We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very overpriced for a not particularly nice B&B (other than the pool)”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Finca Buen Vino

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huelva
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Finca Buen Vino
Ranked #2 of 7 Huelva B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very overpriced for a not particularly nice B&B (other than the pool)”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

If this was a cheap B&B, its quaint old fashion style might charm. Unfortunately we concluded that it is certainly not worth £140 a night when compared to the other hotels we stayed in in Andalusia during our trip. Therefore we felt this was very, very overpriced. Compared to competition in this price bracket, this B&B falls well, well short. This review below might seem harsh, but if the family charge these prices it needs to be judged to the standards of its competitors in this price bracket. We stayed in a number of hotels on our trip round Andalusia and this B&B was by far the most expensive AND the least nice we stayed in.

The building and interior: It very much feels like someone else’s family home where they have given over the spare rooms to receive guests, rather than commercial hotel you are paying to stay at. How much is this a home instead of a hotel? There are no locks on the bedroom doors!!! We had the exclusive use of the bathroom across the hall and the lock didn't even properly work on that!!! It reminded me of staying at a friend's house in the spare room (which is fine, but you don't pay £140 when you stay in a friend's spare house). The décor is a mismatched of old furniture. There is no theme or design, but rather furniture is the product of what the family has picked up over the years. It is their old, tattered and mismatched belongings, and with the family photos around the house, it really does feel like this is their home, rather than a place designed to review outside guests. Definitely not smart boutique. The bathroom was just terrible and the worst mismatch of leftover stuff of it all.

The views: Amazing. This is what you come for and it cannot be denied that they are very good. The views from the pool are particularly impressive.

The owners: a very nice and well mannered British family (the grown up kids were there when we stayed). The family have most of the rooms on the ground floor as their living space so you see quite a lot of them, especially at dinner.

Dinner: The house is about 7km from Aracena. Therefore, eating with the owners is the only option if you don’t want to drive. Canapes are served before dinner and guests share small talk before sitting down to eat. The father of the family seated each of the guests alternatively male then female around a single dinning table and takes his seat at the head of the table. Dinner is eaten with the owners and served by the grown up children of the family. It is basically a dinner party with the owners. The food is nice, but at €35 a head for a set menu, as with everything else about this B&B, it is very overpriced (it does include some very drinkable wine though).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aguy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    1
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

I love this place so much and yes, I know my review is so terribly overdue - this is my first for Finca Buenvino, yet we have been there so many times. I think our first time was in 1998, how time flies.
Anyway, I have always felt at a loss as how best to describe this wonderful place and how to put into words the effect being there has had on us.

Situated within easy reach of both Seville and Portugal is the beautiful Sierra de Aracena range, and close to the town of Aracena in a fabulous location atop a hill, lies Finca Buenvino. There is the main house, which is effortlessy elegant and tasteful - as are the owners Sam & Jeannie (they live in this part of the property and have 4 rooms available here.) The stunning infinity pool is closeby and has one of the best vistas in all of Spain and this is where you will find 'The Pool House' room.

Go down the track, into the valley and across a little stream and there are a 3 restored, old cottages. At present, one is home to the Finca Buenvino Organic Gardener (during our last visit we sampled some of his Autumn harvest as part of our delicious Dinner up at the House) the other cottages are available and all have private pools. They are in peaceful, natural surroundings where wildlife abounds. Wild boars roam, owls hoot, the world famous black pigs oink, huge swallowtail butterflies float, the mantis pray and salamanders swim. (I once rescued a rare fire salamander from the pool after heavy rain.)

Meals taken at the house are a real treat and we always look forward to them. You might be seated on the terrace, or in the conservatory or possibly dining by candlelight in the intimate wood panelled dining room. Among your dining companions there will always be somebody interesting. It could be anybody from anywhere across the Globe - perhaps Royalty, or a well known media figure or - just Jeannie, Sam and their lovely family. One thing you can be certain of is that there will be great company and delicious local produce on offer - expertly prepared to perfection, by Jeannie (I believe she has her own cookery book coming out soon and I can't wait to try her recipes at home)

We now count Sam and Jeannie as our friends, (albeit ones we seldom see) but friends nonetheless. Over the years we've gained a few wrinkles and seen their children become adults. We always feel sad when we leave but, absence makes the heart grow fonder and we always have our next visit to look forward to.

Whatever the time of year - Finca Buenvino is a truly magical place
*See meadows coloured with wildflowers in Spring.
*Cool off in the pool at the high heat of Summer.
*Watch black pigs feast on acorns in Autumn.
*Cosy up by the fire and feast on the black pigs in Winter.


Q. What effect has being there had on me?
A. Being there has enriched my Soul.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dondenext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Found this place through a nephew of the owner, a beautiful villa decorated in old english upper class style... rooms were super comfortable, breakfast the best I ever had in my life, thanks to Charlie, the son of the owners who took care of us, place is just magnificent, there is a fireplace, beautiful property, pool, a full and I mean full bar.... Location just outside of Jabugo on its own massive estate... I wouldnt think twice about going there again, not a question of if, but when.....

Room Tip: They are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deepsapphyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

One of the best places we have ever stayed on our Travels,it's so nice to be around lovely hosts who really do care about where they live,and are only too happy to tell you of all the great places to visit in the area.
The food is very good as was the other guests company when we were there,dining outside is such a treat,but when we saw the Dining room it must be really nice to stay here in Winter with the huge fireplace.
The room we stayed in had amazing views across the hills and was full of good reading,we slept really well and didn't wake early and arriving for breakfast was another treat with freshly baked bread,and home made jams,lots of fresh fruit and even a full English Breakfast if you desired.
Totally relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

We spent 2 nights here at the end of August 2010. We were put in the Blue Room, which was cramped, with a small bed, no more than Queen size, and with very little storage space in the bathroom. We moved to the Pool Room, which was lovely - spacious and well-appointed. The pool is superb, with stunning views over the surrounding forest and mountains. Breakfast and lunch were tasty and with ingredients in keeping with local traditions, with very nice Rose wine served at lunch. At Euro 70 per person per night for B&B and Euro 15 per person for a one course lunch, this place is not cheap, but the quality of the room, food, pool and environment did justify the price. Unfortunately our hostess was frosty with us right from the off, starting it seemed from when we had not realised lunch would be waiting for us on arrival (we did eat it) and continuing in outright snappiness (for which she did later apologise) when we then asked to move rooms, moving all our baggage ourselves, but requiring her to make up the bed at short notice (worth noting that we were the only guests, so no-one was over-run with work). Thereafter we felt at best tolerated and at worst outright resented for our presence. On one occasion our hostess brought friends to the pool, who made a point of waving to us and saying hello and good-bye (we were sitting reading), in total contrast to not a word being uttered to us by her, despite us waving and saying cheery hellos, as we did throughout our stay. Eventually we decided to leave several hours ahead of schedule and return to Seville. Despite responding when her maid called out that we were waiting to check out, our hostess didn't come to say good-bye; no-one asked if we'd enjoyed our stay; and we left with a very sour taste in our mouths. We are at a loss to explain this situation and can only speculate that our decision to eat our 2 suppers in local tapas bars may have offended our hostess, who does have a reputation for being an excellent cook. We are not big eaters and after almost 2 weeks on holiday, were keen to just have small tapas-style meals. Anyway, a beautiful house, setting and pool, but we didn't enjoy the way we were treated.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GuyB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delmont, Pa.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

We wanted a B&B not far from Portugal on our way into Spain. This was a very nice choice. The owners are lovely and very helpful. We were on the 3rd floor and it was very quiet. The pool is just beautiful. However for the money we found the other B&b's we stayed at were much more affordable. Dinner was nice , but once again very pricey. Very rural setting which we liked.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conniedelmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2007

We stayed two nights in this very charming guest house. You drive up a long driveway/track to a lovely rambling pink house, surrounded by trees and hills. The owners Sam and Jeannie Chesterton are very friendly , welcoming and generous hosts . They are good natured and friendly without being intrusive, which can be a difficult balance to strike. The food is excellent. There is a busy/happy feel to the place, with charming friendly little dogs, a big log fire burns in the comfy relaxed sitting room , and there are interesting books left around. The owners children were also very friendly and added to the ambience of the place. We left feeling we had two very relaxing days in good company and pleasant surroundings.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank EBStorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huelva hotels
1.6 mi away
Senator Huelva Hotel
Senator Huelva Hotel
#2 of 12 in Huelva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.0 mi away
AC Hotel Huelva
AC Hotel Huelva
#4 of 12 in Huelva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.9 mi away
Eurostars Tartessos
Eurostars Tartessos
#5 of 12 in Huelva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Huelva Inturjoven Youth Hostel
1.8 mi away
NH Luz Huelva
NH Luz Huelva
#7 of 12 in Huelva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Sercotel Familia Conde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Buen Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Buen Vino

Property: Finca Buen Vino
Address: Crtra. N433 Km 95 | Los Marines, Sierra de Aracena, 21293 Huelva, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Huelva > Huelva
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Huelva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing