We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Spain”
Review of La Azotea

La Azotea
Ranked #29 of 2,683 Restaurants in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$52
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Spain”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The fact that Azotea is not listed as the best restaurant in Seville shows that you sometimes cannot trust the internet as far as you can throw it. My girlfriend and i have been there every year for 4 years running and it is always the culinary highlight of our year (we usual time it for our anniversary). This year i can compare it to amongst others, visits to the Fat Duck, Dabbous and Andina, all good restaurants but i'd trade a visit to all three to one evening at the bar in Azotea. The commitment to ingredient and to cooking and preperation not to mention the best service i have encountered in Spain (not a high bar to better in fairness) is astounding. I have stuffed and drunk myself silly at the bar to the tune of 50 euros a head and usually have to be rolled in to a taxi and carried to my hotel room groaning. Sometimes i have dreamt about the pig cheek, razor clams, seared tuna. my mouth is watering as i type.

Eslava gives them a run for their money but only they are anywhere close to the experience. I have not found their equal in Barcelona or Madrid. Do Not Miss this restaurant if you are Seville. It is just, simply, a no-brainer. Share my love.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abensie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,072
    387
    101
    28
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Weekend in Seville”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We visited La Azotea restaurant on a Saturday night and arrived just as the shutter was opening. Our party consisted of eight people and the waitress asked how many was in our party, which allowed her to arrange our table for the meal. I must say i have never experienced a restaurant to fill up so quickly. The rest of the experience in the restaurant was fantastic. We sampled 7 tapas and we all had a main course and several bottles of wine. Our waiter Daniel was a perfect host and had patients of a saint!! Would we go again? Yes, Yes, Yes!!! Thanks again

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wwm2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Cool, modern Spanish food”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We had an excellent meal trying out a few of the dishes on the Menu. The place is busy so go there early to get a table, or else you can sit and dine at the bar. Some of the dishes are classic, just with a bit of modern touch to the presentation, while others are a little more creative, but everything we tried was made from good ingredients and technique.
We also went to another branch (Bar Azotea) and had equally excellent food there, so their standards are consistent.
This is an excellent choice if you want to stay away from the numerous overpriced and less than average tourist traps scattered around Seville.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank amiscell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent ”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful and very tasty modern tapas, small restaurant, great atmosphere with very friendly, helpful staff. Loved it. Can't wait to return

Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Tapas”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Loved, loved, loved this restaurant. The tapas were great, the wine delicious and the service was wonderful. Try the mini clams with artichokes- I'm still salivating over them!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eml012881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Azotea also viewed

Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to La Azotea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing