We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MAGIC LOCATION AND AMAZING HOTEL”
Review of EME Catedral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
EME Catedral Hotel
Ranked #49 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2010

I give you this, the hotel its pricey (but I think its worth it), and the rooms are odd shaped (but they are beautifully designed) ,I have to say this hotel its truly a work of art.

The combined spaces of almost 10 different buildings (houses in the old part), the truly breathtaking views to the Giralda, the chick and plush ambiance, and most of all the indisputable best location in Seville, make this very unique hotel a truly fantastic spot

If you stay there YOU MUST GO to CASA ROBLES an amazing restaurant just around the Corner, with one of the best seafoods I have tried in all my trips.

And of course please have a glass of sparkling in the roof overlooking The Giralda in a warm sevillian night

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveljhonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

533 - 539 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2010

We were just shocked reading some of these negative reviews. This was one of the nicest, most memorable places we stayed during a two week trip in Andalucía. First, even the negative reviews concede this hotel is an arm’s length from the Catedral, you can see the roof deck and swimming pools from the Moorish/ Gothic tower. Second, no two rooms are alike and the whole place is made up from a restored 500 year old building and parts of other buildings. We found our space soothing and cool. Third, maybe the restaurant in the hotel isn’t worth the dough, but there are 50 choices within a 60 second walk once you leave the front door. Fourth, we liked the staff.

The 79/187 ranking on TA is baffling. We checked out of another Seville property early so we could stay here an extra night. The 75 square foot exercise facility is a little cramped, but we have seen worse in midtown Manhattan. It was hot in August and we enjoyed some cold drinks on the roof deck taking in the unforgettable view. We think some of the negative press written about EME Fusion is way overdone. Two thumbs up from this crowd.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kindlycritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2010

We stayed in this hotel for our honeymoon and its was the most disappointing experince I have ever had in a hotel.
The hotel is in a fantatstic location in a beauitful City and what looks like would be a great choice for our honeymoon turn out to be a complete waste of money, The service is non exsistent and all of the staff are far to busy to bother looking after their guests. Even when we complained to the manager and a promise they would turn our stay in to a good experince for us, they did nothing. I really would recomend you stayed somewhere else and just pop to the roof top bar for a drink one evening.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katy57London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

Found this hotel on booking.com. It was the perfect location with a rooftop pool looking straight at the cathedral. The rooms are ultra hip and modern.. the only thing is that they were a little dark. Breakfast selected was great for a European hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eatingoutSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

First, the good news; the hotel's location is spectacular, within 100 meters of the Cathedral and the Jewish bario. Now, the rest of the story...
The hotel, unfortunately, is a poor attempt at creating a trendy boutique hotel in a more traditional Spanish destination. The staff says all the right things, but execution is sadly lacking. Every request is dealt with as if it's the first time anyone had ever made it. Basic questions about some of the area attractions are met with a 'deer-in-the-headlight' look. The staff's goal is to get rid of you as quickly as possible. In short, make sure you've completed 100% of your homework PRIOR to arrival. Even the most basic question will stump the staff and leave you frustrated.
Our room had no electronic key card, so we were given the master hard key. All well and good, except that security is a notorious problem there and all that stood between us and anyone wanting access to our room was an easily duplicated key. While we were assured it was a temporary problem, our three day stay never saw the promised electronic solution. Ours was one of the premium categories; I can only imagine what one of the discounted rooms experience would be!
The hotel is made up of a series of bars, each with a techno-beat music track. It reminds me of someone who visited one of the New York area boutique hotels and thought they could replicate the experience, however had never had any practical experience doing so.
The real killer is the flamenco entertainment bar/restaurant in front of the hotel. Imagine loud...I mean really, really loud, that doesn't stop until 2am officially, but unofficially carries on until 3 and even 4 am. I like a party as much as the next person, but come on...
And finally, the pool and roof top area. Please. The website makes it look like a dramatic, contemporary, sexy destination. In fact, it's poorly constructed, under construction, and cheap. A huge disappointment.
So, in closing; this hotel needs to decide if they are, in fact, in the hotel business, or, if they are a series of bars with people sleeping overhead periodically. They've demonstrated they can't do both effectively, so pick one!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Norcalcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

This hotel is young, trendy and in THE perfect location. We were one flight of stairs from the wonderful terrace bar and restaurant. The experience was FUN!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

No one can argue with the location of this hotel - right across from the cathedral and easy walk to the shopping districts and Barrio. But walking into the hotel feels like entering some kind of chi-chi nightclub or high end spa for "beautiful people". We waited at reception for a good 10 minutes before anyone even acknowledged us, even though there was no line. Our room was spacious enough, but it had no view (the window looked out on an interior stairwell) and the layout was strange. The toilet and shower were separate enclosed stalls, both with doors that opened directly into the sleeping area, and the tub was front and center in the room, so you could enjoy the view of it from bed. Let's just say that if you're planning to stay here, I hope you like lots of naked time with your traveling companion, because there is little/no privacy. Maybe that's a plus for some. As others have said, there was no place to set your toiletries in the shower. There was also only one small mirror over the sink (which was also open to the bedroom), so only one person could get ready at a time. And the room had NO CLOCK. I found that very annoying, especially as I was trying to adjust to a time zone change. We asked the staff for a clock, and also for facial tissue, and they were unable to provide either. For $200 euros I thought the room was overpriced and the service was lacking.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luna33mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#4 of 177 in Seville
2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Gran Melia Colon
Gran Melia Colon
#7 of 177 in Seville
2,487 reviews
Las Casas de la Juderia
#35 of 177 in Seville
2,832 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Eurostars Sevilla Boutique
Eurostars Sevilla Boutique
#56 of 177 in Seville
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EME Catedral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EME Catedral Hotel

Address: Calle Alemanes 27, 41004 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Seville
#32 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#40 Romantic Hotel in Seville
Price Range: £130 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — EME Catedral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EME Catedral Hotel a Boutique Hotel located in the historical centre of Seville, in the Santa Cruz neighbourhood, right in front of the Cathedral and the Giralda, just some steps away from the shopping area. As a result of the restoration of fourteen typical sevillian listed houses from the XVI century, the urban resort has 60 rooms and an excellent gastronomic and leisure space with restaurants, cocktail bars, wellness spa, outdoor swimming pool and outstanding panoramic terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your EME Catedral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eme Fusion
Eme Fusion Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing