We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Happy time at Almond House”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Granada, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Katherine...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Happy time at Almond House”
Reviewed 10 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Holiday to Spain with 9 other friend,spent two night in Granada and 4 nights at Almond House, only a hour drive direct from Granada. Arrived to be greeted by our host and show around the House and given tips on were to go. The House had all possible facilities you would require include outside pool and barbecue on the terrace. They had left delicious welcome gifts of Olive Oil, Fresh bread, jams and chutney. Extra towels for the pool. Lovely location to go walking fro, to Lanjarón & Orgiva and only a 40 mins drive up into the La Alpujarra mountains to Capileira which is the highest and most northerly of the three villages in the gorge of the Poqueira river. The terrace was set out so you could sit around the table or more comfort sit by the barbecue. We never sat inside due to the lovely warm in October to sit out in the evenings but the lounge / dinning room did sit 10 people. The house was beautifully decorated and lots a lovely paintings and objects to make you feel at home. I would hopefully one day love to go back to this house, it was so peaceful but we had a lovely time in the evening together. Sarah & Matt have a holiday home to be proud off. KT.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: It was in the countryside and peaceful but not far to walk to a main town
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rfgedmont...
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic holiday in stunning Spanish countryside”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This is an ideal house for a large group. There are five double bedrooms and one child's room adjoining one of the rooms. Three of the bedrooms have their own ensuite; the other two share. The kitchen and bathrooms are well equipped; all fittings are very new. The pool and garden are beautiful and have stunning views over the Sierra Nevada. North Americans will find the roads small and windy and a bit nerve-wracking. Garden not recommended for toddlers as there are a lot of small steps, but for three and up it is ideal. Nearby Orgiva is a fun town with good restaurants and okay shops with very helpful staff. Picking lemons, almonds, figs and oranges in the adjoining orchard is a highlight. The owners are next door but only visible when needed and then couldn't be more helpful and friendly, even providing their own olive oil. We have had several villa holidays in the south of Europe and consider Almond Hill House outstanding. A half-hour drive to lovely beaches--not the busy end of the Costa del Sol, at least not in June. Great seafood. An hour to Granada. Will be hot in July/August but the house is cool and has AC. Lots of shade in the garden and at the pool. Fascinating part of Spain.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and amenities
Liked least: narrow road in.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2016
Thank you for the 5-star review, and we are delighted you enjoyed your holiday here. Steps/toddlers: We have had many toddlers under three stay at Almond Hill House and parents have only ever commented on how child-friendly the property is (away from busy roads, a gated garden and pool area and so on) and are happy to recommend it to their friends with toddlers. So we are somewhat puzzled by the comment. There are two low steps from the terrace to the lawn but you’d be hard-pushed to find a large property of this calibre without any garden steps whatsoever. Thanks again for your lovely comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisalbe...
Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Oasis in Andalucia”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We were two families sharing the property and even at our maximum of 9 we had lots of room for either mixing or a bit of quiet time. Almond Hill House is located at the end of a narrow country lane [do not rent a large SUV] and is very quiet. The view down the valley and across to the mountains is spectacular. The only disturbance is the occasional herd of goats along the track below the property. Matt and Sarah were an absolute delight to deal with, are very passionate about the house and want their guests to enjoy the stay. They met our cars to guide us to the house, gave us welcome gifts, provided two extra cafetieres and a paella pan, gave excellent advice on restaurants and shops and dealt with any issues immediately. The house is wonderful and the kitchen well equipped. Practically every bedroom has a bathroom with shower and WC. We spent most of our time in the glorious out door space. This has a large sitting area with a 10 seat dinning table, BBQ and is surrounded by flowers, herbs and plants. The pool is lovely with lots of chairs and toys and a great view. A perfect place to sip lemonade made from fruit picked at the house’s orchard. You are about 5 minutes drive or 20 minutes walk from Orgiva with its great restaurants, bars and a good selection of grocery stores [including a butcher and a fishmonger]. Granada, with the wonderful Alhambra, is about an hour away and the coast, with great seafood, only a 30 minute drive. If we were to return to this part of Spain I would most certainly stay at Almond Hill House again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and out door living/dining
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHDublin
dublin
1 review
“The perfect rural escape!”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We have just returned from a fantastic week at Almond Hill House. We were 3 families of 2 adults and 2 kids each. So 12 in total. The house is a beautiful old farmhouse with big thick walls. It has been really beautifully renovated recently and the beds and bathroom fittings are all lovely. The owners clearly feel really passionately about the place.
While the house itself is quite rural, set off the main road down a narrow windy road there are loads of day trips to do all within 30 minutes to a couple of hours drive. It's tempting however never to leave the house and grounds. The pool is great, gardens delightful and picking our own lemons for our gin and tonics was a first!
The lovely owners, Matt and Sarah recommended a fantastic chef, Wes who came and cooked up a delicious Indian feast for us one evening. Wes will cook whatever you like and it was completely delicious and very reasonable. They guys were also super nice....lovely to have around. We just wished we had asked them earlier in the week and had them in more often.
I can't recommend this place enough for a quiet, relaxed retreat in the most spectacular scenery I've seen in Spain so far.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurban123
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful holiday home in Orgiva”
Reviewed 19 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

My wife and I stayed at Almond Hill House in this beautiful guest house in the mountains of Orgiva (in Alpujarra, near Sierra the Nevada). It was a really comfortable stay, and it is obvious there has been tonnes of care and attention gone into every detail of the property. Each area has it's own quirky elements, the furnishings are very homely and each room even has it's own name (like fig, almond or lemon!). The hospitality of the owners/hosts was much appreciated and there were plenty of ideas about what to do in the local area (with the breathtaking landscapes).

We were there in the December so the cosy wood fire was lovely, but the property has a nice looking pool area for those hot Andalusian spring/summer months too.

Many thanks for a wonderful trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful scenery and property
Liked least: A bit off the beaten track (although that is also sort of the best thing too)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne T
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
“Beautiful and authentic Spanish retreat”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Almond Hill House is a beautiful hacienda; fully restored and modernized but with all its charm intact. The old garden, the terraces, and the pool area are great. Also for small children (since there's a gate to access the pool). The view of the mountains is fantastic.
The place is ideal just for relaxing. hiking, mountain biking or as a good starting point for visiting some of the many attractions within an hours drive; Granada/Alhambra, the coast etc.
The owners took very good care of us - and had even stocked up the fridge for our arrival:-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
149burnet
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Andalucian Dream”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Almond Hill is all you could hope for to give you a lovely place to stay and relax and to give you a base to get a taste of small town Spanish life, visit the Alhambra and the coast and go to the white villages nearby. The house has everything you need including an impeccable swimming pool and the owners could not have been more helpful and welcoming. In addition to providing almonds and figs and their own excellent olive oil, they even put themselves out to give a lift to 2 of our party to Malaga. If you have a dream of Andalucía, this is the place for you.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing