We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palacio de Villapanes
Ranked #6 of 175 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A charming hotel”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Just back from 5 nights staying here in Seville.

The entrance to the hotel is impressive. From a tiny side side you walk up marble steps through a huge open door in to a beautiful open courtyard, with a fountain at its centre. A calming oasis from the heat of the city. Walking through in to a more central courtyard, with tasteful sofas, chairs, tables and sun umbrellas. Sour orange trees, plants and herbs made this a peaceful place to have a drink and relax. However the tiled floor needs some repair work done and the soft furnishings are a bit tatty and need replacing. We also found that you had to keep going back to reception to order drinks, as there was not any other staff nearby. I also agree with previous comments about the roof terrace. It is an amazing space and a great sun trap. But not very inviting, with uncomfortable sun loungers, a tiny plunge pool and one token Bourganvillia. It needs better quality sun loungers/sun terrace furniture and some plants to make it a 5* space.

Our room (322) was lovely. A very comfortable bed and pillows plus and a very large shower.The mirrored shiny black tiles in the toilet were odd. Who wants to see yourself sitting on the toilet? We could also have done with more hanging wardrobe space and there were not enough drawers. We found room to be very clean. Towels, dressing gowns and sheets changed every day.

We mainly had breakfast at one of the many local establishments. A five minute walk away - turn right out of the hotel - and left at the end of the road. We had the traditional orange juice,coffee and toast for less than 6 euros for the two of us. We did have the hotel buffet once, which did have some great hot and cold selections. But at 20 euros each, felt this was way overpriced. Not really value for the money charged.

This hotel is a good 10 minute walk through the side streets to the bustling tapas bars/restaurants near La Girlada, Seville Cathedral etc. It took us 2 days to learn a route, as the side streets all look the same!

Other top tips - the big tour groups(and there are a lot!) all seem to meet in the morning to look at the main attractions. The queue for the Cathedral was really long every morning. But after lunch it was much better. We went about 2.30pm and it was fairly quick. Also remember to take cash as they do not accept card payments!

All in all we had a really good trip, but I think they have a way to go before they become a 5* hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,160
    328
    73
    22
    9
See reviews for
206
1,077
40
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We really enjoyed AlmaSevilla Palacio de Villapanes. As soon as you enter, you can only be impressed by the Palace and its patio. The service was attentive, and very friendly. The bed was so confortable (perfect mattress, you can sleep for hours). We also enjoyed the spa (sauna and showers). A great experience for a people seeking a quiet and unique time in Seville!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Professor75_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

After a crazy drive through the city, we could this piece of heaven. It is quietly grand the moment you get inside.
Staff was super helpful with suggestions .
Room was luxurious with own private patio
inside courtyard, away from The city noise was perfect for a book, or glass of wine.
The bed is rated in my lifetime top 5!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anniecurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have just returned from a three day visit to Seville and stayed at the Hotel Palacio de Villapanes. Apart from a little difficulty finding the hotel as the taxi from the airport just dropped us at the end of the road and told us it was just down the road, and then charging us €32 for a short trip from the airport, things improved considerably. The hotel itself is really lovely with a delightful courtyard reception area and then a fantastic terrace with orange trees to the rear of the hotel. The rooms were a good size and very well equipped. We had booked a Deluxe room and Grand Deluxe room. In fact the Deluxe room was brighter and nicer than the Grand DeLuxe but both were very good and the beds were extremely comfortable with fantastic goosedown pillows. We would have no hesitation recommending it to any visitors to Seville as it is within easy walking distance to all the tourist sights and yet very quiet and secluded.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CassieDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portmsouth uk
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed four nights in room 321 a deluxe on 3rd floor, well appointed rooms great comfy bed and bedding. Air conditioning ok but may struggle in the main summer months. Free wifi but not strong enough signal in this room for Apple devices - too often faded in and out. Great shower but the lighting in the bathroom and toilet cubicle is not bright enough.

There was a shared terrace outside the room with sun beds and parasol.

The free mini bar including a half bottle of Manzanilla is a nice touch.

The communal areas are lovely and the staff make the effort to go a little extra.

The roof top terrace is a bit spartan but it wouldn't take much to make it spectacular, having said that we had it to ourselves a few times late in the afternoon and the plunge pool is just about big enough and a godsend in the heat.

Overall this is a nice place to stay and once you get your bearings the location is good, very walkable to the train station if you want to head off to Cordoba, Jerez etc.

There is a free spa with sauna and a few other bits but the Hamman was not working when we were there

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itspog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blueys Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

A gorgeous hotel located in a restored Moorish Riad courtyard style palace. The service here is impeccable, customer satisfaction a top priority. We were happy with the location and did not mind the walk to the main attractions.

Our room rate did not include breakfast and the additional charge was high so we opted to eat elsewhere. This is a very expensive hotel and particularly so for us as we spent almost a month travelling around Spain as part of a six week overseas trip. When I saw the pictures of Hotel Palacio de Villapanes I just had to stay there. My expectations were high but because this was a special choice I was prepared to make allowances.

We were shown to our Deluxe room which overlooked the inner courtyard and were very happy with the room but did notice it needed a retouch with paint. We were unpacking our things when I discovered the taps on the vanity were leaking and after maintenance had inspected the problem we were moved to another room we were told was a Grand Deluxe which opened on to a balcony. This room was very similar to our original room with a different configuration but was not an upgrade. The bed had a wonderfully comfortable mattress and pillows and the room was very nice but there was not enough lighting. I'm not sure that it was worth the 5 star hotel price tag.

We prefer a bath tub and would normally expect one in a hotel at this level. The wet room had a fantastic rain shower but it leaked and flooded the vanity bathroom area which was separated from the bedroom by plush curtains. We had to mop the floor on both mornings even though we reported the problem to the front desk.

When we checked out I mentioned that once again our bathroom had flooded "like a pond" despite having reported the problem the previous day and told it had been rectified. We appreciated the decision to not charge the 30 euros per day parking charge as a show of goodwill.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Beautifully upbeat and modernized hotel in a very good location, with a solicitous staff who offer personal, friendly service, does not quite measure up to its very high price but is aspiring to be a five star hotel. Little things go wrong, and they are readily corrected, but we sense that more experience with more demanding guests, and more attention to detail will be needed before attaining their aspiration. King size bed? Well, really two twins pushed together without singular bedding or stable foundation so separation at extremely awkward times may occur. Soap? Just ask for it and you will receive the best ... But shouldn't it be there without asking? Breakfast in the executive suite? For a mere 40€ more, it can be had. Compare this experience with say the Westin Palace in Madrid or El Palace in Barcelona, or our new favorite Convento di Amalfi ... Not even close, and all are about same in price.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveBauman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Gran Melia Colon
Gran Melia Colon
#5 of 175 in Seville
2,309 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Casco Antiguo
Boutique Hotel Casa del Poeta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#3 of 175 in Seville
2,051 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#9 of 175 in Seville
4,183 reviews
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio de Villapanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio de Villapanes

Property: Hotel Palacio de Villapanes
Address: Santiago 31, 41003 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 175 Hotels in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palacio de Villapanes 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the historic Barrio de Santa Cruz, next to the vital center of Seville city, raises the Hotel Palacio de Villapanes, a shining jewel with all its splendour preserving its barroque legacy, at the same time it will transport you to the Mudejar time, inviting you to become a part of history. Built in the XVIII century for Mr. Manuel Lopez Pintado, the first Torreblanca de Aljarafe Marquis, it has been excellently renovated, maintaining its architectonic richness. Turned into a Luxury Hotel, its classical elegant style combine perfectly with a distinguish ambience, where you will be able to let go your five senses, enhanced by the fusion amongst modern design and andalusian culture, to discover and experience the most authentic Seville. Once you cross the entrance , you discover the experience of a Palace life, breathing all the contrasts and getting lost in the privacy and exquisite delight of its magnificent mudejar patio where you will be able to enjoy a welcome drink and let time go by with the best company. Each and every corner of the hotel invites you to relax and romanticism, standing out the magnificent marble and stone arches and columns , also the splendid height of its ceilings, the carpet like parquetry floors or its enormous noble wooden doors, showing the beautiful past power combined with exquisite furniture pieces from international designers. You will get lost in a sea of sensations, with its minimal design, exclusive warm and cozy luxury suites equipped with the latest technology to satisfy the most demanding guests who are looking for the delight of small intimate and personalized spaces created to dream in its balconies which caress the light over the Giralda and la Catedral de Sevilla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palacio de Villapanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing