We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely good food, very good service”

La Cuchara de Carmela
Get food delivered
Ranked #100 of 1,851 Restaurants in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Realejo - San Matias
Description: Flavours and aromas typical of grandmother's home cooking The old Customs House – emblematic building of the city and gateway to the historical centre of Granada – welcomes the most traditional cuisine of Grupo Gastronómico Carmela. La Cuchara de Carmela transports us to the flavours and aromas of grandmother’s home cooking, made on a slow fire with a lot of love and the best quality products. Its kitchen is open all day (from 13 noon to 12 midnight) and offers traditional spoon dishes and a selection of meats and wines that will bring you closer to the local and Andalusian gastronomy with unbeatable views of the River Genil. Ideal for groups and family meals, we await you on our air-conditioned terrace, main hall or private lounge with a viewpoint.
Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

5 people - 3 carnivores, 1 vegetarian and one almost vegan. All five of us were super full after our lunch. Granted, we went totally overboard on ordering 8 or 9 different dishes, but it was well worth the slightly lopsided and veeeery slow walk back.
Slightly expensive, but worth every cent. Truly. Every single cent.

The croquettas are to die for, the soup (both the onion and the garlic soup) are super tasty and the food in general is really substantial, it'll really truly fill you up. And the dessert - oooooh my, the little über-yummy desserts called Tears of the Sultana - that has to be my absolute favourite. Extremely light, fluffy yet crispy, cinnamon, sooo so nice, I could eat it all day and night and day...

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank TheAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmela R, Propietario at La Cuchara de Carmela, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2016

Dear TheAng:
Many thanks for your comment!
It has been a pleasure to read your kind words about us.
We will be waiting for your next visit to Granada.
Best regards from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (987)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 987 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2016

We ordered different dishes and we all enjoyed our food. Not cheap but good value. Sea food was particularly very good. It's just next door to the monasterio de los basilicos where we stayed.

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank Hariati Titiek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmela R, Propietario at La Cuchara de Carmela, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2016

Thank you so much Mrs Hariati S.O.!
It has been a pleasure to read your kind words about us.
We will be waiting for your next visit to Granada.
Best regards from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2016

A relaxing place for an enjoyable meal. Stopped here for a nice lunch and was not disappointed. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank A4311UYdavidb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmela R, Propietario at La Cuchara de Carmela, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2016

Dear David B:
Thanks for sharing your opinion with us.
It's nice to know that you enjoyed the experience at La Cuchara de Carmela.
We hope that you can visit us again very soon.
Greetings from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016

Menus was a bit limited but the food was reasonable. There was a large group there the night we were there so we felt a bit cramped

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank Alcbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmela R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cuchara de Carmela, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Dear Alcbaker,

Thank you for your post.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our food but sorry that you felt cramped. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience this must have caused.
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016

Food was excellent and the service was very friendly. We ate upstairs but would have preferred to eat downstairs where the atmosphere was more genial and packed.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Ozzie048
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmela R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cuchara de Carmela, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2016

Dear Ozzie048,

Thank you for your post.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us.
We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cuchara de Carmela also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to La Cuchara de Carmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.