We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty kitchen, disorganised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Babel Hostel Sevilla
Ranked #87 of 154 Speciality Lodging in Seville
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Dirty kitchen, disorganised”
Reviewed 25 June 2011

This hostel had friendly staff, air-conditioning (vital in Seville), and free internet. But the kitchen was kind of grimy, and there was no hot water - you had to boil water to do dishes etc.

Re. the activities that the hostel was supposed to organise, e.g. flamenco dancing, we spoke to one guy in the morning who told us what time to be ready at reception, when we came down at that time there was a different girl, who told us there was no organised flamenco that night. Although they were both friendly, it was frustrating. Also, we got some laundry done, and they gave us back the wrong stuff, and then only half of our stuff.

Our room was fine, shower pressure was good, and the air-con was a lifesaver. I think some of the slats on our bed were broken, but it actually wasn't too bad to sleep on. Also the bathroom was so small that you had to sit sideways on the toilet, but otherwise fine.

The thing that made a really bad impression though was that on our last night, a family was staying and they let them use the common space to have a party, and invite a lot of non-hostel people. It seemed unfair on the other guests; it was crowded and noisy and we couldn't use the common area or the kitchen.

Definitely wouldn't be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esthercharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    24
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
2
17
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

David and Angi were great! We appreciated the invitation to a free flamenco show on Friday night. The staff was very friendly and helpful with getting us bikes and giving us advice. Hostel was in a good location. We preferred the Alfalfa area for nightlife for folks closer to our age- 30ish. Almade de Hercules had great tapas and appeared to appeal to the hippie/artistic crowds. Excellent value. Free internet!

Room Tip: Room 15 for the quietness, but aware the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoyerTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

I stayed here with 2 friends for 3 nights in April, and thank god it was no longer than that! We're students in our early 20s so we don't have very high standards in general, but it doesn't take much to be clean, and this place certainly wasn't!

We walked in the the hostel (which isn't the easiest to find, we needed to take a taxi to get there!) and the reception was a tiny office that looked like a storage cupboard. The smell of paint wafted through the building throughout our stay. There was dust everywhere & paint flecks as they are still renovating and have just opened for business- though why you'd open before it's fully ready is beyond me. A large pile of air conditioners lay stacked in the entrance for the entirety of our stay.

We were placed in a four bedroom ensuite dorm on the first floor up. The beds were ok, the sheets were a bit grimy and had a few stains on, and the bathroom was the worst of all. Hardly any ventilation, we had to leave all the doors and windows open when we returned to our room every day to air it out. There was rust in the bath tub, the floor didn't look like it had ever seen a mop, the bidet was broken and the toilet sit lid wouldn't stay upright unless you held it in place- awkward! The wall attachment to hold the shower head was also broken, meaning you had to hand-hold the shower, making it difficult to wash your hair. The hot water had also basically run out by the time the third person in our group got around to showering.

There is also a canary in the reception area which sings very loudly whilst you're trying to sleep. The bells from local cathedrals are also quite loud, as the room is in no way soundproof!

I wouldn't stay here again if I returned to Seville (though it's unlikely I ever would, I didn't enjoy it much), I think the standards might be fairly low throughout the city however so you mightn't do much better. The staff were nice and friendly, and there was free wifi which was probably the highlight of our stay here. Things might pick up in a few months once the renovations are finished, though I think the bathrooms could do with gutting & building again from scratch.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starlet13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We stayed 4 nights at HostelOne Sevilla and we left with the sensation that we have payed too much for a poor accommodation. Maybe that's because me and my girlfriend had opted for a double room with private bathroom – probably the evaluation of the dormitories is better. The room had space enough for two people, but the tiny bathroom was a problem. The biggest problem, however, was the (lack of) cleanness. Our bed sheet was very dirty and full of stains... The location is fairly good, 15 minutes walking from the center.
The best thing about the Hostel is definitely the staff. All very sympathetic and helpful, gave us good tips about places to visit and even took us to a local tapas bar and flamenco night.
Probably a good option for solo young travelers, but definitely not the best option for couples looking for a double room...

Room Tip: Avoid the double room with private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrazilianTraveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

We loved it there, great hospitality. Slightly out of tourist area, but we loved the location near to lots of local bars and just nicely to the side so you not in the middle of it. Just one complaint, the kitchen is too small, much too small. Only adequate for about 4 people, but near to 40 people using it. I would stil recomend it, ans seville as well, much rather than barcelona.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie_botha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

Hostel One Sevilla is great. I had a bed in a 4 person room with a bathroom in the room. The room, and the whole place actually, were very clean. The bathroom in my room was cleaned everyday. The shower was great, lots of water pressure and hot water. The beds were comfortable and came with their own light so you could read in bed without disturbing anyone else. The over all atmosphere of the place was quiet and peaceful. The kitchen was great. I loved being able to cook my own food. The staff are great! I can't say enough nice things about them. They took us out to at night to places to drink and to see flamenco and music. They also give free maps and help you find places to get food or whatever you need. The hostel is about a 10 minute walk from the Sevilla Cathedral and the Alcazar. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer-of-SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2010

This hostel won a Hostelworld award form best astmosphere in Dec 09. I would say it still has a great atmosphere. The host, Ariel, is a real character - fun and knowledgeable about the city. The record player, canary or guitarist in the hall adds to the flavour, without disturbing anyone who wants a bit of quiet in their room.

The rooms are clean with large lockers. The location is near a square with lots of restaurants which are popular with the locals (try Casa Paco). Free internet available on five computers.

All in all great value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sal82_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Sevilla Inn Backpackers
Sevilla Inn Backpackers
#33 of 154 in Seville
340 reviews
Samay Hostel Sevilla
#49 of 154 in Seville
280 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Trotamundos Youth Hostel
Trotamundos Youth Hostel
#137 of 154 in Seville
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Luxe Hostel
#15 of 68 in Seville
194 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Oasis Seville
Oasis Seville
#14 of 154 in Seville
320 reviews
La Flamenka Hostel
#16 of 154 in Seville
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babel Hostel Sevilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babel Hostel Sevilla

Property: Babel Hostel Sevilla
Address: Calle Jesus del Gran Poder 113, 41002 Seville, Spain (Formerly Hostel One Sevilla)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 154 Speciality Lodging in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Babel Hostel Sevilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing