We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome hotel!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palacio de Villapanes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Palacio de Villapanes
Ranked #6 of 179 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Palacio de Villapanes (with my boyfriend) for a total of 3 nights and it was absolutely amazing all around, from the beautiful airy lobby as you walk in, to the gracious service, the lovely rooms and of course, the yummy breakfast! We even got upgraded on our third night upon our return from a night spent at a hacienda outside the city (for a wedding) and were treated with little fruit cups and a nice note in the room.
The hotel is not amidst the hustle and bustle of the city, but is instead in a quieter part of Santa Cruz, which made it very relaxing to stay there. We walked practically everywhere, and used our map to guide us. Part of the Sevilla experience is getting lost in the criss cross of the streets, so it's quite charming to stay in a part that's slightly more removed so you can also also experience the beautiful architecture of the buildings. To the cathedral and Alcazar it was a 15minute walk, and about 15minutes to the shopping area (El Corte Ingles, little shops, etc). The bull ring and nightlife on Betis street nearby are about a 30-35 minute walk and we ended up taking an 8Euro taxi back one night, so it won't break the bank.
The rooms are quite modern and serene, and give a slight nod to Sevilla (like the reading lights in the shape of bull horns, and the blue tiles in the bathroom). The beds and pillows are SO comfortable, and the best part is that drinks (water, juice, soda, etc) from the fridge are complimentary, which was great because with sunny, 40 degree (Celcius) weather we went through quite a few bottles of water. I could write a chapter on how incredible the shower experience is, as it too was used quite often given the weather. There was also a beautiful tub in the upgraded room, but unfortunately we didn't get to use it. The amenities are great as well (Malin + Goetz) and the bathrobes and little slippers they offer really make you feel at home.
The staff could not have been more gracious, and we certainly kept them extremely busy, with getting recommendations for restaurants, sites around the city, booking nail and hair appointments for the wedding, booking our car rental, helping us get out of a police fine for parking in a quasi-illegal spot (!), storing our luggage on our night away (which, to our delight was already in the room when we returned). They truly excelled at customer service, and really made us feel very welcomed.
The breakfast was very good, and the highlight was the self-serve Nespresso machine, which assured us our coffee would be good! There were a few gluten free options upon request, fresh juices, yogurts, fruits, a variety of pastries, marmalades, etc. They also had an a la carte menu from which we ordered omelets (it wasn't clear that there was an extra charge for this until we saw the bill, but it was minimal-4€ each- and worth it!)
All in all, I wish there was a Hotel Palacio de Villapanes in every city we visited, but if we ever make it back to Sevilla, that's definitely where we'll stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rimsky447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,077
    315
    70
    22
    9
See reviews for
187
1,015
38
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is such a beautiful hotel with very attentive staff. We arrived in Seville on a very early flight so we went to the hotel to drop our bags and we were pleasantly surprised when they told us we could check in now and use the room since no one was in it: it was the BEST thing ever! This doesn't happen, at no extra cost, in most hotels even if the room is available. We were able to catch up on sleep so we were not walking the streets like zombies! Furthermore we receive a room upgrade!!! The staff were very friendly and helpful, helping us with things to see in the city, where to eat and also with booking activities and meals (they have good addresses).The style and decor of the hotel is beautiful: it is an old palace that has been really well renovated. The breakfast was good. There is a plunge pool at the top of the hotel which is a decent size. The room itself was big and beautifully decorated. The bed and sheets were perfect!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlienAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel and I'll say it was a nice hotel. Service, room, staff, and location were good.
Bathroom was a little dark but otherwise a very pleasant stay.
Small plunge pool on deck was a plus.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iyabo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hotel is an old mansion turned into a beautiful hotel , the rooms are all different with each their charm , the bigger rooms on the 1 floor are amazing . Some of the rooms are having their own terrasse wich is very pleasant . The Staff is very accomodating and very helpful . It was pleasure staying there . The price is correct and good value for your money and within walking distance from all the things you need to see in Seville .

Room Tip: 330 has it's own private terrasse
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlotteW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here with our 2 year old. The hotel is gorgeous. If you ever wondered what lies behind the walls of those palatial mansions, then peek into the Alma Sevilla and their courtyard. The room was beautiful and clean and a bit too pretty for a toddler, so we had them remove some of the more fragile tables, etc. Also, the french door windows were easy to open by our daughter, so we had to be a bit more "on" That being said, it's not supposed to be a child oriented hotel, and we made the best out of it and are delighted we got to stay there! The staff was very accommodating to all 3 of us, and very patient with a little girl running laps in the courtyard before sitting down for her chocolate milk. Location is great, walking distance to all the main sights and some great parks.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had high expectations of this hotel. The building is beautiful and the location is great. Very close to the center. You can walk to all of the main monuments or take a taxi for just a few euros.
The room and bathroom are very dark. We thought the bathroom wasn’t very clean. Stains on the black tiles and the ceiling also full of strange yellow stains. Perhaps they had leaks.
A very nice courtyard, but no service at all and the furniture definitely needs an upgrade.
We didn’t have breakfast here, because we thought it was too expensive, 40 euros for 2 persons. Just walk around the corner and you will find a lot of alternatives. We went to Catalina Casa de Comidas on the Plaza Padre Jeronimo de Cordoba, where we had nice breakfasts for only 8 euros the person. Also a great place for tapas.
The hotel is overrated, not worth the money I’m afraid.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KDMNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina C, Director General at Hotel Palacio de Villapanes, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments which help us to improve the quality of our facilities and service.

I am very sorry and wish to apologise because you were given a GranDeluxe superior bedroom with some small yellow patches on the ceiling and wall in the bathroom.

This is an XWIII century Palace and sometimes we have this kind of problems with the change of season but we fix it up as soon as they are detected by our housekeeping department.
This was an obvious failure and I will make sure that it cannot happen again.

Regarding service in our patio, this is a quiet time in Seville and maybe the fact of not seeing many other guests made you think that there was nobody to serve, though there is always someone going round.

Shall you happen to come back to Seville, please write to me directly to make your booking, I will personally take care of you.
With my sincere apologies and thanking you again for your comments, please accept my

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel because most of the hotels in Seville are pretty old looking. This one has a plus feel and the front desk staff is excellent... however the location is not that ideal and one can get lost pretty easily.

Also tried their restaurant... it is not that great (they overcooked my steak!), the restaurant across from Alma is way better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayloverSG79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Gran Melia Colon
Gran Melia Colon
#4 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Boutique Hotel Casa del Poeta
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#3 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
Corral del Rey
#2 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Las Casas de la Juderia
#32 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio de Villapanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio de Villapanes

Property: Hotel Palacio de Villapanes
Address: Santiago 31, 41003 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 179 Hotels in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palacio de Villapanes 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the historic Barrio de Santa Cruz, next to the vital center of Seville city, raises the Hotel Palacio de Villapanes, a shining jewel with all its splendour preserving its barroque legacy, at the same time it will transport you to the Mudejar time, inviting you to become a part of history. Built in the XVIII century for Mr. Manuel Lopez Pintado, the first Torreblanca de Aljarafe Marquis, it has been excellently renovated, maintaining its architectonic richness. Turned into a Luxury Hotel, its classical elegant style combine perfectly with a distinguish ambience, where you will be able to let go your five senses, enhanced by the fusion amongst modern design and andalusian culture, to discover and experience the most authentic Seville. Once you cross the entrance , you discover the experience of a Palace life, breathing all the contrasts and getting lost in the privacy and exquisite delight of its magnificent mudejar patio where you will be able to enjoy a welcome drink and let time go by with the best company. Each and every corner of the hotel invites you to relax and romanticism, standing out the magnificent marble and stone arches and columns , also the splendid height of its ceilings, the carpet like parquetry floors or its enormous noble wooden doors, showing the beautiful past power combined with exquisite furniture pieces from international designers. You will get lost in a sea of sensations, with its minimal design, exclusive warm and cozy luxury suites equipped with the latest technology to satisfy the most demanding guests who are looking for the delight of small intimate and personalized spaces created to dream in its balconies which caress the light over the Giralda and la Catedral de Sevilla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Palacio de Villapanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing