We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Finca Buen Vino
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Huelva
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Luz Huelva(Huelva)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Marina(Huelva)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
AC Hotel Huelva(Huelva)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
20
1
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
1
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bsitting roomenjoyed our staysamhostssierraaracenachirpingpergolawisteriapoolspain
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Fince Buen Vino also provide 3 self catering cottages for rental and we were thoughfully steered towards La Casita de Platero which nestles in the woods at the bottom of a valley where temperatures are slightly cooler.

With two 22 month boys this was the best of the three and it was very well appointed with 2 baby cots and two high chairs.

The property has two bedrooms upstairs and a large well appointed kitchen (dishwasher, washing machine, microwave etc) with a living room leading off it downstairs. Outside there is a plunge pool (all three cottages have one of these) and a shaded terrace. The plunge pool is incredibly refreshing in the middle of the afternoon when temparatures can get in to the mid 30's centigrade.

The cottages are all converted sheds with very thick walls (over a foot thick) and so even at the hottest part of the day they keep cool inside. We had to put the boys to sleep for their afternoon rest from about 2-5pm and although we did use fans which were provided the boys were able to keep plenty cool enough in spite of the high temperatures outside.

Our cottage had several barbecues so, in the evening, we cooked outside on at least three occasions over the course of the week when the temparature dropped.

There is no light pollution and not a sound except the gentle chiming of sheep and goat bells in the fields nearby as they grazed.

Aracena is only about 7 kilometers away and has a large and very well stocked supermarket but if you don't want to cook you can always go up to the main house house and eat there although this will cost extra, but Jeannie Chesterton (Sam and Jeannie Chesterton are the owners) is a highly accomplished chef and so it's worth it.

A car is mandatory and we in fact drove from the uk, but we spent a lot of time exploring the local villages which are all beautiful with tiny little streets and cafes selling excellent coffee. Sevilla is only an hour and a half away in the car.

If you want a place to take the family ( regardless of age) where you really can get some peace and quite then this place is perfect (it's no surprise that it is featured in Sawday's Special Places to Stay) and I would defy anybody not to come away feeling relaxed, just be aware that the hot months can be very hot so you may want to think about the time of year that you go, having said that the cottages are also well set up for the cooler months all having open fires or inglenooks inside.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hwjgage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

During a recent trip through Andalusia, we drove up to Finca Buen Vino for a vacation from our vacation and a three day cooking class. It was the highlight of the trip! We enjoyed mountain views from several different terraces. Walks included destinations such as visits to the chicken coops, the pool, and a more distant village with a monastery. Cooking classes were not only informative but incredibly fun. We ate what we cooked under a pergola entwined with wisteria and jasmine. The rooms are all different and all quite appealing. Jeannie and Sam are the epitome of hosts, and Finco Buen Vino is an unforgettable spot.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Just back from four days of cooking class with Jeannie and Sam at their beautiful hilltop country home.
The five of us not only thoroughly enjoyed our selves, but we learned so much as well. The charming Jeannie is an accomplished gourmet cook, who also is very good at efficiently using all the farm(finca) produce. Sam, always the elegant host, would arrive just at the right moment with the chilled white wine, to spur us on through our chopping and whipping.
One day we had a Sherry tasting before lunch with Senor Hildalgo, from the 300 year old Hildalgo
Sherry Company. After tasting 9 varieties from the every day sherry to the 30 year old one, we went on to have a very raucus lunch. Everything tasted particularly good that day, and the siesta hour was a very good thing.

This B&B may not be for everyone, as it is more like being at a house party hosted by two interesting and accomplished people. If you do not enjoy that much interaction with your hosts, Buen Vino also has some very sweet cottages on the property with full kitchens. There you can hike the beautiful country side, lie by your private pool, and feel one with nature. But don't be surprised if you feel a draw to go up the hill to the main house for just one dinner with Sam and Jeannie.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabethfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Wonderful. We are just back from a much needed holiday at the lovely Finca Buen Vino - what a perfect spot it is.

A marvelous base for exploration (or relaxation) and a visit to Andalucia and the Sierra de Aracena is an delightful way to appreciate Spain and her Beauty, Nature, History, Art, Culture and Gastronomy*
I really can't recommend Finca Buen Vino highly enough - I love this place.

There is an increasing choice of accommodation in the area, but in my opinion there is not one to compare with Buen Vino.

Set in a walkers paradise, the location of this family run B&B is truly amazing. During Spring this whole area is particularly stunning thanks to a profusion of colourful wild flowers that seem to lay over the valleys like bright spots of paint.

I began my abiding love affair with with Spain right here and we try to return to this magical place as often as possible.
Buen Vino has its own brand of character and elegance, where one is made to feel welcome and cared for. A very special place which is full of warmth and charm. (as are the lovely owners Sam and Jeannie)

I am sometimes baffled by reviewers negative comments and none more so than here for Finca Buen Vino - it does make me wonder what such reviewers suppose, or indeed if they have been to the same place at all. But I do know that my review is honest and it is based on fact and experience as well as many visits and is not just my opinion.

Finca Buen Vino is the antithesis of faceless luxury - it is unique.
However, if you expect to find another identikit 'Boutique Hotel' - this place probably isn't for you.



Gastronomy*
-Jeannie used to be a Chef so the food at Finca Buen Vino is both delicious and expertly prepared using great home grown/home reared/local ingredients so its no wonder they also run very popular cookery courses. There was a group on a course while we we there and we sampled some of the tasty Tapas they made (Thanks ladies - great tortilla de patatas)
-The quality of the local produce available in Sierra de Aracena and Andalucia is renowned Worldwide. Delicious delicacies such as Jamon from the nearby town of Jabugo - which is the centre of the Spanish Ham universe and of course Sherry from Jerez.

Both Seville and Cordoba are within easy reach and there are now direct flights to Seville from the UK. For Seville tips see my Trip list (click on my dondenext contributions, then on Trip lists in the left hand column)

Room Tip: There are also 3 lovely self catering cottages if you prefer to be more independant.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dondenext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed here for one night this summer. We found it in Guy Hunter Watts superb and addictive guide "Small inns and hotels in Andalusia", a must for anyone travelling in southern Spain. As the only guests staying there the night, we shared the stunning picture postcard pool with Sam and Jeannies daughter, her friends, and the cute family dog. We were treated like royalty, and like another reviewer has written, Sam and Jeannie strike a wonderful balance as hosts. You are made to feel at home left to enjoy the stunning scenery. With wonderful hospitality, Sam and Jeannie make your stay a special time. In the evening we were treated to a romantic candlelit meal on the veranda. Jeannies food is wholesome, hearty, rustic, spanish, delicious. Overall a stay that you would love to keep a secret.
Sam, I do hope you received and enjoyed "The Fatal Shore"

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulwUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews