We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice - Great staff service too”
Review of EME Catedral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
EME Catedral Hotel
Ranked #45 of 176 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level Contributor
290 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice - Great staff service too”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Summary

An excellent hotel, with great facilities, modern décor and excellent service from the staff.

‘Small double room’ quite spacious.

In an unrivalled location for Seville.

Pool area and roof terrace needs attention.

If you want more detail, please read on….and on !

We had driven to Seville from Malaga, and parked in the underground car park at Canyo y Cueto. It’s about a 10 minute walk from here to the hotel, not too far as we didn’t intend to use the car during out 4 day stay. The car park cost 21.45 euros per day, which is a bit cheaper than the one the hotel offers at 30 euro’s per day.

On arrival at the hotel, we were welcomed at reception, our cases were promptly taken to our room and we were offered a complimentary drink on the front terrace, a glass of champagne. We were asked to complete a short check in details form, then once we were ready we were escorted through the hotel to our room, with an explanation of the hotel given, breakfast times, facilities, etc.

First impressions of the reception, is it’s dark as other reviewers have said, but generally I was impressed with the décor and the chilled atmosphere (not just the good air conditioning).

Our Room

We had booked a ‘small double’. We were given room 222, which is directly above the hotel bar at the rear, and overlooks the back street. We didn’t experience any issues with noise as some other reviewers have mentioned.

The room is a bit dark, necessitating all the lights on even during the day, though the balcony doors let in a lot of light.

The room was quite spacious and bigger than expected. We had twin queen beds pushed together. The beds are comfy; one of the pillows was too large, though a good night sleep was still experienced. There’s an electronic safe in one of the bedside tables.

There’s an area of hanging space sufficient for say 20 garments, then two large drawers below.

There a small TV but we didn’t turn it on, though I guess it has a few English news channels etc.

There’s a bath with a shower above it in the room, and the sink was adjacent to the door as you walk in. As expected, complimentary toiletries replenished every day including toothbrush and toothpaste, and the towels are clean and fluffy. There’s a professional hairdryer, robes and slippers, a minibar (3 euros for small water and 4 euros for a 330ml beer) and a full length free standing mirror.

There’s a separate toilet, with a beday and a reasonable sized shower cubicle. It was only strange that the sink was not in the toilet, as when my partner got up in the night it was necessary for her to put on the light to find the sink, therefore disturbing me unintentionally.

Our room had a small Juliet balcony overlooking the street at the rear of the hotel, and the noise when we came into shower early evening provided a nice atmosphere from the restaurants below.

The air conditioning in the room was excellent, and even stays on when you have left the room and removed your room card.

The free Wi-Fi was a bit ‘iffy’ in our room with only a weak signal that kept dropping off.

From the pool area you can see some of the other rooms with private terraces’ and Jacuzzi’s.


Breakfast

This is very good.

You are welcomed by a member of staff, whom checks you off, but then actually asks if everything is satisfactory with your room and the hotel facilities, not just ‘your room number?’

There’s a large selection of cold meats, cheeses, fruit, cereals, yoghurt, fruit juices and of course a glass of cava to wash it down.

The hot selection included bacon (streaky), scrambled and fried eggs, sausage, and plenty of fresh breads and pastries.

There a large toasting machine which works well and fast.

The breakfast area is really pleasant, nice décor, and some relaxing chilling music playing, and really aids in waking up slowly.

Breakfast starts at 7am, though it was still dark outside when we went down on the first day at around 7.15am, and we were the only guests in there until around 8.15am.

Though I’ll mention the general service later, the service at Breakfast was particular good. Pleasant, smiling and very attentive staff.


The Hotel Grounds

As said previously the reception area and our room was a little dark.

In the center of the hotel is a small area of the restaurant, an atrium where you can also take breakfast (they call it the patio). Adjacent to this area is the Spa, however we didn’t venture here so can’t comment on the facilities.

The front terrace of the hotel has a small number of tables and sofas, with some parasol covered tables on the street in front. There’s a small bar which also serves ice cream and a limited menu for food. We did have a ‘few’ drinks and some food on one day, and the salmon pasta dish was simple and very good, the Caesar salad also great. The house white wine and sangria are also good. Relatively inexpensive in hotel terms, 11 euros for the pasta dish, 9 euros for the salad and 3 euros for an ice cold beer (330ml). A jug of sangria was huge and cost 20 euros.

The main hotel bar was adjacent to the breakfast area and I think only opened at night. The bar area is very dark, though we didn’t venture here at night, and only saw it passing through to breakfast.

The Wi-Fi in reception , at breakfast and at the front of the hotel had a full signal, though the pool, roof terrace and our particular room (222) was only ‘1 bar’ and kept dropping off.


The Rooftop pool / Terrace bar.

Initially we were quite disappointed with the pool. The area is very small with just sufficient space around it for perhaps 6-8 people to sunbathe (without sitting in each other laps).

There are no sunbeds, just some molded chairs and large cushions, so I opted to lay on one of the (dirty) large cushions on the decking.

The pool opens at 9am, though the pool staff were still cleaning the area until around 9:45am each day we went up.

Clean towels are available at the pool each day.

The rooftop pool and bar areas, though connected are split into several small terraces. The terrace bar at night is very busy, though I couldn’t understand why during the day they wouldn’t clear away some of the stools and tables to create more space for people to relax on the rooftop.

The general area was a bit untidy, with many old chairs and other ‘stuff’ packed away into any available space beneath stairs etc.

The pool itself is clean and well maintained, great for a quick dip to cool off in this heat!

The roof area overlooks the cathedral, with some great views, particularly at night.

The terrace/pool bar does not open until 4pm…madness! As there’s no phone on the roof we had to go down to reception to order a drink.

I’m not sure if we’ve always been unlucky but most of our experiences of roof top pools in Spain have been poor, they just don’t seem to give the same attention here as the rest of the hotel facilities. (E.g.: Amerigo – Alicante, Molina Lario – Malaga)

We went up to the terrace bar just one night at around 11pm. It was very busy and we were shown to a table.

The same beer at the bar in front of the hotel was double the price on the terrace (here 6 euros for 330ml bottle).

Our drinks order was taken, but it then took a further 15 minutes before I had to remind them of our order, after a further 5 minutes we left as we were tired and couldn’t be bothered to wait.


Service

I think some of the previous reviewers comments on service have been taken on by the hotel and actioned.

Our experience was generally excellent.

Check was smooth and the staff really helpful.

Our room was cleaned daily and was made up as the first arrival day.

The breakfast staffs were particularly good. Some of the staff at breakfast were also elsewhere in the hotel later in the day.

The shower over the bath was a little loose so I called down to reception, a handyman was there in minutes, and came back later when were out and repaired it.

On our first day at the pool we were there at 9am, though there were no pool towels. Once I had called at reception they arrived within a minute or two.

All the staff were always cheerful, smiling and eager to please and all spoke good English, though I wanted to practice my Spanish! Can’t really fault the service we received.

Will DEFINITELY go here again!

Room Tip: Room 222 though above the bar was quite spacious as a corner room 'small double'. No noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liveyourlifebefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMEhotelSevilla, Costumer service at EME Catedral Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear liveyourlifebefree:
We greatly appreciate you taking some minutes of your valuable time to share with us your experiences in EME catedral hotel in a long and very honest review. We have carefully read all of your comments and we are surprised the story of his experiences in the hotel, highlighting our attentive service, facilities and location.

We are delighted to have met your expectations and know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We would also like to thank your suggestions for improvement, as they are our main tool to walk towards complete excellence in our services.

Thank you very much for your confidence in EME catedral hotel, and we hope you visit us soon.

Cordially,
Customer Service EME catedral hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    412
    188
    113
    101
See reviews for
117
855
25
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Drogheda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We have just returned from a week in this really lovely hotel.

Great points:

Location, right in the heart of historic Seville, walking distance to everywhere.
Staff: Friendly and welcoming
Breakfast: A real treat every morning
Room: Spacious, Jacuzzi on balcony and beautifully air-conditioned.

Room for Improvement:
Too many calls to our room when we were trying to sleep
No vegetarian option in the roof top restaurant
Drinks over priced on the roof top bar and service in the bar not good (€12.50 for a short of Vermouth, over the top) If you enjoy cocktails go to the American bar in the Alfonso hotel)
There were some ants but nothing I would normally mention other than I read a previous review about them.

This is a great hotel and we really did enjoyed our stay.

Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karlsadleir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMEhotelSevilla, Costumer service at EME Catedral Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear karlsadleir:
On behalf of the entire team of EME catedral hotel, we thank you deeply your positive comments that we have received through Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to have met your expectations and know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We would also like to thank your suggestions for improvement, as they are our main tool to walk towards complete excellence in our services.

Thank you very much for your confidence in EME catedral hotel, and we hope you visit us soon.

Cordially,
Customer Service EME catedral hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This is a great hotel, but definitely don't drive to it. The room was lovely (room402), stunning location, staff great - especially young lady from Sunderland. Down sides are the hotel needs some upgrading - around the pool is a bit shabby, in the shower it has been leaking and wood was damaged, and there was a little mould. Terrace bar was lovely v v smoky in the evening. So much so we took our drinks back to the room. This isn't 5 star quality but I would certainly recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarethandVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMEhotelSevilla, Customer service EME at EME Catedral Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear GarethandVictoria:
We greatly appreciate you taking a few minutes of your valuable time to share with us your experiences in EME catedral hotel. We are delighted to have met your expectations and know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We would also like to thank your suggestions for improvement, as they are our main tool to walk towards complete excellence in our services.

Thank you very much for your confidence in EME catedral hotel, and we hope you visit us soon.
Regards,
Customer Service EME catedral hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We were really excited to stay at EME Cathedral.. The reviews seemed very positive! Unfortunately, the reality did not match our expectations:
Pros:
1- The location is very nice and in the middle of the historic part of the town, if you want an uninterrupted view of the Cathedral, you have to go to the third or 4th floor.
2- The rooftop is very nice, probably the nicest in town.
3- The rooms are very nice.
Cons:
1- The service is simply Poor, they need to do something about it, it is consistent!
We got two calls to our room, one at 9:00 PM and the second one at 8:30 AM and both were made by mistake - if you are on a vacation trying to relax, I don't think you would want to be woken up by mistake.
2- The hotel has got ants, when the ants got into our luggage, we called the front desk and they seemed very surprised and apologetic signaling that this is the first time this had happened... We went in the PM to the SPA for a massage and surely we found ants in the lockers. Conclusion hotel has got ants - period!
3- We ran out of toilet paper on the last day prior to checking out, we went to the front desk, talked to two different people who seemed not to know what to do. It is simple, toilet paper, so my wife ended up going to the hotel restrooms in the underground to grab some.
The location, rooms and rooftop do not compensate for a poor service, hire the right people who can work in the service industry.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilpastoreabruseze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMEhotelSevilla, Costumer service at EME Catedral Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Ilpastoreabruseze:
We greatly appreciate you taking a few minutes of your valuable time to share with us their experiences in EME catedral hotel.
We are delighted to know your positive comments about our location, rooms and facilities such as the Terrace, which is one of the most visited and known in the visit to Seville.

However, we regret and we apologize, and our service has been to your satisfaction. For this reason I can confirm that we have taken note and appropriate actions with respect to the reception staff, to prevent future situations like you mention. In any case, we appreciate reviews like yours, because they help us to improve our overall services.

Thank you very much for your confidence in EME catedral hotel, and would gladly return to forward to your visit in order to see first hand our changes.
Cordially,
Customer EME catedral hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Perfect location, and a beautiful modern hotel. When we went to pay however, they said our cards were all declined ???! And ended up charging the amount twice. Very unprofessional young girl in the reception who had no idea what she was doing, and she was not sorry. A very bad ending to a good stay. This should not be happening in a hotel in its standard.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank receptionistdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMEhotelSevilla, Costumer service at EME Catedral Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear receptionistdk:
We greatly appreciate you taking a few minutes of your valuable time to share with us their experiences in EME catedral hotel. We are delighted to have met your expectations and know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We would also like to thank your suggestions for improvement, as they are our main tool to walk towards complete excellence in our services.

However, we note its criticism about reception staff, and assure you that we take appropriate measures to prevent in the future situations like you describe and improve the customer treatment in general from this point.

Thank you very much for your confidence in EME catedral hotel, and we hope you visit us soon.
Regards,
Customer Service EME catedral hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Just stayed 2 nights in the hotel. Used my avios( british Airways miles) to stay...that was really worth it.
Here are the +;
Perfect location. Can not really do better on that point.
Good quality breakfast
Amazing terrace with splendid view and trendy atmosphere
Nice touch with welcoming drinks( ask to have it on the terrace)

Here are the points to be aware of;
Pool is really small.
Room are quite noisy, until quite late..so get into spanish mode and Go to bed late!

During you stay in Seville go to alfonso XIII for an afternoon drink on the patio!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMEhotelSevilla, Costumer service at EME Catedral Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Catsum:
We are very pleased to read your friendly and passionate words in criticism devoted to EME catedral hotel, for us is very valuable to know that this Boutique Hotel Sevilla center has lived up of their expectations.

We would also like to thank your suggestions for improvement, as they are our main tool to walk towards complete excellence in our services.

Thank you very much for your confidence in EME catedral hotel, and we hope you visit us soon.

Cordially,
Customer EME catedral hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed three nights at EME and had a very pleasant overall experience.

Pros:
+ LOCATION. Best rooftop in town. A drink up there at dusk is worth every single penny (and drinks are not cheap!)
+ Service: nice and pleasant they will help you no matter where you come from or your language is.
+ Design: wonderful items like philip Starck's bathtub, lamps or Bang and Olufsen TV
+ ammenities. Great bathroom and welcome products.
+ fantastic breakfast. One of the best I've had in my southern Spain trip.

Cons:
- Cathedral view rooms not worth it. Paid extra to get a view of the Cathedral that was adverised with a large balcony and two armchairs... And got a first floor room with a large window and view from down there. Not worth it at all.
- Build quality. Despite some unique design items, the quality of the shower construction, the paint or the doors was very poor.
- Dark rooms. Very low light makes a lovely environment sometimes but not while trying to find your clothes in the luggage.
- Very expensive parking rates. 30€ a night is way too much.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Javier V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMEhotelSevilla, Costumer service at EME Catedral Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Javier V:
We greatly appreciate you taking a few minutes of your valuable time to share with us your experiences in EME catedral hotel.

We are delighted to have met your expectations and know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We would also like to thank your suggestions for improvement, as they are our main tool to walk towards complete excellence in our services. Finally we thank you for your kind words about our team reception rooms and facilities in general and we apologize for the noise mentioned that, without justification, is a feature of inner city and the lifestyle of Seville.

Thank you very much for your confidence in EME catedral hotel, and we hope you visit us soon.

Regards,
Customer EME catedral hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#3 of 176 in Seville
2,021 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Eurostars Sevilla Boutique
Eurostars Sevilla Boutique
#49 of 176 in Seville
836 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Gran Melia Colon
Gran Melia Colon
#4 of 176 in Seville
2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Dona Maria
Hotel Dona Maria
#64 of 176 in Seville
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EME Catedral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EME Catedral Hotel

Property: EME Catedral Hotel
Address: Calle Alemanes 27, 41004 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Seville
#27 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#40 Romantic Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — EME Catedral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EME Catedral Hotel a Boutique Hotel located in the historical centre of Seville, in the Santa Cruz neighbourhood, right in front of the Cathedral and the Giralda, just some steps away from the shopping area. As a result of the restoration of fourteen typical sevillian listed houses from the XVI century, the urban resort has 60 rooms and an excellent gastronomic and leisure space with restaurants, cocktail bars, wellness spa, outdoor swimming pool and outstanding panoramic terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your EME Catedral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eme Fusion
Eme Fusion Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing