We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location & a spectacular hotel modern hotel!”
Review of EME Catedral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
EME Catedral Hotel
Ranked #45 of 176 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Rancho Cucamonga, California
1 review
“Amazing location & a spectacular hotel modern hotel!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel was spectacular! Literally next door to the Cathedral with an amazing view on the rooftop from the pool and restaurant. I would book the rooftop restaurant every night I stayed there. Delicious food, 5 star service, and a once in a lifetime view. My boyfriend and I spent 2 nights here and would not chose anywhere else to stay if we went back to Seville. The hotel staff catered to every need and they were helpful with giving advice on how to spend our few days in Seville.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SerenaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMEhotelSevilla, Costumer Service at EME Catedral Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear SerenaTravels;
Thank you very much for your confidence in EME catedral hotel.

Wholeheartedly we appreciate your kind words about your stay at our hotel, and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed with us. We are proud to have contributed to make your stay an unforgettable experience, or as we like to call it, "an EME experience".

Waiting to have another opportunity to welcome you to EME catedral hotel and with the desire to give you the best of our attentions, we say goodbye to you cordially,
Customer Service EME catedral hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    412
    187
    113
    101
See reviews for
117
854
25
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Very funky, cool, modern hotel. Staff went out of their way to be super friendly and helpful. We had our almost 2 year old son with us. It's probably not ideal for young kids (playing in pool with him so of the cool couples didn't look impressed) , more couples, and old aged kids. Pool is small and not deep but perfect for cooling off after being out for the day and view of the cathedral . Roof top bar has great atmosphere and view. Location is amazing, tons of great restaurants and shops nearby plus Cathedral and other sites at your door step. Definitely recommend this to anyone.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank FAVRTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMEhotelSevilla, Costumer Service at EME Catedral Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear FAVRTE;
Thank you very much for your trust in EME catedral hotel.

Wholeheartedly appreciate your kind words about your experience at our hotel, and we are delighted that you have enjoyed so much with us. For our team of staff are all proud to have contributed to make your stay an unforgettable experience. And of course, thank you for your recommendation to other people who follow and seek such comments.

Waiting to have another opportunity to serve you and give you the best of our attention again, we parted cordially,
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel in mid July 2014, during our first trip to Seville. We had a great stay, and would definitely recommend the hotel, but let me run through the pros and cons.

The pros:

- Location is pretty much perfect - it is right in the middle of Santa Cruz, opposite the cathedral and a couple of hundred yards from the Alcazar. So, you couldn't ask for a better location.
- There's also a pool on the roof terrace. It's not massive, but is a godsend in the fierce heat (although the rooms are all are conditioned, sometimes only a pool will do). There's also a spa, although we didn't use it, so I cannot offer a view
- The staff were all absolutely charming and very helpful.
- The room was lovely - the bed was fantastically comfortable and the room was stylish and well appointed.
- Breakfast was fantastic. Pretty much what you'd expect - fruit, bread, meat, cheese - but all fresh, very tasty and really, really nice.
- The roof terrace at night is amazing. Just the best view you could possibly ever ask for

The cons:
- The hotel has been very 'designed'. So, in our room, we had a very nice freestanding bath tub (although the plug didn't quite fit, so the water slowly drained out) but no proper shower. Personally, I'd always prefer a stand up shower in a hot country.
- The location has a downside - it's very busy and, at times, very noisy. Our room was at the back of the hotel, which is on a street with half a dozen restaurants on it. And there was noise until pretty late at night. This isn't the hotel's fault - clearly - but it's something to be mindful of.
- I don't know if this is a fair point to make or not, but we only had 1 English TV channel - the always disappointing BBC World. Would have been nice to have some more. Might just be me, but I love to put a film on before going out for the evening.

However, the pros hugely outweigh the cons, and I would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMEhotelSevilla, Costumer Service at EME Catedral Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Chris W;
Thank you very much for your trust in EME catedral hotel.

Wholeheartedly appreciate your kind words about your experience at our hotel, and we are delighted that you have enjoyed so much with us. For our team of staff are all proud to have contributed to make your stay an unforgettable experience. And of course, thank you for your recommendation to other people who follow and seek such comments. We would also like to thank your suggestions for improvement, as they are our main tool to walk towards complete excellence in our services.

Waiting to have another opportunity to serve you and give you the best of our attention again, we parted cordially,
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beersheba, Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I recently stayed at the EME and the first thing you will notice is the way the staff takes care of you. I needed laundry done and housekeeping was at my room in a minute. Unfortunately, the cloth laundry bag was not returned with the clean clothes. I mentioned it and received it in the mail today.

The roof top of the hotel is the best place to spend the evening. I didn't eat dinner there but the roof patio across from the Cathedral is amazing. Have a drink up there some night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desertsheik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMEhotelSevilla, Costumer Service at EME Catedral Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Desertsheik;
Thank you very much for your confidence in EME catedral hotel.

Wholeheartedly we appreciate your kind words about your stay at our hotel, and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed with us. We are proud to have contributed to make your stay an unforgettable experience, or as we like to call it, "an EME experience".

Waiting to have another opportunity to welcome you to EME catedral hotel and with the desire to give you the best of our attentions, we say goodbye to you cordially,
Customer Service EME catedral hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
159 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is as other reviews have stated very well located with great views and a lovely roof top bar and pool.
The hotel does suffer from a lack of attention to detail in some areas upon first inspection it looks great but then you notice sloping floors, cables tucked through windows, old furniture etc etc however it's kind of acceptable because the building is so quaint and old and the good points out weigh the bad by far.
The service isn't 5 star and not are the rooms although spacious and nice they are lacking the finishing touches but they are comfortable and the bed is huge.
We did hear the bar noise at night until around 2am but it's wasn't too loud or a problem we slept well and then enjoyed a fab breakfast and really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pinkfizz31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMEhotelSevilla, Costumer Service at EME Catedral Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Pinkfizz31:
We greatly appreciate you taking a few minutes of your valuable time to share with us your experiences in EME catedral hotel. We are delighted to have met your expectations and know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We would also like to thank your suggestions for improvement, as they are our main tool to walk towards complete excellence in our services.

Finally we thank you for your kind words about our reception team and apologize on behalf of our staff of flats, which, we assure you will work more quietly, avoid causing discomfort to customers.

Thank you very much for your confidence in EME catedral hotel, and we hope you visit us soon.
Regards,
Customer Service EME catedral hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two nights and booked a rooftop-room with a private terrace and Jacuzzi and (amazing) views towards the Cathedral. To be honest, I have mixed feelings about this hotel. The location is impossible to beat (next to the Cathedral/old city center of Sevilla), the breakfast is excellent and the spa (be aware that they require a booking in advance) is perfect. The public spaces are nicely designed and decorated.

The room itself has enough space (two level room, with a private hallway, ideal for storing your luggage) but has run down. There was no minibar, though the B&O TV was a nice plus. The private terrace looked as if it need a update, the furniture was old/showed some heavy wear of usage, which was disappointing. The Jacuzzi didn’t work for the entire stay (the staff did seemed bored when we asked several times for a mechanic, who eventually showed up without fixing the problem).

Staff showed inconsistent service, some of them were very friendly and welcoming, some other, one lady at the front desk in particular, showed a very snooty attitude, which was for us not acceptable in a 5*hotel. Will only return after the hotel has undergoing maintenance and staff will show consistent serve without any attitude.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TdwLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMEhotelSevilla, Costumer Service at EME Catedral Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear TdwLee:
We greatly appreciate you taking a few minutes of your valuable time to share with us your experiences in EME catedral hotel. We are delighted to have met your expectations and know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We would also like to thank your suggestions for improvement, as they are our main tool to walk towards complete excellence in our services. We assure you that we have taken note and take appropriate actions in order to improve our comprehensive service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and give us the opportunity to change the feel of the occasion.

Regards,
Customer Service EME catedral hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Background: We took an Eva bus from Faro, Portugal to Seville (highly recommended, scenic and cheap ride 18 euro/person one way) and then cabbed it to the hotel. We were a week into our travels, a bit tired, but knew that visiting Spain meant tapas, late dinners, and dancing the night away.

Hotel: Not the best architectural quality
-trendy/hip
-a bit maze like, we got lost a few times and our room was on the first floor! We thought that there should be better signage to guide you in the right direction.
-walls are very, very thin (we got a room that faced the street and heard EVERYTHING), doors are flimsy
-a little dingy: the first room we were given had a door that you literally had to slam to shut, and the dead bolt didn't work. The hotel staff sent a maintenance man, but he was unable to resolve the problem. In the end we were given a different room so we weren't too upset…

Location: Excellent
-walking distance to major sites
-near a panoply of bars, restaurants, cafes
-unique views of the Seville Cathedral all around

Staff: Good
-very young, but helpful
-some speak English well and others don't (you can practice your Spanish!)

Amenities: Good
-welcome drink (cava) upon check-in
-free breakfast (might have to choose B&B option), the breakfast was easily one of my favorites on our trip: hot+cold buffet and they had CHURROS!
-iron for guest use free of charge
-rooftop pool
-adequate fitness center: well outfitted with equipment but situated near the pool and enclosed by clear plastic walls/windows. This means that there is little to no shade during the day. Not only is this bad for wear & tear of the machines but it means it is very hot inside the room. There is only a little tiny AC unit inside. We made the mistake of showing up for a workout in the afternoon…
-rooftop bar (a must to visit!)
-rooftop restaurant (good, but not gourmet. We were a little disappointed.)

Overall: We really enjoyed Seville. Between the history, architecture, flamenco, and ambiance the city is simply romantic. The hotel was good, but not great. Our impression was this: the location/rooftop is great but the hotel really is just average. This is disappointing given the price of the rooms. Between the rooftop bar and busy streets below, the hotel really should do more to soundproof the rooms. EME is definitely one of those places we're glad we stayed but probably won't return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isn't facing the street if you want any chance of a quiet night's sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tudoepossivel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#3 of 176 in Seville
2,021 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Eurostars Sevilla Boutique
Eurostars Sevilla Boutique
#49 of 176 in Seville
836 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Gran Melia Colon
Gran Melia Colon
#4 of 176 in Seville
2,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Dona Maria
Hotel Dona Maria
#64 of 176 in Seville
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EME Catedral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EME Catedral Hotel

Property: EME Catedral Hotel
Address: Calle Alemanes 27, 41004 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Seville
#27 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#40 Romantic Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — EME Catedral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EME Catedral Hotel a Boutique Hotel located in the historical centre of Seville, in the Santa Cruz neighbourhood, right in front of the Cathedral and the Giralda, just some steps away from the shopping area. As a result of the restoration of fourteen typical sevillian listed houses from the XVI century, the urban resort has 60 rooms and an excellent gastronomic and leisure space with restaurants, cocktail bars, wellness spa, outdoor swimming pool and outstanding panoramic terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your EME Catedral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eme Fusion
Eme Fusion Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing