We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tina, "much more than the average B&B"”
Review of Finca Buen Vino

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huelva
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Finca Buen Vino
Ranked #2 of 7 Huelva B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 May 2012

During a recent trip through Andalusia, we drove up to Finca Buen Vino for a vacation from our vacation and a three day cooking class. It was the highlight of the trip! We enjoyed mountain views from several different terraces. Walks included destinations such as visits to the chicken coops, the pool, and a more distant village with a monastery. Cooking classes were not only informative but incredibly fun. We ate what we cooked under a pergola entwined with wisteria and jasmine. The rooms are all different and all quite appealing. Jeannie and Sam are the epitome of hosts, and Finco Buen Vino is an unforgettable spot.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2012

Just back from four days of cooking class with Jeannie and Sam at their beautiful hilltop country home.
The five of us not only thoroughly enjoyed our selves, but we learned so much as well. The charming Jeannie is an accomplished gourmet cook, who also is very good at efficiently using all the farm(finca) produce. Sam, always the elegant host, would arrive just at the right moment with the chilled white wine, to spur us on through our chopping and whipping.
One day we had a Sherry tasting before lunch with Senor Hildalgo, from the 300 year old Hildalgo
Sherry Company. After tasting 9 varieties from the every day sherry to the 30 year old one, we went on to have a very raucus lunch. Everything tasted particularly good that day, and the siesta hour was a very good thing.

This B&B may not be for everyone, as it is more like being at a house party hosted by two interesting and accomplished people. If you do not enjoy that much interaction with your hosts, Buen Vino also has some very sweet cottages on the property with full kitchens. There you can hike the beautiful country side, lie by your private pool, and feel one with nature. But don't be surprised if you feel a draw to go up the hill to the main house for just one dinner with Sam and Jeannie.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabethfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Wonderful. We are just back from a much needed holiday at the lovely Finca Buen Vino - what a perfect spot it is.

A marvelous base for exploration (or relaxation) and a visit to Andalucia and the Sierra de Aracena is an delightful way to appreciate Spain and her Beauty, Nature, History, Art, Culture and Gastronomy*
I really can't recommend Finca Buen Vino highly enough - I love this place.

There is an increasing choice of accommodation in the area, but in my opinion there is not one to compare with Buen Vino.

Set in a walkers paradise, the location of this family run B&B is truly amazing. During Spring this whole area is particularly stunning thanks to a profusion of colourful wild flowers that seem to lay over the valleys like bright spots of paint.

I began my abiding love affair with with Spain right here and we try to return to this magical place as often as possible.
Buen Vino has its own brand of character and elegance, where one is made to feel welcome and cared for. A very special place which is full of warmth and charm. (as are the lovely owners Sam and Jeannie)

I am sometimes baffled by reviewers negative comments and none more so than here for Finca Buen Vino - it does make me wonder what such reviewers suppose, or indeed if they have been to the same place at all. But I do know that my review is honest and it is based on fact and experience as well as many visits and is not just my opinion.

Finca Buen Vino is the antithesis of faceless luxury - it is unique.
However, if you expect to find another identikit 'Boutique Hotel' - this place probably isn't for you.



Gastronomy*
-Jeannie used to be a Chef so the food at Finca Buen Vino is both delicious and expertly prepared using great home grown/home reared/local ingredients so its no wonder they also run very popular cookery courses. There was a group on a course while we we there and we sampled some of the tasty Tapas they made (Thanks ladies - great tortilla de patatas)
-The quality of the local produce available in Sierra de Aracena and Andalucia is renowned Worldwide. Delicious delicacies such as Jamon from the nearby town of Jabugo - which is the centre of the Spanish Ham universe and of course Sherry from Jerez.

Both Seville and Cordoba are within easy reach and there are now direct flights to Seville from the UK. For Seville tips see my Trip list (click on my dondenext contributions, then on Trip lists in the left hand column)

Room Tip: There are also 3 lovely self catering cottages if you prefer to be more independant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dondenext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed here for one night this summer. We found it in Guy Hunter Watts superb and addictive guide "Small inns and hotels in Andalusia", a must for anyone travelling in southern Spain. As the only guests staying there the night, we shared the stunning picture postcard pool with Sam and Jeannies daughter, her friends, and the cute family dog. We were treated like royalty, and like another reviewer has written, Sam and Jeannie strike a wonderful balance as hosts. You are made to feel at home left to enjoy the stunning scenery. With wonderful hospitality, Sam and Jeannie make your stay a special time. In the evening we were treated to a romantic candlelit meal on the veranda. Jeannies food is wholesome, hearty, rustic, spanish, delicious. Overall a stay that you would love to keep a secret.
Sam, I do hope you received and enjoyed "The Fatal Shore"

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulwUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Staying at the Finca Buen Vino is like being part of a house party in the most wonderful location and with most gracious hosts. An English country house, eclectically decorated and dropped into the beautiful Sierra de Aracena national park. We thoroughly enjoyed the family feel of tea in front of a roaring log fire, drinks and tapas pre dinner and a communal meal in the elgant wood-panelled dinign room, with delicious food, excellent wine and interesting conversation. Possibly not the best choice if you want an intimate romantic holiday a-deux, but great if you enjoy meeting new people.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dilstonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

If this was a cheap B&B, its quaint old fashion style might charm. Unfortunately we concluded that it is certainly not worth £140 a night when compared to the other hotels we stayed in in Andalusia during our trip. Therefore we felt this was very, very overpriced. Compared to competition in this price bracket, this B&B falls well, well short. This review below might seem harsh, but if the family charge these prices it needs to be judged to the standards of its competitors in this price bracket. We stayed in a number of hotels on our trip round Andalusia and this B&B was by far the most expensive AND the least nice we stayed in.

The building and interior: It very much feels like someone else’s family home where they have given over the spare rooms to receive guests, rather than commercial hotel you are paying to stay at. How much is this a home instead of a hotel? There are no locks on the bedroom doors!!! We had the exclusive use of the bathroom across the hall and the lock didn't even properly work on that!!! It reminded me of staying at a friend's house in the spare room (which is fine, but you don't pay £140 when you stay in a friend's spare house). The décor is a mismatched of old furniture. There is no theme or design, but rather furniture is the product of what the family has picked up over the years. It is their old, tattered and mismatched belongings, and with the family photos around the house, it really does feel like this is their home, rather than a place designed to review outside guests. Definitely not smart boutique. The bathroom was just terrible and the worst mismatch of leftover stuff of it all.

The views: Amazing. This is what you come for and it cannot be denied that they are very good. The views from the pool are particularly impressive.

The owners: a very nice and well mannered British family (the grown up kids were there when we stayed). The family have most of the rooms on the ground floor as their living space so you see quite a lot of them, especially at dinner.

Dinner: The house is about 7km from Aracena. Therefore, eating with the owners is the only option if you don’t want to drive. Canapes are served before dinner and guests share small talk before sitting down to eat. The father of the family seated each of the guests alternatively male then female around a single dinning table and takes his seat at the head of the table. Dinner is eaten with the owners and served by the grown up children of the family. It is basically a dinner party with the owners. The food is nice, but at €35 a head for a set menu, as with everything else about this B&B, it is very overpriced (it does include some very drinkable wine though).

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aguy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I love this place so much and yes, I know my review is so terribly overdue - this is my first for Finca Buenvino, yet we have been there so many times. I think our first time was in 1998, how time flies.
Anyway, I have always felt at a loss as how best to describe this wonderful place and how to put into words the effect being there has had on us.

Situated within easy reach of both Seville and Portugal is the beautiful Sierra de Aracena range, and close to the town of Aracena in a fabulous location atop a hill, lies Finca Buenvino. There is the main house, which is effortlessy elegant and tasteful - as are the owners Sam & Jeannie (they live in this part of the property and have 4 rooms available here.) The stunning infinity pool is closeby and has one of the best vistas in all of Spain and this is where you will find 'The Pool House' room.

Go down the track, into the valley and across a little stream and there are a 3 restored, old cottages. At present, one is home to the Finca Buenvino Organic Gardener (during our last visit we sampled some of his Autumn harvest as part of our delicious Dinner up at the House) the other cottages are available and all have private pools. They are in peaceful, natural surroundings where wildlife abounds. Wild boars roam, owls hoot, the world famous black pigs oink, huge swallowtail butterflies float, the mantis pray and salamanders swim. (I once rescued a rare fire salamander from the pool after heavy rain.)

Meals taken at the house are a real treat and we always look forward to them. You might be seated on the terrace, or in the conservatory or possibly dining by candlelight in the intimate wood panelled dining room. Among your dining companions there will always be somebody interesting. It could be anybody from anywhere across the Globe - perhaps Royalty, or a well known media figure or - just Jeannie, Sam and their lovely family. One thing you can be certain of is that there will be great company and delicious local produce on offer - expertly prepared to perfection, by Jeannie (I believe she has her own cookery book coming out soon and I can't wait to try her recipes at home)

We now count Sam and Jeannie as our friends, (albeit ones we seldom see) but friends nonetheless. Over the years we've gained a few wrinkles and seen their children become adults. We always feel sad when we leave but, absence makes the heart grow fonder and we always have our next visit to look forward to.

Whatever the time of year - Finca Buenvino is a truly magical place
*See meadows coloured with wildflowers in Spring.
*Cool off in the pool at the high heat of Summer.
*Watch black pigs feast on acorns in Autumn.
*Cosy up by the fire and feast on the black pigs in Winter.


Q. What effect has being there had on me?
A. Being there has enriched my Soul.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank dondenext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huelva hotels
0 mi away
Hotel La Pinta
Hotel La Pinta
#1 of 7 in Huelva
27 reviews
0 mi away
Senator Huelva Hotel
Senator Huelva Hotel
#3 of 12 in Huelva
181 reviews
0 mi away
Eurostars Tartessos
Eurostars Tartessos
#2 of 12 in Huelva
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
AC Hotel Huelva
AC Hotel Huelva
#5 of 12 in Huelva
187 reviews
0 mi away
Huelva Inturjoven Youth Hostel
0 mi away
Hotel Costa de la Luz
Hotel Costa de la Luz
#7 of 7 in Huelva
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Buen Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Buen Vino

Address: Crtra. N433 Km 95 | Los Marines, Sierra de Aracena, 21293 Huelva, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Huelva > Huelva
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Huelva
Price Range: £89 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing