We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not excellent.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Palacio de Villapanes
Ranked #6 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 March 2011

We stayed there a few nights. Here are our assessment:

Pro's
- location. 15 min. walk to all the main attractions. The walk to & from is safe, through interesting narrow alleys. Need a good map and a good sense of direction to navigate. The hotel map was not accurate which caused us a bit of frustration.
- Staff, no matter front desk, porters or waiters are very professional, pleasant and personal.
- The best rain shower and a long bathtub.

Con's
- Dark inside. We requested a deluxe room with a big window after reading some of the reviews. However, it was still very dark. Here is why. For the size of the room, one vertical window simply does not provide enough light. Worse still, the room only has very few lights, all of which, either very small or indirect or hidden. The reading lamp by the couch cannot be turned to provide more targeted light for reading. It is rather unpleasant to stay in the room during the day, and it is pain to read in the evenings.
- The room has hardwood floor. So it doesn't absorb noise. The door opens directly into the staircase to the courtyard and has a gap underneath. The hotel likes to have music on in all common areas. There is almost no escape to it. We could hear the music in the courtyard from our room through the door gap. Though the staff were always nice enough to switch it off, but it pained us each time when we had to request it. The music was a mix of all kinds. We certainly didn't enjoy listening to some acid jazz the 1st thing in the morning at breakfast when we merely wanted to start our day peacefully.
- The design of the room is chic but compromised on functionality, such as the lighting and noise issue mentioned above. Further, there is no towel rack for the bath towels, only a tree, but not idea to dry the wet towels. No entry closet. You have to pass the room and bath area to hang your clothes. The hotel should get their money back from whoever designed the rooms.

We will try a different hotel the next time.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chic2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,043 - 1,049 of 1,626 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2011

We have just returned from a delightful break at the palacia and in seville. The hotel is gorgeous- really tastefully decorated while retaining a lot of original features. The service was attentive but not overbearing- we mentioned that we had escaped the kids for an anniversary treat and when we arrived home that night cava and fruit awaited us- a much appreciated touch.

Our room was spacious with a great shower and the most comfortable bed- it was like sleeping in a large marshmallow. Loved the touch of the free mini bar too....

Beautiful courtyard for a recline and a drink- the drinks and food menu appeared wide- although a gin and tonic was 10 euros versus 5 up the street in santa cruz bars. Cant really comment on the food as we didnt avail of breakfast, preferring to go for a jog round the city and stop for a smoothie at the cathedral. We didnt use the spa although it looked great (but only opens 3pm plus- mind you we probably would have used it if it had been open in the morning).

There are probably only two minor down sides if I had to be really picky
- one is getting home via the windy streets after an evening out- thank the lord for google maps on the iphone in the abscence of bread or pebbles a la hansel and gretel! Its about a ten minute walk to the main areas- cathedral, santa cruz etc. However once we got the hang of it (night three) it was fine. Plus the hotel offers a welcome respite from a busy city so the location also has its pluses.
The other queury is the roof top pool- it was closed when we were there due to security reasons- I noticed that on previous reviews this was the same. It would be important to know if the pool will be working for the summer months as seville can get really hot....

All in all loved it....

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlustbelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

From the moment we arrived, the staff is very attentive and aware of our stay . Their breakfast is beautiful & delicious- but expensive( if you are a light eater).20 euros.
Beds are very comfortable, rooms and bathroom are very clean and welcoming. The entire facility is so charming and unique with different patios to lounge in and feel as if only you and just a few guest are around.
Definitely I recommend and would be the place I return.
It is hip and memorable- large part of what will make Sevilla memorable.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kidneyFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Fine old building with rooms redesigned in a modern style, possibly too dark for our taste. Heating was not working well and the room was very cold.
Excellent service from the reception staff of which there were always at least two on duty.
Breakfast area was in the basement without any windows and the food was good though minimal. Safe parking available at extra cost.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

The ratings were true, what a magnificent hotel. Elegent, historic and gorgeous while being fully state of the art. The staff were all attentive and extremely interested in ensuring a great visit to Sevilla and were at our service at all times. Unlike other hotels of this calibre, they include free wifi and minibar which is stocked with assortment of cold drinks - a very helpful and appreciated inclusion in the tariff after days of enjoying Spanish sun. Also amazing is their TV set up which allows you to bring your Apple cables and hook up your personal content to watch a movie at night or what not on a brand new 42 inch LCD screen. This may seem trivial to some but try doing that at other 5 stars that manipulate the TV with their own system so you have to pay 30 Euro to watch movies you have seen months ago. Ultimately, everything they do is first class (from BVLGARI ammenities in the room, fresh juice at reception, IMAC for free use in the library (yes what a nice place to relax)) to the already mentioned. Every dollar we spent of the hotel we received extremely high added value and top level service. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canmex23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Would have no hesitation in recomending this hotel to anybody. This is an 18th century private mansion of a Marques which has been restored to become a stunning hotel. Beautiful building, lovely relaxing bedrooms with all comforts. It has wonderfully relaxing soft plush bedding and towels, a king size comfy bed, amazing shower (rain shower, jets and hand held) in a prettily tiled wet room. The minibar is free and replaced daily and unlike other reviews we experienced no problems with it being reflilled. There is a turn down service every evening with lovely chocolates given!

The decor in the hotel and bedrooms is beautifully traditional but modern all at once, something the Spanish are so good at! Everything in this hotel has attention to aesthetics.

Didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on that as we prefer to explore the numerous tapas restaurants and cafes around to experience local life.

The staff are professional and friendly and speak fluent English and are very helpful.

The location of the hotel is perfect, lovely and quiet but a short walk to the beautiful old town of Seville.

I have travelled all over the world and am relatively fussy but I really enjoyed this hotel and lovely Seville.

P.S. writing my review from the hotel using the free wifi!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonMandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

We enjoyed our 4 night stay in a standard room. The hotel is nice, probably more of a good 4 star than a 5. This might sound picky but a lot of the good reviews on this site are based on superior rooms, not standard rooms. A few negatives, room was small, dark with a strange layout. Tv plonked in front of the window, electrical sockets wobbly, room service lying in hallway all day, having to ask staff to refill mini bar, soaps etc...not really 5 star treatment. However, on the plus side, comfy bed, great location, friendly staff, fantastic large shower. I would recommend it but the standard rooms are very, um standard given the cost of our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Casco Antiguo
Gran Melia Colon
Gran Melia Colon
#7 of 177 in Seville
2,433 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#4 of 177 in Seville
2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Boutique Hotel Casa del Poeta
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 177 in Seville
4,458 reviews
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio de Villapanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio de Villapanes

Address: Santiago 31, 41003 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Price Range: £175 - £906 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palacio de Villapanes 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the historic Barrio de Santa Cruz, next to the vital center of Seville city, raises the Hotel Palacio de Villapanes, a shining jewel with all its splendour preserving its barroque legacy, at the same time it will transport you to the Mudejar time, inviting you to become a part of history. Built in the XVIII century for Mr. Manuel Lopez Pintado, the first Torreblanca de Aljarafe Marquis, it has been excellently renovated, maintaining its architectonic richness. Turned into a Luxury Hotel, its classical elegant style combine perfectly with a distinguish ambience, where you will be able to let go your five senses, enhanced by the fusion amongst modern design and andalusian culture, to discover and experience the most authentic Seville. Once you cross the entrance , you discover the experience of a Palace life, breathing all the contrasts and getting lost in the privacy and exquisite delight of its magnificent mudejar patio where you will be able to enjoy a welcome drink and let time go by with the best company. Each and every corner of the hotel invites you to relax and romanticism, standing out the magnificent marble and stone arches and columns , also the splendid height of its ceilings, the carpet like parquetry floors or its enormous noble wooden doors, showing the beautiful past power combined with exquisite furniture pieces from international designers. You will get lost in a sea of sensations, with its minimal design, exclusive warm and cozy luxury suites equipped with the latest technology to satisfy the most demanding guests who are looking for the delight of small intimate and personalized spaces created to dream in its balconies which caress the light over the Giralda and la Catedral de Sevilla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palacio de Villapanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing