We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This could be so great, but it's not.”
Review of EME Catedral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
EME Catedral Hotel
Ranked #43 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Entering the modern, clean lined lobby, perfectly located, and being greeted by 3 of the most attractive early 20's people on earth, I said to myself, alright. I over looked the fact that the one who checked me in couldn't tell me where on the city map the major sights were.
When I returned to my room after lunch for a post travel siesta, I noticed that the enchanting music from outside was still in full bloom. When I layed down on my bed and looked at the tall marble wall on the right I noticed the polished marble had a mirror effect and I could see out onto the patio above through an angled skylight...and people on the patio could see into my room/bed. When I called to ask about a sight barrier, my call was misinterpreted and I was told the music only played until 1 am. So, I requested a different room.
Another Venus came to the room, and after one room in between, brought me to the fine room I kept. BTW, there's free Internet, except it didn't work for my 2 day stay. They are going to work on it.
I asked directions that evening to a restaurant 5 blocks away and was drawn a figure 8. When I requested a google map directions search and showed the guest service person how to do that, it was more of a check mark route (those Spanish streets).
The shower was in one of those undivided bathrooms, which I like. But, the drains weren't large enough and by the time both my wife and I showered, the water was rising almost into the bedroom. The sink in the bedroom overflowed when the stopper slid closed. There was no way to pull it up as when I put my hand into the sink the water overflowed more.
The rooftop patio was nice. Breakfast was nice. The girls and boys at the front desk were nice.
This place needs a good manager, keep and train the staff, change the manager. Pay attention to minor physical plant issues. And, put a drape between the skylight and the bedroom.

Room Tip: Noisy rooms, avoidable inconveniences, untrained, beautiful staff.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spinner1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,435)
There are newer reviews for EME Catedral Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

437 - 443 of 1,435 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

If you are one for modernity this is the hotel for you. And even if you are not this could be an opportunity to take the chance and immerse yourself in clever minimalism and smart design. The hotel is well situated for Sevilla sightseeing and is an excellent location to see the Semana Santa pageants during Holy week. The staff are young, friendly and professional. The buffet breakfast has variety and quantity, and the hotel tapas restaurant serves innovative, reasonably priced modern tapas.
However, if stairs are a problem for you then you should know that many of the rooms are accessed by a few stairs (after arriving on your foor in the elevator), and the restaurants, bars, pool, roof terraces all have stair access.

Room Tip: All rooms The rooms are quite dark with a lot of black glass and minimalist lighting. Request a...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbaDia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This is a great hotel , ideally situated for the wonderful sites for the tourist. It is very well appointed and the staff are professional and very friendly. We were their for Holy week and whilst not into this sort of thing , it was fascinating to see the processions go past the hotel.
The rooms are very nice and I asked for a room at the back to get away from the church bells. you can still hear them but they did not keep us awake as they seem quieter at night. The comnfort of the hotel is very good and the room had a large bath and seperate shower room. The bed was comfy but there was not much natural light. This didnt matter too much and can understand why given the layout of the hotel. It is very much boutique with decor and room appointment to match.
It could do with room service but the bar on the roof is excellent but service quite slow.
The main downside was the spa. It is an excellent facility but the treatments were poor. This must improve to make any impression in this market.. In all this hotel is very good, ideally situated and has excellent staff.

Room Tip: Try and choose your room carefully. At the front for views of the Catherdal at the back for less sou...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Stayed here for 6 nights. Great location, very central, right by the cathedral (room view on The Giralda!) Young staff, multi-lingual, very receptive. Manager very tech-savvy: fixed my access to Internet! Good buffet breakfast (at the usuary European hotel price of 20 Euros though!) Room large enough - shower and cabinet in separate room from rest of bathroom. Rooftop bar very trendy and well-frequented (to the wee hours...) - offers probably best view in Sevilla unto the cathedral and its landmark tower!
Had stayed a few years back at the Las Casas del Rey de Baeza, which was equally excellent and probably more intimate, still in the older part of Sevilla but definitely less centrally located.
Had decided to stay there when I had found out that the Alfonso XIII hotel was temporary close for renovations - did not come to regret my choice!

Room Tip: if tourism has an attraction for you, ask for a room with a view on the Giralda, at the front. (we d...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Did not stay at the hotel, but had a drink at Restaurante Terraza on the top floor of the hotel. Drinks were reasonably priced. However, this is the best view of the Seville Cathedral (Giralda) in the city. Absolutely amazing views!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ip241au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

A newly renovated hotel, in exactly the town centre (just facing the door where turists exit the cathedral).
Of course, being so "central" has its drawbacks. For example, if you arrive on your own car (like I did) you're bound to get lost in the maze of streets and alleys in the Old Town (like I did), and you are going to pay *a lot* (around 30 euros per day) to park your car, like I did (the valet takes it and brings it, I never knew where the garage was). Otherwise, leave the car in a parking outside Old Town and take a taxi (same thing applies for flying turists).
The hotel was cleverly engineered out of a bunch of 6 or 7 old buildings, renovating everything but leaving the general layout. Which means that you'll have to deal with a maze of corridors , steps and elevators. For example, if your room is in 3rd floor but you take the *wrong* elevator, you get to the 3rd floor but you may be unable to reach your room (because you happen to be in a different building). Funny, anyway... And the decors are excellent.
The rooms are nice (at least, the two that I saw). Fancy, modern, romantic. Well, if you fancy the bathtub *inside* the sleeping room !! (shower and toilet in two separate cubicles). Big square bed, Bang & Olufsen TV (!), nice light fixtures, superb lavatory (also *in* the room). Must be seen to be fully appreciated. Romantic, yes.
One big (very big) disadvantage of the hotel is the level of street noise. Be aware that you will have this problem all over every hotel in Old Town (and this hotel sports soundproof windows). Problem is (1) clip-clop of touristic charrettes in the cobbled streets, if your room is facing the street; and (2) the catedral bells. The bells sound each and every hour (even during the whole night), so you'll have 5 klangs at 5am, 8 klangs at 8am and so on... and at 9am the whole gizmo breaks loose, with all the bells (some two-dozens of them) blasting the whole caboodle at 10-minutes interval !!! Bring your ear-plugs, and forget about sleeping after 9am. After all, would you come to Seville to sleep along the morning ?!?
The breakfast is super, with everything fresh and natural. If your room does not include breakfast, pay the asked 20 euros per person, it's worth it.
The rooftop deploys a very interesting lounge area that includes a micro swimming pool (maybe useful in Summer, if not over-crowded), gimnasium and massage area. The area is split in several levels (corresponding to the original buildings) with very nice rooftop / cathedral views. It's a nice place to finish the day drinking a glass and listening to some lounge music (which may annoy a little if you happen to be inside some rooms, depending on orientation). Once again, the music does not go along too late at night, and you did not come to Seville to sleep.
Very nice, indeeed. Not cheap, but worth it. Fully recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room *not* facing main street.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mario_MZG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This hotel it's definitively a treat, if you want to enchant or impress someone, it's the right place to go. The room was very modern and clean, tasteful design, great bed and the view of the Giralda did the trick.
However if you're planning to sleep after 9 O'clock bring a good set of earplugs with you, as the Giralda will be your 800 years old and 100 meter tool personal alarm clock, I'm not sure if that happens every day, but the 28th of Dec 2011 the bells were on every 10 mins for a hole hour from 9 to 10, so no a chance to get back to sleep after that !
Another aspect to consider, is the fact that you cannot drive to the hotel, as the traffic is restricted to Alemanes Street only taxis and horse carriages allowed, you would have to leave your car at the Murillo Gardens ( Cano Cueto car park, which is a lot cheaper too 12€ a night Vs 30€ at the hotel !! ) and walk your wheely bag through the stress of the very old streets of the city center no more than 5 min which is not that bad actually, it's a lovely walk, amazing squares and blinding white old buildings with flowers pouring out of their hand forged beautiful balconies.
It's an experience which I recommend, if April, all the orange trees would be blooming and the smell of the " flor de azahar " takes over the whole city an transport you to a different place in time with it's fragrance.
The spa it's reasonable, nothing amazing though, all the staff were really helpful and welcoming.
The bar at the roof top is possibly the bar with the bast view in the city, bar tenders were pleasant and know how to make cocktails !
The view of the sunset from there is stoning.

I hope you enjoy your stay in Seville.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FranGalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#4 of 177 in Seville
2,120 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Eurostars Sevilla Boutique
Eurostars Sevilla Boutique
#56 of 177 in Seville
867 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Gran Melia Colon
Gran Melia Colon
#6 of 177 in Seville
2,388 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 177 in Seville
4,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EME Catedral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EME Catedral Hotel

Address: Calle Alemanes 27, 41004 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Seville
#26 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#40 Romantic Hotel in Seville
Price Range: £137 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — EME Catedral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EME Catedral Hotel a Boutique Hotel located in the historical centre of Seville, in the Santa Cruz neighbourhood, right in front of the Cathedral and the Giralda, just some steps away from the shopping area. As a result of the restoration of fourteen typical sevillian listed houses from the XVI century, the urban resort has 60 rooms and an excellent gastronomic and leisure space with restaurants, cocktail bars, wellness spa, outdoor swimming pool and outstanding panoramic terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your EME Catedral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eme Fusion
Eme Fusion Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing