We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Oniria
Nearby Hotels
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Alhambra Palace Hotel(Granada)
US$332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$301
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Puerta de Las Granadas(Granada)(Great Value!)
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada(Granada)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Melia Granada(Granada)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$501
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$448
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$138
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (673)
Filter reviews
673 results
Traveller rating
289
253
78
30
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
253
78
30
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla fabulaseparate showerlovely hotelshower capspa areashort break in granadapark your carsafe areaboutique hotelbusy citytapasfresh orange juicetwo night stayrestaurant recommendationsper dayexploring granadabreakfast buffet
Filter
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 673 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2010

We got back last night from a trip to southern spain with our 5 kids, ages 4 months - 14 years. Hotel Villa oniria in granada was our last hotel stay on our trip. I believe it's rated as a 5 star hotel, and although it was nice, i wouldn't have put it on the same page with the Parador that is on the grounds of the Alhambra. The Parador was a beautiful hotel, with wonderful amenities. Villa Oniria had a couple of negatives for us. First, we were told our room would have a balcony. However, we had 2 rooms that had skylights and that was the only window in both rooms. There had also been some water damage on the walls that had not been repaired, and crumbly paint. The bathtub...there was a handheld shower in it, but no drain. And no shower curtain, or door on the bathroom, and it was open to the rest of the room. So basically you sit in a dry tub with a handheld shower and everyone in the room can check you out while you bathe. Not my idea of a 5 star hotel, even if the "no door on the bathroom" thing is trendy. The other thing is, they say they have Wifi...it costs $15/day for 1 computer. We spent hours trying to get it to work in both rooms on 2 different computers. No luck. We finally asked for a cable and connected directly into the outlet in our room It did work then.
The location is good, you can walk to almost everything. And although the front desk staff is friendly, if you don't speak a lot of spanish, there may be some communication problems. They don't speak a lot of English, and for a 5 star hotel, that should be a requirement.
Oh, last thing, they do say they have a pool, but it's 25 euros/day and they said it's not really a pool but a hot tub.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4girls1boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2009

This hotel is in a side street off the main shopping area, and is in a very good location for seeing Granada. It has an unprepossessing exterior, and even the reception area doesn’t give a clue to the fact that this building was once a small palace (or so we were told by a local). Once past reception a restful cool marble atrium with a gentle fountain and pond in the centre opens up with the bar lounge in an area to the left and the wide marble staircase to the right. Everywhere the hotel’s signature scented candles burned, which while pleasant to begin with began to feel somewhat overdone and a little cloying after a while.

We were in a superior room, which was really excellent, large and spacious, with lots of cupboard and hanging space discreetly located out of view. My only disappointment was that the beds were singles and not a double bed. When I queried this I was told that all the beds in the hotel are like that with the exception of the suite (which I believe is given to newlyweds. well I should jolly well hope so!). Also, the air-conditioning didn’t work, and whatever setting I tried all I achieved was hot air from the vents, so we had to sleep part of the night with the balcony doors open. A request for this to be fixed was met with a promise of attention but no action. However, there were many power sockets in the room for recharging the numerous devices we brought with us, which was appreciated.

This room had two balconies (little ones, deep enough for one person to stand, so a bit deeper than a Juliette balcony), and being in the run-up to Christmas, they were decorated with lights and greenery … very festive. There is a flat screen TV in a recess on the wall that can be pulled out and angled for (almost) comfortable viewing in bed, and for those of us who speak only English there was the ever vacuous CNN and German MTV (well, almost all pop music is in English).

The bathroom was very clean, bright and modern with two washbasins and a bath long enough for a guy to stretch out in. Opposite was a small room with toilet and bidet and beside that a marble-walled shower room.

The hotel’s location was good, It’s in a street that is quiet in the main but noisy Spaniards tended to conducted shouted conversations at 2 in the morning as they walked home from supper, and that tended to wake me from time to time, but I am a light sleeper.

For visiting the Alhambra, the square from where the bus runs is about 10 minutes walk from the hotel, but the hotel is also very close to the main shopping and eating areas, and so overall we thought it was extremely well placed for our needs.

Downsides: The staff spoke very little English (with the exception of the delightful and very knowledgeable Ana). The room was stuffy and the aircon didn’t work, and the beds, as I said, were singles.

The lounge area was pleasant but the bar was feeble. There is no dedicated bar staff and those who did tend bar (they sort of appeared after inquiries are made at the desk) knew little about what they were doing. We were told that they didn’t have any sherry (?) and although no bottles of drink were in evidence at all, we saw on one night a tray arrive laden with bottles for one group. Very odd. The hotel publicity material speaks of music and a bar, but unless this is in high season, or in an alternative reality, this doesn’t happen.

Oh, and the room keys failed every day without exception. They’d work, and then when we returned from a day’s excursion, they didn’t and one of us would have to go downstairs to have them reactivated; a small but irritating inconvenience.

Recommendation for eating:
Cunini in the Plaza De Pescederia, a very good fish-oriented restaurant, and

La Gondaliere at Martinez Campo. This last one is a real find when you’ve had enough of tapas, serving good Italian food in a restaurant with great atmosphere. When you arrive, don’t put up with being seated in the narrow area with tables either side of the corridor, go down to the desk and turn right and right again. You’ll find a large spacious dining area with white tablecloths and silver cutlery, with the same menu you’d have had nearer the entrance. The food is good and reasonably priced, and if you’re lucky you’ll be served by a young man who spent two years in Leeds and who speaks fluent English (thankfully devoid of a Hispano-Yorkshire accent).

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidGarfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

We stayed there for 1 night and having been traveled for 2.5 weeks before coming to Granada this hotel is a real sanctuary for us. The calm, soothing entrance with vanilla candle and soft music are a very unique, We have enjoyed our stay and the service.

What made it extra special was we left our money belt in the safety box. They called our local mobile phone until we picked up. When we came back 5 days later, they were so worried we will not come back (we promised 3 days later). The money belt was packed in a nice bag with our name etc like a gift. I can't thank the hotel for their professionalism, especially to Ana, who has been providing her best service.

Thank you for the great service and great hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuskCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

Even though this boutique hotel is in the middle of a busy shopping area and just a few blocks from the Cathedral, it is a wonderfully quiet retreat perfect after a busy day of sightseeing. I loved that it was a renovated palacio so you get a real Andalusian atmosphere with a bubbling fountain in the center, a walled garden setting for the restaurant and nice details throughout.

We had 2 rooms -- 106 & 107. Both were nice but 106 is a corner room so it is bigger and brighter with more windows. (Be aware that neither room is huge, since this is a hotel in the center of old town, but they were comfortable.) I liked the large limestone shower area. For the same price, the corner room is a much better deal. Both had little balconies overlooking the cobblestone street below. We noticed that the room next to ours (105) had a very large balcony over looking the walled garden with room for a table and chairs. This must be one of the suites and looked very appealing.

The hotel staff was very helpful in recommending good restaurants in the area for dinner. We heard that the hotel's restaurant is excellent but we were unable to try it because it was full. Book ahead! The breakfast is a nice, Spanish style help-yourself buffet -- no hot dishes but plenty of cheese, ham, rolls, tortillas, fruit and yogurt to keep our family happy.

My only complaint is that the spa services are not offered on Sundays (not stated in the brochures), which should be expected in a country where everything shuts down on Sundays. Plan accordingly if one of your days in Granada is on a Sunday. We booked our guided tour of the Alhambra on Sunday which was good because it was the only thing to do. Also, access to a computer room would be very helpful for travelers who do not have a laptop with them. The staff helped us by printing driving directions to our next destination but I would have liked to do some searching about local sites as well on my own. There is an indoor pool in the spa area but it seemed very adult oriented and we did not use it. My preteen daughter was disappointed by this aspect.

If you are driving, be aware that the streets in this part of town are very narrow and confusing with lots of one ways. Have a small car, a good map and lots of patience. The hotel will park your car for you in a nearby garage.

Overall, this is a very lovely hotel and I would definitely stay here again. I also wish we had planned to spend more than 2 nights in Granada -- it is a city worth exploring in more depth.

To visit the Alhambra & Generalife complexes, we booked a 3-hour guided tour in English online. For 49 euros per adult, we received a great tour, admissions tickets and transportation to and from our hotel. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and helped us get the most out of our visit to this amazing complex.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Expat_wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

Had a very pleasant stay here. Clean room, very comfortable beds and Ana at the front desk provided us with great information and local knowledge that really helped us hit the road running in Granada.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Value_or_nothing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews