We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, comfortable hotel.”
Review of Hotel Las Almenas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Las Almenas
Ranked #45 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice, comfortable hotel.”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This hotel provides good value and is in a good -- if not picturesque -- location on a main thoroughfare that runs along the edge of both the Jewish quarter and the Albaizin. (Some of the pictures make the exterior of the hotel look quaint, which it really isn't.) As other reviewers have mentioned, the gentleman at the front desk is nice and knowledgeable and speaks English well. The rooms are spartan but clean. Breakfast is not included but there is a little cafe/bar that adjoins the hotel that offers a simple breakfast menu. The one issue we had was noise -- the windows did not seem to be insulated as well as they needed to be given the location on the fairly busy street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor or perhaps one that does not have windows that open onto the main s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank espaustx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    192
    32
    8
    5
See reviews for
61
302
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The hotel is family-run by very kind and friendly people. The location is perfect and everything is walkable in this area of Granada, though we took the very convenient buses to places like the Mirador San Nicolás and the Alhambra to avoid an uphill climb. The room is small, but had everything we needed for a short stay, and the bathroom was first-rate. Would definitely return for a future trip (Granada is such a lovely city). We only ate breakfast in the restaurant next door, but the place was always popular for dinner at night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Nice experience. I was so concerned when I walked into the lobby and saw a very "average" scene. I knew I booked a "budget" average hotel but I was so not expecting what I saw.
So I must admit I was totally wrong. A wonderful, charming simple hotel with a caring knowledgeable staff.
Rooms a spotless and well appointed. Hotel with a great location. Did not try the restaurant next to hotel but it was always packed so it must be good.
For what it is at the price point - it was a great treat.

Room Tip: It is a little hidden on the avenue and we drove to get there so be on the look out/
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This is a great hotel at a great price, the owner was very welcoming and tried to assist us in every way possible. There's a very nice tapas bar near the hotel, and he would gladly point it out to you. The room was spacious and had all the commodities we required. The hotel is also located near the city centre, if my memory serves me right, it only takes 10 minutes by foot to walk to the very centre of the city!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Papongza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This friendly family run hotel is really good value if you're staying in Granada. Impeccably clean, quiet. The hotel bus stops right outside. I was here on my own for three days for research and this was perfect for me.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinRichardBowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canary Islands, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We chose this hotel after reading the the reviews on TripAdvisor. It seemed really good value for money and just what we were looking for on our one-night visit to Granada. We booked through one of the online booking websites although we didn't actually have to pay until we checked into the hotel. We were allocated a 3rd. floor, corner room overlooking the main street. It was clean and comfortable with twin beds, 2 bedside tables and a TV table with chair. Only Spanish TV available but we both speak Spanish so not a problem. There was a small amount or traffic noise but nothing to cause any real disturbance to us. The beds were very comfortable but the single pillow allocated to each bed was very flat and far too low for my liking and I had to go down to reception to ask for another one. The housekeeper was just going off duty, despite it only being 4 p.m. and the young man on reception had to be persuaded to ask her if she could possibly get me another one before leaving. I would have thought that the reception staff would have access to a certain amount of extra bedding once the housekeeper has gone off duty as two pillows are quite a common requirement for many people.There was only a single blanket on each bed too and I was cold during the night but managed to solve the problem by piling the towels from the bathroom on top of the existing bedding. Many hotel rooms have spare pillows and blankets in the wardrobe and this would have been a great addition to the facilities. The bathroom was clean and very modern and everything worked excellently. We knew that this hotel didn't offer meals and that breakfast would be available in the adjoining bar, which was also owned by the hotel but run independently. There was one man trying to serve about 16 people, some of whom were seated in the interior patio of the hotel and some sitting in the actual bar. He was having to squeeze oranges, prepare bread rolls for toasting and spreading them with various toppings, making tea, coffee, chocolate, eggs, ham and various other things. Wouldn't it be easier just to offer a small buffet breakfast at a single price and let people help themselves to whatever they wanted? There were no breakfast cereals available and the teapots were not large enough to even hold a proper cup of tea. We brought our own teabags with us and had to ask for extra hot water just to get one decent cup of tea each. Breakfast was slow and relatively expensive for just tea and toast but the toast was very good. We would definitely go back to this hotel again and would also recommend it to others. Maybe the management will take some of these comments on board.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mags4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We arrived easily by bus from the train station to this hotel right on the main road. Service was very friendly and helpful and we were easily able to explore all we wanted by foot or bus which we took to explore Albaicin and to get to the Alhambra. I couldn't help thinking the the room could best be described as monastic, but it was clean and comfortable, with a safe, fluffy towels and a strong shower. The only surprises were that there was no fridge in the room, but they were kind enough to refrigerate our snacks and had cold bottled water for a nominal charge. Lastly, we requested and received a room with a 'balcony', but it was actually a Juliet balcony at best, facing another apartment, so it was of no real use and not worth setting your heart on.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Hotel Dauro Granada
#38 of 122 in Granada
660 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Las Nieves Hotel
Las Nieves Hotel
#54 of 122 in Granada
325 reviews
Hotel Sacromonte
#56 of 122 in Granada
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Comfort Dauro 2
#22 of 122 in Granada
1,112 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Granada Centro Hotel
Granada Centro Hotel
#29 of 122 in Granada
504 reviews
Hotel Reina Mora
#83 of 122 in Granada
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Almenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Almenas

Property: Hotel Las Almenas
Address: Acera Darro 82 | Nueva De La Virgen 2 - 6, Esq. Acera Del Darro., 18005 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Almenas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Las Almenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing