We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - not matched by the service”
Review of Villa Oniria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Villa Oniria
Ranked #20 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I booked a room at the Villa Oniria based on reviews and specifically asked for a room with a balcony. On checking in we were happy to find we had been given a room with a balcony - but the balcony door didn't open. We reported this immediately and were given assurances that it would be fixed. We reported it again an hour later and then went for a walk. On returning, 3 hours later, we were disappointed to find it still hadn't been fixed. We were then given another room, in the attic, which was bigger but gloomier (although the skylights did open!)

The attic room was spacious and the toilet /bidet were separate from the bathroom. In the bathroom itself, the only shower was an attachment on the taps, with no screen or curtain. This made showering awkward as you have to hold the attachment in your hand. Also the area above the bath was not tiled which meant the wall was mouldy where people have to hold the shower attachment.

Shortly after arriving we ventured into the garden - a tranquil area - and order a tea with milk. We got a pot of cold milk with a tea bag in it! We eventually got a pot of tea but the pots barely hold one small cup of tea, so you may have to ask for several pots if you want more than one cup.

Breakfast had the usual selection of cold meats, cheeses, fruit, breads and pastries with some egg dishes available - all artfully presented. The drawback at breakfast was that there was only one waiter so you could face a long wait for tea / coffee and cooked dishes.

The location was superb, within easy walking distance of the centre. The staff were polite and friendly - but generally slow and ineffectual. The valet parking was excellent, there are several spaces in front of the hotel to pull up and the car was returned promptly when we asked for it.

The public areas of the hotel are attractive and calm and this was clearly a beautiful Villa in the past. it's a shame that the plus point of the hotel were let down by the poor service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony or window - but make sure they open!!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amaliag381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (627)
There are newer reviews for Villa Oniria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2012 via mobile

Hotel in good location close to restaurants/shops/historic area-staff helpful.boutique hotel with fountain in lobby next to lounge reading room .also garden with fountains & drinks area.buffet breakfast in lounge with hot items.rooms are small but good use of space comfortable bed window view ,desk,tv,walk in shower & marble toilet/bidet separate room & wash basin area behind wooden shutters.wifi is free but erratic or not working.atmosphere is quiet with candles in lobby etc as this is a 19c palace

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at Villa Oniria for two nights as part of a week-long Spanish holiday. We chose this hotel, from all accounts a renovated mansion, in Granada based on other TripAdvisor reviews -- and because of the availability of parking (as we rented a car and drove around Andalusia).

First of all, it's worth saying that all common areas in the hotel are gorgeous. All the traveller photos of the lobby areas, restaurant and outdoor terrace/gardens are accurate -- the hotel is quite beautiful inside and there is indeed a light smell of vanilla everywhere along with the calming sound of water trickling around the central courtyard fountain. Although we didn't sample the breakfast or hotel restaurant (which has won numerous awards), the tasting menu looked amazing. We did have one or two drinks outside on the terrace which was lovely and highly recommended. A nice touch in the afternoon are trays of sugar and cinnamon sticks on each table which you can add to your coffee.

The staff are very helpful and friendly. About five minutes before arriving, we phoned ahead and they said they would clear a space for our rental car in one of the parking bays right outside the hotel (this is recommended if you are driving as the street the hotel is on is quite narrow and you may need to go around a few times if no spaces are free). Once we parked and checked in, a staff member took our keys and parked the car for us -- he even returned my Blackberry which I'd left in one of the cup holders, which was ever so nice (thank you!). Otherwise the staff are discreet (they're never that visible, but are available when you need), and very willing to help with directions and recommendations.

It was nice to have our room on the top floor ready upon arrival, but unfortunately, this is where our experience became rather underwhelming, as the top floor rooms are effectively attic rooms, with angled ceilings (beware tall people who sit up in bed), no views anywhere and a slightly odd bathroom layout with sinks hidden behind wooden shutters for no reason other than perhaps to give more illusion of space (because they are effectively located in the room's doorway! For the price we paid for this hotel, we were actually disappointed in the room itself, not just because of the lack of view, but also because there were broken mirrors behind bedside lamps, dark scuff marks on the walls and water stains below the dormer roof windows, perhaps left open when it had rained. This was too bad because the bed itself was actually very comfortable and the shower room was lovely. However, beware the toilet as well, as it is screened only by a thin glass door with frosting over a strip in the middle. If you're shy in the loo -- just know that anyone else in the room will be able to see and hear you!

The hotel location is very good, an easy 10 minute walk to the historic city centre. We didn't sample the spa or gym areas.

Would we stay at Villa Oniria again and would we recommend to others? Yes, but most certainly not in a top floor room.

Room Tip: Do not stay here if only top floor rooms are available.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pommefranate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

My review is long overdue. My husband and I stayed here on our two week trip to Spain a couple of years ago. This hotel is conveniently located, although it's not the most central location in Granada. I found the hotel to be absolutely beautiful and charming, especially the lobby area. However, the room we stayed in was very small with slanted ceiling (so that one side of the ceiling was way too low!). While the room was clean, the decor and ambience was probably a 3-star at best.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice now. Both times we experienced fantastic service from the reception and bar staff. The hotel is cosy, clean and very romantic. The location is ideal too, walking distance from everything.

I cannot reccommend the hotel restaurant enough, something you MUST experience. The chef has been awarded a michellin star and when you try the restaurant out you will understand why!! Amazing! Will definitely be back.

TIP: do not buy the expensive candles they offer, you can get the exact same ones at the "mercadona" supermarkets all over spain for a third of the price!

Room Tip: ask for a blacony room facing the square or alternatively you can ask for a room with skyline view...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ela2186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Big bedrooms with comfy beds and lovely shower and bathroom. Nice buffet breakfast with a wide variety of choice. Beautiful lounge/bar area and decoration throughout, especially the fountain in the centre of the ground floor. Friendly if sometimes slow service. Excellent location in city centre and tapas bars.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachelBurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel after puchasing a two night stay with breakfast and use of the spa via a groupon voucher. The rooms are lovely, large comfy bed and a wonderful shower closet.We where disppointed that there was only one english speaking channel on the tv, a hotel of this quality should have had more.The continental breakfast was more than enough, with choices of fresh fruit, yoghurt, dried fruits, sliced meats and chesses, plus the usual sweet treats of croissants and do-nuts. All displayed on grey slates. The hotel has valet parking as it is in the middle of the city and parking nearby is not available. We parked about 2 mins walk away in a public multistorey, the cost for leaving it for two days was 40 euro.We purchased a two day ticket for the sightseeing tour with the hop on, hop off bus. We used this both days to tour the city and choose our areas to visit in more detail. All in all a lovely stay. We where disappointed not to be able to use the spa as we would have liked, it did not open till 10am, and we would have liked to have used the spa before breakfast. We did visit in Jan, so maybe when it is busier the times of opening would change.

Room Tip: Room 107 was on the side, very quiet room.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scotlasseng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#4 of 122 in Granada
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#17 of 122 in Granada
1,552 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Oniria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Oniria

Address: Calle San Anton 28, 18005 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Granada
#9 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#23 Family Hotel in Granada
#27 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £81 - £756 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Oniria 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Oniria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Oniria Hotel Granada
Oniria Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing