We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt too far from the action”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apartamentos Metropolis Sevilla
Ranked #28 of 169 Speciality Lodging in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

I had a ground floor apartment that was well equipped with kitchen and cooking utensils however I was disappointed with the location. It was a half hour walk to the main sights. The wifi was not very reliable.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IvetteGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

First, they lost our booking. We had no apology from the staff. Second, we were given a double room when we had requested a twin. Third, the apartment had cockroaches, and when we complained the reception staff were not very helpful and basically told us we'd have to put up with it. We eventually moved to another room which didn't have cockroaches. But overall the service was very poor. I would avoid these apartments.......

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank halleybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The apartments are great – clean, quiet and cosy with a fridge, a cook and utensils (no washing machine though). The staff at the reception (which is not 24 hours) spoke excellent English and communication was easy. The man at the reception who registered us was really helpful and kind. We were travelling with our touring bicycles – the man helped us with the luggage and the bicycles to get them into the room (there is a lift which is great!). There was no problem to keep the bicycles in the apartment - the space was enough. So, the Apartamentos Metropolis Sevilla are bicycle-friendly and suitable for people travelling by bike. Also, there were plenty of flyers with all kind of tourist info such as where to eat, flamenco shows, etc. The location of the apartments was also great – close to the city centre with the main attractions such as the Cathedral, Alcazar, etc. and at the same time walking distance to other very interesting (but less popular) tourist sites to the north such as Macarena Basilica and Camera Obscura. On the roof of the apartments there was a cosy sun terrace where you can sunbath or simply enjoy the wonderful views towards the city. We definitely recommend the apartments!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polyksena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Good hostel. We were upgraded to the nearby apartments which were clean and roomy. Reception hours at apartments are only 9-3 but we were able to use the 24 hr reception at oasis down the road. Internet didn't work must the time we were here, which was disappointing, especially as we needed it to book onward travels.

Adequate towels, and toilet paper for a 4 day stay. Great cooking facilities too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shellyanne61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I recently stayed in one of the Apartamentos Metropolis Sevilla's 'Loft' apartments, for a 6 day break in the City of Seville. I booked because it was cheaper than most hotels in the City, and the location was very good in regards to everything we wanted to do.

Upon arrival, reception at the Apartments was closed - however, from the email communication from themselves we already knew this and proceeded directly to the Hostel a few hundred metres down the road to pick up our keys. The Hostel is well signposted with banners hanging in the main street indicating where we had to go. The receptionist there was friendly enough, and soon I had my keys and they provided a map to show us how to get to the Apartments.

Getting there was easy, and they were situated in a very quiet back street which was nice. Rooms are easily lettered and upon arrival I was pleasantly surprised to see that they were actually quite spacious. Inside was a Kitchenette with hob, microwave oven, fridge freezer and a sink. Nearly all utensils were provided, except a Kettle which was a big let down as nearly all hotels come with these.

The 'Loft' had an open plan Kitchenette and Sofa/Table in one room, and a bed around the corner separated by a wall. The bathroom was well sized and featured everything you would need. Some people have complained that there is no room service here - however, I did not find this to be a problem as I had around 10 toilet rolls on the rack and two towels for my 6 day stay. Absolutely adequate!

The ability to self cater to a certain extent was fantastic, as it meant I could have breakfast and lunch at a greatly reduced cost and this saved me a lot of money. The facilities in the kitchenette were all modern, as was the entire complex as I believe it is a relatively new development. The only downside is the noise levels - the ceramic flooring makes the complex very noisy, as every Apartment is around the central courtyard. The perspex windows next to the door also let in a lot of noise. One morning I was awoken by a loud decorator at 7am who based himself right outside my apartment and started painting the walls, whilst listening to the radio and whistling along. Not the wake up call I desired!

I also found the lighting to be inadequate - nearly all the lights were 'energy saving' but they were too dim. My Apartment only had 1 window, looking onto the Courtyard, so my room was very very dark most of the time (even during the middle of the day!) - perhaps investing in some brighter energy saving bulbs could help. The lighting in the public areas was operated by switches, and at night none of the lights are on which makes it a little difficult to get around! They could perhaps be operated by sensors rather than switches, and the switches should also be labelled to avoid pressing an Apartments doorbell rather than a light!

This aside, I really enjoyed my stay at Apartamentos Metropolis Sevilla, and would consider staying here again should I need accommodation in Sevilla. It was only ever a 20 minute walk (maximum) from all the main sites, and was located right next to Plaza de Armas for Supermarkets and eating places. The roof terrace was also a nice addition and provided us with a nice place to sit and have drinks. I would however say, that only opening reception from 9-3 or 10-2 is a bit of an inconvenience, but the welcome at the Oasis Hostel made up for that.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DMTaylor90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We booked these apartments for an absolute steal of a rate, under £200 for 5 days. We weren't expecting a lot for this but were impressed at the overall standard.

We missed the reception closing time on our arrival (09:00-15:00) on weekdays so had to take a short walk to the Oasis hostel to pick up keys, this was all done promptly and with a smile.

The apartments themselves are all in a self contained block that is completely secure. There is an outer door that is open during reception opening times, otherwise it is closed along with a second internal intercom door, which all occupants are given keys to. The apartments themselves double lock.

On entering the apartment we found ourselves in the lounge area, which had a large sofa bed, with table and chairs, and a TV, as would be expected, this was all Spanish channels, however there are several radio options available, Europa FM was on for us most of the time which plays current chart music. There was a small kitchenette, bathroom with powerful shower and then through to the bedroom where there was a small double bed. This is all open plan, however the bedroom is around a corner so a little more private.

The apartments are heated and air conditioned throughout, controlled individually from a panel where you can adjust temperature etc, this was a massive plus for us, and anyone staying during the hot Seville summers should consider this as it was very effective. More effective than many good hotels that we've stayed in.

The kitchenette itself had a fridge with freezer box and a two ring hob. We were slightly disappointed which the lack of a toaster, which a friend staying in an apartment on the first floor had, which we found a little odd. It was more annoying since there was no grill or alternative way of toasting, whilst an annoyance, it wasn't too much of an issue and we otherwise made do with the facilities we had. You will have to boil water on the hob or in the microwave, not too much of an issue but again, a relatively inexpensive item that could enhance the experience for future guests.

The bed itself was perfectly adequate, we found it a little on the small side for two of us, but it wasn't a deal breaker. A good nights sleep was had every night. There are two built in wardrobes that are large in size.

The bathroom was small but had a powerful shower and everything you could need.

If you head up to the very top floor, you will find the roof terrace which I imagine is very nice during the summer months. There are a few sun loungers and some tables & chairs. Even this time of year we struck lucky with some warm days and sat up having a few beers and relaxing, it is of course illuminated at night via a switch by the door.

We didn't have any maid service during our stay, but we weren't expecting any during a short stay, there's a broom and a mop inside one of the wardrobes should you need it. We left our towels under one of the heating/AC outlets and they dried off with no issues.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here, if we were to return to Seville we would without doubt book these apartments again. The price is fantastic for the standard you get, the location is also relatively central.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kdhurst380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We booked a room in the Oasis Backpacker's Palace and they offered us if we wanted more privacy to use one of the apartments at Metropolis ... good choice.

The location was good ... quiet, etc. Close to the Plaza de Armas bus station. It was not in the hustle and bustle of the center of the city but was close enough to walk to most locations of interest especially the Plaza de Toros, Torre de Oro and the Giralda.

I recommend this to those looking for a quiet, middle-of-the-road price option.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank METRUN360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Bib-Rambla Apartamentos
#102 of 177 in Seville
158 reviews
Casco Antiguo
NH Sevilla Plaza de Armas
Casco Antiguo
Petit Palace Canalejas Sevilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Suites Sevilla Plaza
Suites Sevilla Plaza
#5 of 169 in Seville
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Metropolis Sevilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Metropolis Sevilla

Address: Calle Bajeles 16 | Near Plaza de Armas Commercial Centre, 41002 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 169 Speciality Lodging in Seville
Price Range: £42 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Metropolis Sevilla 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seville! Falling out of your front door right into the heart of the historical center, minutes away from the famous cathedral Giralda, best Tapas & Flamenco places and the hippest Nightlife area. Welcome to Metropolis Apartments! A new concept of apartments to make you feel at home while in Seville let it be for work or vacation. The perfect place to bring your family, right in the centre of Seville only walking minutes away from all mayor sights- we even supply you with a baby cot free of charge. Yet close to the mayor roads that connect Spain with Portugal and a car park only 200m away. We offer you a fantastic accommodation to sum up your perfect holiday here in southern Spain! Our apartments opened recently and are modernly designed and completely new equipped! The lofts are spacious and have huge windows to get you the most out of Sevilles 320 days of sunshine. If thats not enough for you, access the roof terrace for a full portion of sun or a sunset over Sevilles skyline. Our apartments are either studio style (1 bed room for 2 persons) or our bigger apartments for up to 4 people (1 bedroom + 1 sleeping couch) or our penthouse apartments that caters up to 6 people in 2 bedrooms + 1 sleeping couch. Should you require anything else, please contact our friendly reception staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apartamentos Metropolis Sevilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing