We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - Except the restaurants”
Review of EME Catedral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
EME Catedral Hotel
Ranked #49 of 176 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Angers, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel - Except the restaurants”
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We spent 4 nights at the hotel.
On the positive side:
- The location is incredible! With a swimming pool and a terrace right in front of the cathedral. You can't find a better place.. You can have a drink at night on the terrace while watching the cathedral. It's magic!
- The hotel is very modernly furnished and even if it's quite surprising at first, it is definitely very well arranged and decorated.
- The spa is well equiped and confortable. We didn't try the massages but the steam bath and the (second) pool are very nice.
- The people are friendly and try to do their best, even if it's definitely not perfect. Sometimes, you'll need to ask 3 or 4 times for something but at the end, it's ok.
- The rooms are well equiped and confortable. Be aware that they might not have a window on the street or on the cathedral, even for Deluxe rooms. You'd better check with the hotel that your room has the view you want...
- The hotel is clean.

On the negative side:
- The restaurants. There are 4 restaurants in the hotel: 1 japanese, 1 gastronomic, 1 tapas, and 1 one the terrace.
We tried the last 2 ones. It's not acceptable. The tapas are not good, expensive and you'd better like fat...
The restaurant on the terrace is even worse. They charge 55€ (without drinks or coffee) for a meal that you wouldn't pay 10€ in any other restaurant.

To conclude: The hotel is perfect for a 3 days trip in Sevilla but have your lunch/ dinner outside the hotel. There are many good restaurants in Sevilla to avoid paying too much for something not worth.
But you must try the Caïpirina on the terrace...

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regis1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    412
    187
    113
    101
See reviews for
117
853
25
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

We are just back from Seville and while this hotel may be centrally situated its location is overshadowed by the lack of consideration and assistance to guests .
Reception was the worst .........total lack of interest ......... .We had booked a room with a bath but were sent to a room with a shower . It seemed that they were doing us a big favour "allowing " us to change rooms . Our friends travelling with us has to move rooms also, during the night ,as not only did their air-conditioning not work properly but there was a horrendous smell of bad drains in their bathroom which got progressively stronger as the night wore on.They had to move rooms at 2pm it got so bad....... needless to say no help from the staff to move!!!!! The roof bar staff were incredible , it was as though we were not there ..............we waited 20 minutes the first day to order a drink and the second day there was nobody to serve drinks,there were no sunbeds and again it seemed too much trouble to the staff to provide any service to the "paying" guests.
The only upside to our visit was the restaurant where we ate one evening ,the food was excellent .
The bedrooms are small and dark and chains hanging on a rail are the cupboard!!!!!!!! it seems if you can design something quirky but totally impractical you can charge extra.
One of the nights we stayed there was a function on the roof terraces and we were restricted from the roof terrace to sunbathe during the afternoon, some strong word later and they relented and opened the access to the roof terrace !!!!!!!! we are only guests.
If we return to Seville we will give this hotel a large bodyswerve................. overpriced and with staff who seem to have no understanding of the meaning of service and customer care.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ericYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

I give you this, the hotel its pricey (but I think its worth it), and the rooms are odd shaped (but they are beautifully designed) ,I have to say this hotel its truly a work of art.

The combined spaces of almost 10 different buildings (houses in the old part), the truly breathtaking views to the Giralda, the chick and plush ambiance, and most of all the indisputable best location in Seville, make this very unique hotel a truly fantastic spot

If you stay there YOU MUST GO to CASA ROBLES an amazing restaurant just around the Corner, with one of the best seafoods I have tried in all my trips.

And of course please have a glass of sparkling in the roof overlooking The Giralda in a warm sevillian night

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveljhonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glencoe, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2010

We were just shocked reading some of these negative reviews. This was one of the nicest, most memorable places we stayed during a two week trip in Andalucía. First, even the negative reviews concede this hotel is an arm’s length from the Catedral, you can see the roof deck and swimming pools from the Moorish/ Gothic tower. Second, no two rooms are alike and the whole place is made up from a restored 500 year old building and parts of other buildings. We found our space soothing and cool. Third, maybe the restaurant in the hotel isn’t worth the dough, but there are 50 choices within a 60 second walk once you leave the front door. Fourth, we liked the staff.

The 79/187 ranking on TA is baffling. We checked out of another Seville property early so we could stay here an extra night. The 75 square foot exercise facility is a little cramped, but we have seen worse in midtown Manhattan. It was hot in August and we enjoyed some cold drinks on the roof deck taking in the unforgettable view. We think some of the negative press written about EME Fusion is way overdone. Two thumbs up from this crowd.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kindlycritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2010

We stayed in this hotel for our honeymoon and its was the most disappointing experince I have ever had in a hotel.
The hotel is in a fantatstic location in a beauitful City and what looks like would be a great choice for our honeymoon turn out to be a complete waste of money, The service is non exsistent and all of the staff are far to busy to bother looking after their guests. Even when we complained to the manager and a promise they would turn our stay in to a good experince for us, they did nothing. I really would recomend you stayed somewhere else and just pop to the roof top bar for a drink one evening.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katy57London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2010

Found this hotel on booking.com. It was the perfect location with a rooftop pool looking straight at the cathedral. The rooms are ultra hip and modern.. the only thing is that they were a little dark. Breakfast selected was great for a European hotel.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eatingoutSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

First, the good news; the hotel's location is spectacular, within 100 meters of the Cathedral and the Jewish bario. Now, the rest of the story...
The hotel, unfortunately, is a poor attempt at creating a trendy boutique hotel in a more traditional Spanish destination. The staff says all the right things, but execution is sadly lacking. Every request is dealt with as if it's the first time anyone had ever made it. Basic questions about some of the area attractions are met with a 'deer-in-the-headlight' look. The staff's goal is to get rid of you as quickly as possible. In short, make sure you've completed 100% of your homework PRIOR to arrival. Even the most basic question will stump the staff and leave you frustrated.
Our room had no electronic key card, so we were given the master hard key. All well and good, except that security is a notorious problem there and all that stood between us and anyone wanting access to our room was an easily duplicated key. While we were assured it was a temporary problem, our three day stay never saw the promised electronic solution. Ours was one of the premium categories; I can only imagine what one of the discounted rooms experience would be!
The hotel is made up of a series of bars, each with a techno-beat music track. It reminds me of someone who visited one of the New York area boutique hotels and thought they could replicate the experience, however had never had any practical experience doing so.
The real killer is the flamenco entertainment bar/restaurant in front of the hotel. Imagine loud...I mean really, really loud, that doesn't stop until 2am officially, but unofficially carries on until 3 and even 4 am. I like a party as much as the next person, but come on...
And finally, the pool and roof top area. Please. The website makes it look like a dramatic, contemporary, sexy destination. In fact, it's poorly constructed, under construction, and cheap. A huge disappointment.
So, in closing; this hotel needs to decide if they are, in fact, in the hotel business, or, if they are a series of bars with people sleeping overhead periodically. They've demonstrated they can't do both effectively, so pick one!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norcalcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#3 of 176 in Seville
2,019 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Eurostars Sevilla Boutique
Eurostars Sevilla Boutique
#52 of 176 in Seville
835 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Gran Melia Colon
Gran Melia Colon
#4 of 176 in Seville
2,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Dona Maria
Hotel Dona Maria
#63 of 176 in Seville
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EME Catedral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EME Catedral Hotel

Property: EME Catedral Hotel
Address: Calle Alemanes 27, 41004 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Seville
#27 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#40 Romantic Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — EME Catedral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EME Catedral Hotel a Boutique Hotel located in the historical centre of Seville, in the Santa Cruz neighbourhood, right in front of the Cathedral and the Giralda, just some steps away from the shopping area. As a result of the restoration of fourteen typical sevillian listed houses from the XVI century, the urban resort has 60 rooms and an excellent gastronomic and leisure space with restaurants, cocktail bars, wellness spa, outdoor swimming pool and outstanding panoramic terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your EME Catedral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eme Fusion
Eme Fusion Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing