We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value tourist restaurant”

Antigua Taberna de Las Escobas Restaurante
Ranked #778 of 2,668 Restaurants in Seville
Price range: US$10 - US$22
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Casco Antiguo
Description: The oldest Tavern in Spain gets its name from an old esparto grass weaver who delivered wine and hand crafted brooms that once hung from the ceiling. Nowadays, it is a restaurant and terrace next to the Cathedral, where you can savour exquisite tapas and traditional Andalusian dishes. We have breakfast from 09:00am to 12:00pm
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
267 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Good value tourist restaurant”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I travel in despair of tourist restaurants. Tired decore, tired food and generally poor value. Las Escobas at first sight appears to be one such restaurant, but we found the food tasty (and plentiful), the service energetic and the prices very reasonable. While not a top class restaurant, Las Escobas is worth seeking out for a pleasant lunch or more extended evening meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 100nights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    202
    137
    80
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“good food, special atmosphere, friendly”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

hopefully we found this nice restaurant after visiting the city. it has a special/strange arrangement of the furniture... sometimes it looks like they just took what they had and made a restaurant out of it. but it has also his own charm the way it is. quite noisy when there are a lot of people, but special. the food we had was very very good. we went there two times and tried almost all tapas. goat cheese with marmelade was great, also the tapas with artichokes was great. waiter was friendly, but not very happy to work there I guess. but despite of this, I can recommend this restaurant, for the special furniture and the good food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mexico1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Location and Awful Food”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Antigua Taberna was our most disappointing meal out in Seville. The sauteed vegetable plate for 9 Euros was at best one-cup of julienned onions, carrots, peppers, and a few beans and mushrooms fried to a very overcooked oily sauteed mess. A garnish salad would have had more vegetables than this 9 Euro vegetable plate. What was the cook thinking? The spinach with garbonzos was also poorly done, a dish which we ordered at every restaurant for comparison. Cross this restaurant off your list and choose one of the many others in town. Worst value for our money.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PortiaDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location and good food”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

On a little side street in Santa Cruz barrio near lots of other restaurants. Sit outside, drink cerveza, eat the paella de marisco (delicious) and watch all the other tourists doing their tourist thing. Friendly service, generous servings (enough to split).

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Staffordshire, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Five star food and service”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Sunday lunch here and the best tapas we found in Sevilla. Four of us shared 2 of the 5 tapas for 9.90 euro offer, each tapas was different and every single one was delicious. From the oxtail to the fried fish via a mini paella, this perfect tavern couldn't be faulted. One of the tapas was even a pudding. What a great idea! The young waitress was friendly and helpful and even seemed entertained by our pathetic efforts at Spanish. It's set in a great location just off the cathedral up a pretty street. Sitting outside in the sun, in November, good tapas, friends and a generous glass of vino. What could be better?

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hampster56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Antigua Taberna de Las Escobas Restaurante also viewed

Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to Antigua Taberna de Las Escobas Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing