We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“off the beaten track”
Review of conTenedor

conTenedor
Ranked #27 of 2,687 Restaurants in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$52
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: ConTenedor is a slow food restaurant , who cares the origin of their products, many of which come from organic farming. Many of our dishes are km0 , ie , its ingredients come from local producers and have been produced sustainably with the environment. Our menu changes every day almost entirely , keeping the concept fresh cuisine made ​​with fresh produce . Here you can find everything from salads made ​​with vegetables from the garden, until fish flakes a day , to homemade pasta, meat and Iberian or our popular crispy rice ... They enjoy !!
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“off the beaten track”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

If you want to have dinner in a diferent ambiance try this restaurant which faces São Luis church.Comfort food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deuseana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    841
    275
    79
    32
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Andalusia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Imaginative, mouth-watering, fresh, well-presented...(read on)”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Seville has so many great eateries that it takes something really special for a restaurant to stand out and be noticed... and contenedor has it. In spades!

Freshly sourced seasonal produce provides the basis. Imaginative ways of preparing and presenting the resulting fare is what comes next. This is followed by attentive, helpful and friendly service. Did I mention attentive? Well I meant to.

The tables are plain, but this background suits the eclectic mix of tableware that your food is presented on. And there's a nice distance between tables so (unlike many other places) you don't get a feeling of being "hemmed in".

The wine list is well sourced, broad and affordable... and the staff know what to recommend to those only just getting to terms with the many Spanish wines on offer. Memory tells me the beers and other drinks were well represented too.

Daily specials? Yes. Every mealtime has its special offers, so this is a restaurant you won't be tired of returning to.

Are we returning? Yes. With some more foodie friends. We bask in the reflected glory of making this recommendation — why "reflected glory"? Well, we had nothing to do with the work the contenedor and its team put into making this place so wonderful: we just reap the rewards.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MikTheViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A highlight of our visit to Seville”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We enjoyed a truly excellent meal at Contendor in May 2014. The restaurant was very casual, fun and eclectic--a nice atmosphere for a long meal. The food is incredibly fresh, based on whatever is available that day in the market. We particularly enjoyed the crispy rice with squid and squid ink, and we still talk about a dish of seared, chilled venison, which was one of the best plates of food I've ever eaten. In all, an excellent meal to remember.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A real experience, not just dinnner. ”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Would recommend this quirky, cool resaurant to anyone, but especially to someone who likes to try something a little different. The flavours they put together are delicious, I have never had a dish that wasn't excellent!

Helpful?
Thank lucyjta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The food was excellent and ingredients fresh. The duck was incredible and possibly one of the best meals I have eaten (just don't tell my Italian mother-in-law!)
It was so good we returned a second time.
I wouldn't change a thing about this fab place. Bravi!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mamarome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed conTenedor also viewed

Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to conTenedor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing