We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stumbled Upon this Cute Creepy Gem”
Review of El Tabernaculo

El Tabernaculo
Ranked #176 of 1,484 Restaurants in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Stumbled Upon this Cute Creepy Gem”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

So, I usually make a point of going to restaurants that Anthony Bourdain has been to when I travel because he doesn't usually just go to the high end tourist traps but I must say I had no idea when I walked in to this bar that it was featured on Anthony Bourdain so it was quite a lucky find. The tapas were great and the beers were cheap. It is hard to give tapas five stars because they are just basic foods but you also have to remember they are free so in that sense the cost to value ratio is exponential. The place is decorated with jesus statues everywhere and for some reason is less crowded than all of the other tourists traps on this street which basically can be called tapas road. Skip all the high end restaurants and saddle up to the bar and order a beer an see what comes out. That is the best way to eat your way through Granada.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 33Drew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    46
    11
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great bar, great service, great tapas!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Like another reviewer mentioned, I also saw this bar featured on Anthony Bourdain's "Parts Unknown", prior to my very first visit to Granada. It did not disappoint. El Tabernaculo is a warm and welcoming place to enjoy a drink, and the tapas were delicious ( we sampled some very tasty chorizo). Highly recommend!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
530 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Tiny but nice”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Tiny bar decorated with many Catholic artifacts (including a countdown to Easter) with good tapas and a good tinto de verano blend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ninjakitten007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Lorenzo, CA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Remember to arrive on an empty stomach!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I first saw this small tapas bar featured on Anthony Bourdain's "Parts Unknown." During our recent trip to Granada we said to ourselves, "We must go check out that place!" We decided to grab some dinner before checking our the bar (because we didn't want to drink on empty stomachs) and boy did we make a huge mistake. We had no idea how much food would be given to us with each drink ordered.

We nearly passed up the bar because there is no one outside of the bar trying to convince you to come in for drinks and tapas as you see with all the other establishments along Calle Navas. We spotted Don Fernando (recognized him the show) standing behind the bar serving the only 2 customers sitting at the bar. The place is covered with with religious images and relics, which we later found out, have been brought to Don Fernando over the years.

The tapas were outstanding and very filling! Don Fernando was very friendly and welcoming. We shared a few laughs, stories, and even a picture with him. By the end of the night, our bellies were full and even made a few friends. We weren't the only patrons checking out the place because of Anthony Bourdain. We definitely recommend Don Fernando and El Tabernaculo, especially if you're in the mood for some good drinks, yummy tapas, and an experience like no other.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soniebaloni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Tabernaculo also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to El Tabernaculo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing