in an ugly section of the city. As noted by others, the smell of vanilla candles is over powering when you walk in, but the lobby is picturesque. The room was nice but the carpet was disgusting with numerous stains covering all open areas. It desperately needed a good cleaning or replacement. On day one of my stay, I asked about the lack of wi-fi and was simply told "the technician has been called." I got similar responses for the next two days. On the fourth day, there was a signal and although I had four bars, it would only connect for two or three minutes at the most making it basically unusable. I tried numerous times throughout the day since I had a big report due and was forced to find an internet cafe. Finally, the equipment in the small gym looked essentially unused, and it was most likely due to the fact that it was 35 Celsius and VERY humid in the room. If you enjoy working out in a sauna, this gym has got you covered. I asked about the temperature at the front desk and was told that they don't run the air conditioner since it's located right next to the spa and pool. All in all, there are many nicer places to stay in town with friendlier people working at the front desk.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank prasios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The moment we entered the electric sliding front doors you enter a peaceful and relaxing haven in this busy city. The hotel is full of burning candals and the smell of the vanilla is lovely. The public rooms are very nice and there is an open air restauant in the walled garden which features relaxing water features. The bedrooms are very well furnished, very comfortable and ours which overlooked a side street very quiet. Yes the bathroom doors and walls are glass but we didn't find that a problem. The receptionist was lovely and very helpful ( They must have sacked the grumpy one), she directed us to good cafes in a nearby square for breakfast and nice tapas restaurants for an evening meal. The hotel restaurant looked very nice, but quite pricey, and we wanted to sample city life.
I would really recommend this hotel as a peaceful haven in this beautiful but busy city.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

This is a gem of a hotel, small, very beautiful and perfectly located. The interiors are lovely and the bathrooms fabulous. So why was the receptionist so rude? All we asked was how to find the swimming pool and it was like opening up a deep seam of nastiness. (Apparently they don't have a swimming pool, just an indoor spa, although the hotel description says otherwise). So no, beautiful or not, we won't be back for another tongue-lashing.

But six days in Granada was just wonderful; I'm sure there are other beautiful hotels to stay in, maybe even with a pool.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DublinJaniemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

This hotel is ideally located for access to all the sights in Granada and a bus ride away from the Alhambra. Our room was on the second floor and and at the back of the hotel overlooking a small square. It was very quiet and comfortable with a great shower.
Breakfast was good and there is a lovely outdoor eating area. Our only gripe would be that on the Saturday night the hotel was used for a big celebration using all the lounge areas to accommodate dining. We had no warning of this and so were somewhat disgruntled that there was nowhere to sit and have a drink or relax that evening and there was a lot of noise.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coombegrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

The best thing to be said for this facility is that the public area is fairly attractive. The problems far out weigh any positive aspects. The cloying, unctuous odor of the vanilla candles burning throughout the "villa" mask the stench of tobacco smoke. Our rather small room # 204 was supposed to have been non-smoking but the dreadful vanilla smell permeated everything. The rooms appear rather shabby, walls scratched and dirty and the carpet was either filthy of terribly stained, while, the rooms appear to be poorly cleaned in general. The long, black hair on our bathroom floor on our arrival was there during our (thankfully only) two night stay. There was no proper curtain for the large bathroom window overlooking the side street, so one should not turn on the light when using the room at night! The TP was 320 grit.
The staff was dismissive and grudgingly answered questions. The wifi connection is much too weak in the rooms - just not accessilble. When I asked a young woman at reception to change a bill (so I could give a tip to someone) she said, "No." That was it!
Why stay in a place like this when there are other options!?

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shi Hu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

a very nice, conveniently located hotel, with good atmosphere. However, staff service was poor - check in staff are aloof and dont really pay much attention to you, the staff in the bar are slow, we called down for room service a few times -it never came. We were in a small group of 6 couples and when we checked in three of our group's in room safe were not working and it took 3 calls over the course of 4 hours before they came to fix them. also the interent is not free, there is a charge for it which seems rather penny pinching given the price of the hotel. but if you dont care about the service and the internet this is a wonderful location to stay at

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellers-Ont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#3 of 124 in Granada
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Marquis Hotels Issabel's
Marquis Hotels Issabel's
#55 of 124 in Granada
132 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#4 of 124 in Granada
1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Oniria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Oniria

Address: Calle San Anton 28, 18005 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Granada
#13 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#27 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £68 - £460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Oniria 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Oniria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Oniria Hotel Granada
Oniria Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing