We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location, Ultra stylish” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of EME Catedral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
EME Catedral Hotel
Ranked #45 of 179 Hotels in Seville
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, Ultra stylish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed at EME for 3 nights in a Cathedral View Room. Firstly the room is very modern, almost split level with a large balcony that overlooks the Cathedral which the view is absolutely spectacular at night. The hotel is very closely situated to the Alcazar and also the shopping

The rooftop has a series of bars and a restaurant, which again have an amazing view in all directions, although it can get very busy and drinks & food is pricey (you pay for the view obviously).

Another mention, our room came with breakfast included, which was one of the best buffet breakfasts I have had.

The only downsides to this hotel was because of the popular rooftop bar, there were always alot of people trying to use the lift and sometimes there was a wait to get a lift to your room. Also the music from the bar ran into the night, so this might not be the best option for people who are light sleepers.

The hotel contains a small pool, but its often quite busy and hard to find a spot to lay or relax.

All in all though, it was a great hotel and if I returned to Seville I would stay here again, just for the magical view.

Room Tip: Pay extra to get a Cathedral view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j_debruyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMEhotelSevilla, Costumer service EME at EME Catedral Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear j_debruyn:
We greatly appreciate you taking a few minutes of your valuable time to share with us your experiences in EME catedral hotel. We are delighted to have met your expectations and know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We would also like to thank your suggestions for improvement, as they are our main tool to walk towards complete excellence in our services.

Finally we thank you for your kind words about our views from the rooftop and the room, and about the breakfast service. You're very kind with your nice comments.

Thank you very much for your confidence in EME catedral hotel, and we hope you visit us soon.

Cordially,
Customer Service EME catedral hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    398
    178
    109
    99
See reviews for
109
819
23
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We spent 2 nights in this hotel - right in front of the cathedral, with good public transports to get there from the airport or the station.
The room and the bathroom were clean, large and fully equipped - you also get a nice set of toiletries! In the night, no noise and no light came in from the outside (we were on the 3rd floor). The bed was wide and comfortable, as well as the pillows. The sleep quality was perfect.
Breakfast was delicious and rich in choice.
Air conditioning, elevator, wi-fi and all the facilities worked very well.
The SPA was a bit disappointing (the sauna was cold and the water in the pool with hydro-massage seemed not to be completely built), but pleasurable.
We really liked the hotel staff: friendly, welcoming, very polite and always smiling - they really make you feel at ease! They helped us whenever we needed.
The only thing we regret is the pseudo-posh bar on the top terrace: that's really expensive and the ladies who wait on the tables do not even notice that you are there - just go on the terrace to take some pictures of the cathedral, ignore them and enjoy the nice view!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nielino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMEhotelSevilla, Costumer service EME at EME Catedral Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Nielino:
We greatly appreciate you taking a few minutes of your valuable time to share with us your experiences in EME catedral hotel. We are delighted to have met your expectations and know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We would also like to thank your suggestions for improvement, as they are our main tool to walk towards complete excellence in our services.

Finally we thank you for your kind words about our reception team and apologize on behalf of our staff of flats, which, we assure you will work more quietly, avoid causing discomfort to customers.

Thank you very much for your confidence in EME catedral hotel, and we hope you visit us soon.

Regards,
Customer Service EME catedral hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Loved the room we stayed in! The bath was great as was the shower and the bed.....fantastic!
Some of the hotel staff were a bit "snooty" especially the girl in the SPA who was really rude when we wanted to have a look the facilities and instead of explaining what the SPA had to offer, she just told us to leave!
Breakfast was really good and we also ate in the Italian one night and the food was great, but the service was not!
The swimming pool on the roof was really disapointing, but the roof top bar was really nice in the evening with lovely views of the cathedral.

Room Tip: Upgrade the room to one with a bath! We had a view of the street which was lovely, (do not think I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMEhotelSevilla, Costumer service EME at EME Catedral Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Helen673;
Thank you very much for your confidence in EME catedral hotel.

Wholeheartedly we appreciate your kind words about your stay at our hotel, and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed with us. We are proud to have contributed to make your stay an unforgettable experience, or as we like to call it, "an EME experience".

Waiting to have another opportunity to welcome you to EME catedral hotel and with the desire to give you the best of our attentions, we say goodbye to you cordially,

Customer Service EME catedral hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga
Level Contributor
451 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We went there the first time after a long walk in Sevilla and wanted to get a lunch. Nice pizza, really nice if you get a little tired of the beautiful tapas in sevilla. We sat outside the hotel and could follow all the locals and turists walking by. The staff was perfect and the pizza and the wine excellent. Quite expensive but good!
Next time we went to Eme, was one night on their famous rooftop for coctails. Beautiful view over the Cathedral and Sevilla in general - absolutely beautiful and absolutely not cheap -1 beer and 1 Mojitos 18,50 Euro! But do it - just for the view and the ambience before going somewhere else to eat your dinner, there are lots of places in Sevilla!
The DJ was preparing for the night time, we did not stay that long, but it is a very NICE place

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonaMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMEhotelSevilla, Costumer service EME at EME Catedral Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear DonaMalaga:
Thank you very much for sharing with us your comments about EME catedral hotel. We regret that this time the prices on terrace has not been fully lived up to your expectations, but as you yourself said, the views of Seville are very unique, and the quality of the drinks is high, as it offers the price list of this place.
However, we appreciate your kind words about other gastronomical and services aspects also mentioned in his criticism.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Cordially,
Customer Service EME catedral hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
282 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Summary

An excellent hotel, with great facilities, modern décor and excellent service from the staff.

‘Small double room’ quite spacious.

In an unrivalled location for Seville.

Pool area and roof terrace needs attention.

If you want more detail, please read on….and on !

We had driven to Seville from Malaga, and parked in the underground car park at Canyo y Cueto. It’s about a 10 minute walk from here to the hotel, not too far as we didn’t intend to use the car during out 4 day stay. The car park cost 21.45 euros per day, which is a bit cheaper than the one the hotel offers at 30 euro’s per day.

On arrival at the hotel, we were welcomed at reception, our cases were promptly taken to our room and we were offered a complimentary drink on the front terrace, a glass of champagne. We were asked to complete a short check in details form, then once we were ready we were escorted through the hotel to our room, with an explanation of the hotel given, breakfast times, facilities, etc.

First impressions of the reception, is it’s dark as other reviewers have said, but generally I was impressed with the décor and the chilled atmosphere (not just the good air conditioning).

Our Room

We had booked a ‘small double’. We were given room 222, which is directly above the hotel bar at the rear, and overlooks the back street. We didn’t experience any issues with noise as some other reviewers have mentioned.

The room is a bit dark, necessitating all the lights on even during the day, though the balcony doors let in a lot of light.

The room was quite spacious and bigger than expected. We had twin queen beds pushed together. The beds are comfy; one of the pillows was too large, though a good night sleep was still experienced. There’s an electronic safe in one of the bedside tables.

There’s an area of hanging space sufficient for say 20 garments, then two large drawers below.

There a small TV but we didn’t turn it on, though I guess it has a few English news channels etc.

There’s a bath with a shower above it in the room, and the sink was adjacent to the door as you walk in. As expected, complimentary toiletries replenished every day including toothbrush and toothpaste, and the towels are clean and fluffy. There’s a professional hairdryer, robes and slippers, a minibar (3 euros for small water and 4 euros for a 330ml beer) and a full length free standing mirror.

There’s a separate toilet, with a beday and a reasonable sized shower cubicle. It was only strange that the sink was not in the toilet, as when my partner got up in the night it was necessary for her to put on the light to find the sink, therefore disturbing me unintentionally.

Our room had a small Juliet balcony overlooking the street at the rear of the hotel, and the noise when we came into shower early evening provided a nice atmosphere from the restaurants below.

The air conditioning in the room was excellent, and even stays on when you have left the room and removed your room card.

The free Wi-Fi was a bit ‘iffy’ in our room with only a weak signal that kept dropping off.

From the pool area you can see some of the other rooms with private terraces’ and Jacuzzi’s.


Breakfast

This is very good.

You are welcomed by a member of staff, whom checks you off, but then actually asks if everything is satisfactory with your room and the hotel facilities, not just ‘your room number?’

There’s a large selection of cold meats, cheeses, fruit, cereals, yoghurt, fruit juices and of course a glass of cava to wash it down.

The hot selection included bacon (streaky), scrambled and fried eggs, sausage, and plenty of fresh breads and pastries.

There a large toasting machine which works well and fast.

The breakfast area is really pleasant, nice décor, and some relaxing chilling music playing, and really aids in waking up slowly.

Breakfast starts at 7am, though it was still dark outside when we went down on the first day at around 7.15am, and we were the only guests in there until around 8.15am.

Though I’ll mention the general service later, the service at Breakfast was particular good. Pleasant, smiling and very attentive staff.


The Hotel Grounds

As said previously the reception area and our room was a little dark.

In the center of the hotel is a small area of the restaurant, an atrium where you can also take breakfast (they call it the patio). Adjacent to this area is the Spa, however we didn’t venture here so can’t comment on the facilities.

The front terrace of the hotel has a small number of tables and sofas, with some parasol covered tables on the street in front. There’s a small bar which also serves ice cream and a limited menu for food. We did have a ‘few’ drinks and some food on one day, and the salmon pasta dish was simple and very good, the Caesar salad also great. The house white wine and sangria are also good. Relatively inexpensive in hotel terms, 11 euros for the pasta dish, 9 euros for the salad and 3 euros for an ice cold beer (330ml). A jug of sangria was huge and cost 20 euros.

The main hotel bar was adjacent to the breakfast area and I think only opened at night. The bar area is very dark, though we didn’t venture here at night, and only saw it passing through to breakfast.

The Wi-Fi in reception , at breakfast and at the front of the hotel had a full signal, though the pool, roof terrace and our particular room (222) was only ‘1 bar’ and kept dropping off.


The Rooftop pool / Terrace bar.

Initially we were quite disappointed with the pool. The area is very small with just sufficient space around it for perhaps 6-8 people to sunbathe (without sitting in each other laps).

There are no sunbeds, just some molded chairs and large cushions, so I opted to lay on one of the (dirty) large cushions on the decking.

The pool opens at 9am, though the pool staff were still cleaning the area until around 9:45am each day we went up.

Clean towels are available at the pool each day.

The rooftop pool and bar areas, though connected are split into several small terraces. The terrace bar at night is very busy, though I couldn’t understand why during the day they wouldn’t clear away some of the stools and tables to create more space for people to relax on the rooftop.

The general area was a bit untidy, with many old chairs and other ‘stuff’ packed away into any available space beneath stairs etc.

The pool itself is clean and well maintained, great for a quick dip to cool off in this heat!

The roof area overlooks the cathedral, with some great views, particularly at night.

The terrace/pool bar does not open until 4pm…madness! As there’s no phone on the roof we had to go down to reception to order a drink.

I’m not sure if we’ve always been unlucky but most of our experiences of roof top pools in Spain have been poor, they just don’t seem to give the same attention here as the rest of the hotel facilities. (E.g.: Amerigo – Alicante, Molina Lario – Malaga)

We went up to the terrace bar just one night at around 11pm. It was very busy and we were shown to a table.

The same beer at the bar in front of the hotel was double the price on the terrace (here 6 euros for 330ml bottle).

Our drinks order was taken, but it then took a further 15 minutes before I had to remind them of our order, after a further 5 minutes we left as we were tired and couldn’t be bothered to wait.


Service

I think some of the previous reviewers comments on service have been taken on by the hotel and actioned.

Our experience was generally excellent.

Check was smooth and the staff really helpful.

Our room was cleaned daily and was made up as the first arrival day.

The breakfast staffs were particularly good. Some of the staff at breakfast were also elsewhere in the hotel later in the day.

The shower over the bath was a little loose so I called down to reception, a handyman was there in minutes, and came back later when were out and repaired it.

On our first day at the pool we were there at 9am, though there were no pool towels. Once I had called at reception they arrived within a minute or two.

All the staff were always cheerful, smiling and eager to please and all spoke good English, though I wanted to practice my Spanish! Can’t really fault the service we received.

Will DEFINITELY go here again!

Room Tip: Room 222 though above the bar was quite spacious as a corner room 'small double'. No noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liveyourlifebefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMEhotelSevilla, Costumer service at EME Catedral Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear liveyourlifebefree:
We greatly appreciate you taking some minutes of your valuable time to share with us your experiences in EME catedral hotel in a long and very honest review. We have carefully read all of your comments and we are surprised the story of his experiences in the hotel, highlighting our attentive service, facilities and location.

We are delighted to have met your expectations and know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We would also like to thank your suggestions for improvement, as they are our main tool to walk towards complete excellence in our services.

Thank you very much for your confidence in EME catedral hotel, and we hope you visit us soon.

Cordially,
Customer Service EME catedral hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We have just returned from a week in this really lovely hotel.

Great points:

Location, right in the heart of historic Seville, walking distance to everywhere.
Staff: Friendly and welcoming
Breakfast: A real treat every morning
Room: Spacious, Jacuzzi on balcony and beautifully air-conditioned.

Room for Improvement:
Too many calls to our room when we were trying to sleep
No vegetarian option in the roof top restaurant
Drinks over priced on the roof top bar and service in the bar not good (€12.50 for a short of Vermouth, over the top) If you enjoy cocktails go to the American bar in the Alfonso hotel)
There were some ants but nothing I would normally mention other than I read a previous review about them.

This is a great hotel and we really did enjoyed our stay.

Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karlsadleir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMEhotelSevilla, Costumer service at EME Catedral Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear karlsadleir:
On behalf of the entire team of EME catedral hotel, we thank you deeply your positive comments that we have received through Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to have met your expectations and know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We would also like to thank your suggestions for improvement, as they are our main tool to walk towards complete excellence in our services.

Thank you very much for your confidence in EME catedral hotel, and we hope you visit us soon.

Cordially,
Customer Service EME catedral hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

This is a great hotel, but definitely don't drive to it. The room was lovely (room402), stunning location, staff great - especially young lady from Sunderland. Down sides are the hotel needs some upgrading - around the pool is a bit shabby, in the shower it has been leaking and wood was damaged, and there was a little mould. Terrace bar was lovely v v smoky in the evening. So much so we took our drinks back to the room. This isn't 5 star quality but I would certainly recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarethandVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMEhotelSevilla, Customer service EME at EME Catedral Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear GarethandVictoria:
We greatly appreciate you taking a few minutes of your valuable time to share with us your experiences in EME catedral hotel. We are delighted to have met your expectations and know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We would also like to thank your suggestions for improvement, as they are our main tool to walk towards complete excellence in our services.

Thank you very much for your confidence in EME catedral hotel, and we hope you visit us soon.
Regards,
Customer Service EME catedral hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#3 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Eurostars Sevilla Boutique
Eurostars Sevilla Boutique
#49 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Gran Melia Colon
Gran Melia Colon
#4 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Corral del Rey
#2 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EME Catedral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EME Catedral Hotel

Property: EME Catedral Hotel
Address: Calle Alemanes 27, 41004 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Seville
#25 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#40 Romantic Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — EME Catedral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EME Catedral Hotel a Boutique Hotel located in the historical centre of Seville, in the Santa Cruz neighbourhood, right in front of the Cathedral and the Giralda, just some steps away from the shopping area. As a result of the restoration of fourteen typical sevillian listed houses from the XVI century, the urban resort has 60 rooms and an excellent gastronomic and leisure space with restaurants, cocktail bars, wellness spa, outdoor swimming pool and outstanding panoramic terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your EME Catedral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eme Fusion
Eme Fusion Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing