We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel but experience spoilt by Noise ! no sleep ! crazy traffic !”
Review of Hotel Dona Blanca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Dona Blanca
Ranked #127 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Im a very truthfull reviewer and it actually hurts to have to give this property only 3 out of 5 but i have to base my review on my personal experience .
The staff at the hotel where superb . They where really accomadating and very helpfull on helping us book extra's like tours etc . Check in was swift and professional . The hotel is immaculate . spottlessly clean , we had a triple room which was very small but furnishings where decent and in good condition . The bathroom was decent quality a bit worn around the edges but spotless as where the towels and toilet . they supply shampoo and bath gel and there was great supply of hot water . However the sockets in the room where in a poor condition . one actually hanging off ! The area where the hotel is situated is great in that its only 10 mins / 15 to the old quarter but its surrounded on each side by very busy roads . There was a constant stream of traffic including buse's 24 hours a day . scooters and horns beeping . we had a side view room and buse's would pass directly under our window every 5/10 minutes up untill 1 am . One of the reasons is the bus station directly across the road which in some aspects is a bonus but there where three of us in the room and all three of us had very little sleep due to the noise of the traffic . the street cleaners who do an incredibly good job sweep the streets in the early hours using big trucks and again the noise was very disturbing . im not a light sleeper normally but it really bothered me . I felt after 4 days of hard slog sightseeing that i needed another break to recover ! t
he double glazing helps but even with the shutters down and windows closed the noise was pretty loud .we never really heard any of our neighbours just the traffic .
The area iteself is bustling with cheap shops and the supermarket across the street is superb quality and very cheap for water , drinks snacks etc and cheap pastrys for brekky . For great tapas you cannot beat La Bodega on plaza Alfalfa we had some fab food in there and it was amazingly cheap 5 tapas and 4 beers sitting down on the tapas side was 15 euros ! its 5 minutes away from the hotel.. often very busy but worth it ! you can also go in the resteraunt side and just order media porciones easily enough for 2/3 people average plate 6 euros ! desserts where superb ! best place for breakfast was cafe de indias on mendoza going towards plaza espana 2,90 euro for coffee , ham and cheese toasty and fresh squeezed orange ! we also had good tapas in bar europa .
seville is a huge city and i would recomend doing the tour bus especially if your mobility isnt good . research all day trips and tours some are very poor quality for money especially the flamenco nights we heard a lot of people who where not very happy at the prices they had paid for half rate shows . We did the amazing arab bath house aire de seville which was 35 euros including a 15 minute massage which was an amazing experience . the reviews here on trip advisor are 100% correct . we loved it .Also the cathedral at 8 euros entrance was pretty spectacular . I think the hotel Dona Blanca has a lot going for it . The price was very reasonable , it was clean and tidy with very helpfull staff but for us it was just the noise that became a problem and just watch the traffic at all times in seville ...its a little crazy to say the least ...and noisy ...they are trying to make the city more pedestrianised hence a lot of building work and roadworks .. seville is a very pretty city but also a very big and busy city ..i would go again just for the food and some unusual shopping oppurtunitys . Its very cheap to eat out and drink compared to other major european citys .. i did like the don blanca but lack off sleep stopped me from giving this hotel a better rating . let me say this the management cannot be faltered and price wise its a really good buy for central seville . just be prepared for the traffic noise and you will be ok ... might take earplugs next time !

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judithchalmers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2011

The hotel is situated right in front of a bus plaza, so it is easy to get on a bus if you need to take an occasional break from walking, or to two stops later you are at the Renfe train station. There are plenty of local cafeterias within five minutes for breakfast. Be sure to have plenty of churros in Seville, they are not the same elsewhere!! Sapia is nearby and I liked their churros better than Pilar. We ate at El Colmado when we first arrived due to a late flight--avoid it for food. Drinks are fine, but the food is mediocre.

The rooms were a comfortable size, mattresses on the firm side. Be sure to bring soap and your own toiletries because you only get a packet of liquid shower gel/shampoo.

Even near the busy plaza, I could still sleep, although Saturdays were a little noisier from the passing pedestrians. The windows open so it is nice for ventilation, and when they are closed, they shut most of the noise out. If you are a light sleeper, it may be a good idea to bring earplugs just in case.

The staff was cordial and patiently answers your questions. What kept me from rating this as excellent was that for the first two of our four night stay, despite having the do not disturb sign (which is multilingual!), the housekeeper still came in. This was problematic as my husband was sick with a stomach virus (most likely caught on the flight over) and was sleeping the second day, so essentially she woke him up. The third day I saw her in the hallway and I asked her to not go in the room and she asked if there was anything that we needed. When we checked out she asked if he was better, which was very thoughtful.
Overall, this was a fantastic value for the rate. My mom was in another room, and she felt very comfortable, too. They have someone at the desk (it seemed) 24 hours.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lololas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Having read the good reviews we had no hesitation in booking this hotel and we were not disappointed.The location is great,just far enough away from the tourist traps to allow you to mix with the locals in the bars and restaurants.Very handy for the bus terminus to and from the rail station.Cafe next door a bit expensive but we used the small self service cafe on the other side of the bus station and enjoyed cheap and very tasty tostados with the locals on their way to work.We went to Granada for a few days and the hotel let us leave a suitcase there until we came back which was very helpful.Very happy to recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank caroleandkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

The hotel was great value for money - we checked others whilst in Seville and couldn't find anything as cheap. The rooms are clean and the beds comfy. It is great for just getting your head down and it does what is says on the tin. The reception staff were welcoming and helpful. Whilst the location is a short walk from the Cathederal it gives you a good oportunity to check out a couple of plaza's and a few tapas bars en route. The hotel is tastefully decorated with a spanish feel. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank matt999west
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

We stayed for 2 nights in mid-June.The staff were very helpful on arrival when one of our group required an English speaking doctor.They made many phone calls to locate one within walking distance and provided a Spanish-English dictionary to take with us in case of language difficulties. The rooms were small but perfectly adequate and clean.There was also free wifi. The downside was the lack of breakfast, although there is a cafe next door and it was just a little far from the areas we were visiting, especially at night.I would still recommend this hotel for a well priced, new and clean place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PennyT117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

I don't remember her name, but the person who helped me reserve flamenco tickets was amazing! I asked about a particular show, and she suggested another venue and offered to make reservations for us. She said it was cheaper, less touristy and more authentic. It turned out to be a perfect flamenco experience. She helped me with a few other things, too.
The hotel itself was clean and quiet (if you ask for a room on the upper level and away from the noisy square). There was free wi-fy in the lobby. The location could have been closer to main tourist spots, but there was a bus stop and taxi stand outside the hotel. The restaurant adjacent to the hotel served a great breakfast and lunch with outdoor seating.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gonetravelinrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Small but rather conveniently located. about 15minutes walk to the Cathedral, 25 minutes (slow) walk from train station and 10 minutes to the old city walls. Only 5 minutes away from Convento San Leandros where you can buy Yemas from the nuns! Very tasty.

Hotel room was small but immaculate. Only downside - no handsoap provided and soap and shampoo were provided in little ketchup-like packets. But there's a supermarket just across the street. Good for buying essentials lik water and handsoap. Next to the hotel, there is a fantastic cafe to have breakfast and snacks/drinks. Over the road, behind Santa Catalina church, Gerona road, is a great place for tapas - El Rincocillo.

Wifi was not bad. Coverage was not good as it couldn't reach the rooms on the 2nd floor. But there was a nice courtyard to sit in to access the internet.

Overall lovely, simple and with no major problems. Service was good as well. Allowed us to have a lovely time in Seville. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waterbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Hotel Don Pedro
#94 of 177 in Seville
300 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Baco
Hotel Baco
#115 of 177 in Seville
287 reviews
Hotel Abril
#76 of 177 in Seville
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Goya
Hotel Goya
#36 of 177 in Seville
504 reviews
Hotel Londres
#122 of 177 in Seville
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dona Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Blanca

Address: Plaza Padre Jeronimo de Cordoba, 14, Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Price Range: £35 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Dona Blanca 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Dona Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing