We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but no cigar!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vineria San Telmo

Vineria San Telmo
Ranked #41 of 2,573 Restaurants in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good, but no cigar!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Having read the reviews of Vineria, our expectations were quite high, but I think that the hype has got to them. Don't get me wrong, the food is excellent, but it's not just the food that makes for an enjoyable experience.

The constant traffic noise and the interuption of second rate musical performers takes its toll. It's a bit like Christmas, you get one verse of a second rate performance, then a knock on the door for a handout. That was followed by people wandering around the tables begging. Sorry as I might feel for them, wrong time and place and no intervention from the staff.

My feeling is that the Vineria blows very hot then warm. Mostly the food is very good, but some dishes just don't come up to the same standard. The prices are reasonable, but not amazing and the service is adequate. They missed several opportunities to offer more wine and to suggest extra courses. We ended the evening elsewere for dessert.

This is a good restaurant, but there are over 700 more in Seville. Don't just go to the top rated 2 or 3, live dangerously and find your own hidden jem.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,170
    915
    293
    86
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

Top tapas in Andalucia....our first restaurant in Spain and it was memorable. Had the foie gras, king prawn carpaccio, chicken with raisins....all spectacular!

Helpful?
1 Thank ga1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

This place is a must, one of the best restaurant's my husband and I have ever been to, we cannot rave enough...try the foie, try the croquets, have some wine, quail eggs, potato omelette, the tuna, the foie and mushrooms! Grilled pork...well, everything we tried and saw coming out was delicious and tasty looking..the food was awesome and the price was very reasonable, 8 course and a bottle of wine, all for $50 euros, we ordered only the tapas sizes and they were good portions.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Singhs_BnD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place, precise food, excellent service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

My spouse and I were looking for a good tapas place in Seville and found this amazing place. The tapas are traditional but with a touch of modern cuisine. The products are of high quality and the service was great. We followed the waiter's suggestions: fried shrimps, black spaghetti with squids, lamb with rice, duck with potatoes and portion of bull's tail. Each portion was better then the other.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Naamast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Buzzy place, imaginative tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Lively tapas restaurant with bigger dishes too. Some interesting and imaginative variations on tapas dishes - all well flavoured and good portion sizes (we were advised by a waiter not to have the full-sized portion of one dish - it would be too big. He was right - even the half sized was big!). Service generally good and all the waiters seem to speak excellent English. Sometimes it feels like it's teetering on the verge of chaos but never quite. Its essential to book for almost any evening. Comment from one waiter - "Every day is like Saturday here".

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank greenspecs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vineria San Telmo also viewed

Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to Vineria San Telmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing