We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small overpriced dishes”
Review of Al-Medina

Al-Medina
Ranked #32 of 2,669 Restaurants in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Al Medina Restaurant, Morocco in the center of Seville.. Nothing would be more important to us that every customer would feel part of this culture through Al-Medina and its gastronomy. So we hope that curiosity is the prelude to the knowledge of gastronomy, Arabic, it has a lot to offer and teach those who know that eating is more than just satisfy hunger.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Small overpriced dishes”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

The restaurant is nicely decorated, the staff is very friendly but the food is really disappointing. The tajines are ridiculously small and totally lack vegtables (just meat), same for the cous cous. Plus each dish is about 15 euros! Do not reccomend it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarziaAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farid E, Gerente at Al-Medina, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Good morning Dear customer, we regret that the dishes you chose was disappointing for you. On our menu there are several tajines and depending on the type selected it will be vegetable or not. All our cous-cous, except the chicken couscous, have 7 types of vegetables. I can assure you that we have a great value for money. However, your opinion is very important and we will take it into account.Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    122
    38
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
italia
Level Contributor
299 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Very good dinner”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We went there for the New Years Eve dinner and we shared some moroccan starters and first courses: hummus, pita, berber salad, tajine and mixed skewers. Everything was good and tasty, not particulary spiced but the middle east flavours were there. We ended our dinner with mint moroccan tea and some typical sweets. Prices are reasonable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank italyItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farid E, Gerente at Al-Medina, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear customer, we are glad to know that you liked our restaurant and our food. We thank you for sharing your valuable opinion, it is very important to us. We will keep working to improve and to deserve your trust.Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm Moroccan welcome”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

It had been raining all evening and even the taxi driver didn't think there were any more restaurants down the narrow one way street. We'd already been to one Moroccan restaurant (As-Sawirah) which on arrival found out had closed a year before and had been replaced by a tapas bar, so things did not bode well. However, the warmth and ambience of this little restaurant more than compensated for all this. The heart-warming Harira was very good as were the chicken cous cous and the lamb tagine. We loved the decor especially having visited the Alcazar earlier that day. It is a bit pricier than average but we thought the food was good and the service excellent with a relaxed chilled-out vibe - although I can imagine if you were in a hurry it may have been a bit on the slow side. My husband and I really enjoyed our evening there and thoroughly recommend it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank syeda2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farid E, Gerente at Al-Medina, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear customer, we are glad to know that you liked our restaurant and our food. We thank you for sharing your valuable opinion, it is very important to us. We will keep working to improve and to deserve your trust. We hope to welcome you soon again at Al Medina Restaurante. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Extortionate prices, considering the mean portion sizes and quality of the food. The lamb tagine was mostly bone and fat, accompanied by shrivelled bits of burnt aubergine. The hummus we ordered for starters tasted like Smash (instant mashed potato), and was accompanied by a rusk of an excuse a pitta bread. Anyone who is familiar with decent Moroccan food, which is filled with baraka (blessing), will be sorely disappointed. Avoid.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AhmedTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farid E, Gerente at Al-Medina, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Hello Dear customer, we regret that the dishes you chose was disappointing for you. We can assure you that our staff are extremely professional and expert in the Moroccan gastronomy. We have a great value for money and our raw materials is of premium quality because our customers deserve it. However, your opinion is very important and we will take it into account.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Food but expensive”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We had an excelent chicken tagin. The service was good and the staff very friendly, but the prices were a bit high

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlos F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farid E, Gerente at Al-Medina, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear customer, we thank you for sharing your valuable opinion, it is very important to us. We will keep working to improve and to deserve your trust. We hope to welcome you soon again at Al Medina Restaurante. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al-Medina also viewed

Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to Al-Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing