We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deservedly Number 1 in Seville”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Palacio de Villapanes
Ranked #7 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Would have no hesitation in recomending this hotel to anybody. This is an 18th century private mansion of a Marques which has been restored to become a stunning hotel. Beautiful building, lovely relaxing bedrooms with all comforts. It has wonderfully relaxing soft plush bedding and towels, a king size comfy bed, amazing shower (rain shower, jets and hand held) in a prettily tiled wet room. The minibar is free and replaced daily and unlike other reviews we experienced no problems with it being reflilled. There is a turn down service every evening with lovely chocolates given!

The decor in the hotel and bedrooms is beautifully traditional but modern all at once, something the Spanish are so good at! Everything in this hotel has attention to aesthetics.

Didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on that as we prefer to explore the numerous tapas restaurants and cafes around to experience local life.

The staff are professional and friendly and speak fluent English and are very helpful.

The location of the hotel is perfect, lovely and quiet but a short walk to the beautiful old town of Seville.

I have travelled all over the world and am relatively fussy but I really enjoyed this hotel and lovely Seville.

P.S. writing my review from the hotel using the free wifi!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonMandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,605)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Palacio de Villapanes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,033 - 1,039 of 1,605 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2011

We enjoyed our 4 night stay in a standard room. The hotel is nice, probably more of a good 4 star than a 5. This might sound picky but a lot of the good reviews on this site are based on superior rooms, not standard rooms. A few negatives, room was small, dark with a strange layout. Tv plonked in front of the window, electrical sockets wobbly, room service lying in hallway all day, having to ask staff to refill mini bar, soaps etc...not really 5 star treatment. However, on the plus side, comfy bed, great location, friendly staff, fantastic large shower. I would recommend it but the standard rooms are very, um standard given the cost of our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

We stayed in Room 223 which is classed as Grand deluxe. The room is large, clean and modern with a separate bathroom area and off that a shower room and toilet. The bath has no area to put soap etc. so everything ends up in the bath! Between the bedroom and the bath area there is a desk but that is right next to the bath with no door separating it which is rather strange. The bedroom overlooks a pretty courtyard and is nice and quiet except that they play 'muzac' all day which is annoying if you have the window open. The beds are very comfortable and the bedding good quality. There was no specific area to put suitcases so they ended up on the chair or on the desk which we felt would damage them. The first night the air-con was set at 19 degrees which was far too hot for us and we had to have the window wide open overnight. After asking for it to be dealt with that evening we had to wait until the next day after we made it very clear that it had to be dealt with urgently and they set it at 16 which was better. It would appear that the controls in the room are not capable of being adjusted by the guest which is crazy for a 5* hotel. We had to ask twice for the free mini bar to be restocked and also for the tv to be reset to allow us to view all 50 channels to include English ones rather than the 10 we encountered on arrival which were all foreign. There is no info in the room about the area or nearby restaurants and we were continually in the very small reception asking questions or getting things sorted out in the room. The staff are friendly and helpful but don't wear name badges so you don't know their names when referring to them. One male member of the reception staff with glasses was particularly helpful.

The area the hotel is situated is not in the main tourist area which was not a problem for us and we walked to the Cathedral, river etc. with ease. Seville is a delightful town with lots of alley ways to get lost in and some beautiful buildings to see. We felt completely safe all the time and were not worried about walking around at night. We visited the Casa de Pilatos just because it was so close to our hotel on our last morning and it was well worth the visit. There were long queues to visit the Cathedral even in February. You can get discounted entrance fees to many of the sights if you are over 65 and can prove it with a passport etc. We did not have our passports on us on the first day but did have our London Council Freedom Passes which were accepted.

The hotel recommended the Becerrita restaurant to us and many other guests for dinner. We were not very impressed with it as we had to send back the fish as it was uncooked in the middle and some of the bread rolls were very hard. It has very small rooms and with just one or two other tables you can easily hear their conversations. Their prices were very high for the quality of food. We didn't use the hotel's restaurant which is in the basement. We never saw anyone in it as you can see the tables from the street as you pass by.

I would recommend this hotel but would advise to check the room carefully to ensure that everything is to your satisfaction especially the heating. It is such a pity that this was not done for us which was a disappointment and not what is expected for a 5* hotel. We paid £581 for the 3 nights which is very expensive. With a little more care and attention to detail this hotel would deserve to be highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beefjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

I'm a little late in writing this review because life got in the way but I wanted to rave about the Alma. We went last summer and we loved it. It was so unique (it was once a palace) and our room was spotless with great decor. And the bed was really comfortable, too. There was some issue with the air conditioning one night, so they don't get full stars for sleep quality, but that could happen anywhere. I loved the staff - they were so nice and helpful, although they did direct us to a restaurant nearby that was not so great. The hotel is not in the heart of the action, but it's not far, which means it's quiet - it's only about 10 minutes by foot to the Cathedral. This hotel was exactly what we wanted - super clean, quiet, friendly, low-key, with great decor. Overall, this was a fantastic experience, we loved Seville, and I would stay again or recommend it in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wheats19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Just returned from a wonderful trip to this hotel.

Location:
Great location just on the outskirts of Barrio Santa Cruz, its maybe a 7-8 Min walk to the Cathedral.

Reception:
Quite possibly the most helpful reception staff i've ever encountered. All the staff I met were fluent English speakers and were extremely eager to assist without being intrusive.
While checking in they realised I was celebrating a birthday whilst in Seville, within 5 mins they'd arranged for champagne & cake to be delivered to us while we checked in.

Room quality:
We stayed in a room on the lowest tariff at the hotel, the receptionist did say she thought the room was the best on that tariff so perhaps my view point is slightly skewed. The actual room was very impressive, featuring a king size bed, lounge area & bathroom with separate shower and toilet rooms. I would have called it a mini-suite but was on the tariff as a normal room.
The bed was incredibly comfortable, quite possibly the best i've ever slept in while staying in a hotel.

Parking:
Expensive @ €30 a day, but the choice between valet parking or having to struggle through Seville's tiny streets trying to find a cheap car park was easy to make.

Internet:
Didn't work for the first 12 hours of our stay. Worked perfectly after that, seemed fast and the wifi single was fine right up to the top floor.

Breakfast:
Didn't try it as at €20 I think its expensive, plus I much prefer to get out into a city and experience breakfast in local places. I highly recommend trying Alfalfa bar (5 mins walk) for breakfast. Their tostados's & cafe con leche were amazing.

Spa:
Enjoyed the sauna a couple of times during the trip, always very quiet and calm in the spa area.

Seville is a truly beautiful city, I cannot recommend it enough. If you want a wonderful place to stay I highly recommend you stay here.

Final Comments:

Really try and visit Alfalfa Bar for breakfast & La Bodega for Tapas (almost next door to Alfalfa, always crammed with locals).

One final mention must go to Malaga Car Hire as well, I've visited Andalucia many many times and used them a number of times but I think its finally struck home how good they are. They are located next to Malaga airport I can highly recommend their service, English speaking staff, great prices & reliable cars.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUIUHTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

A big thank you to the staff who couldn't do enough for us especially when my wife had a migraine and they dashed to the chemist for us and not a single legal disclaimer in sight. Christina deserves an extra special thanks - her personal restaurant recommendations were great. We were forced to use the little Spanish we had and not rely on menus with translations.....or worse pictures. We would also never have found that wonderful Flamenco bar without her guidance. Hiring a little bike is a great way of seeing a lot of the city very cheaply. A classy hotel with a lot of character and Alma ("soul")

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dastardly1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2011

A real palace, with an imposing entrance facing another palace. Gorgeous patio. Very friendly attentive service. The room was large with a modern bathroom: great walk-in shower, bathroom combination on gorgeous wood/granite. Very well designed.

All around terrific restful stop in a very special high class place .five stars for us .

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patter060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Casco Antiguo
Gran Melia Colon
Gran Melia Colon
#6 of 177 in Seville
2,385 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#4 of 177 in Seville
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Boutique Hotel Casa del Poeta
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 177 in Seville
4,371 reviews
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio de Villapanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio de Villapanes

Address: Santiago 31, 41003 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Price Range: £179 - £923 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palacio de Villapanes 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the historic Barrio de Santa Cruz, next to the vital center of Seville city, raises the Hotel Palacio de Villapanes, a shining jewel with all its splendour preserving its barroque legacy, at the same time it will transport you to the Mudejar time, inviting you to become a part of history. Built in the XVIII century for Mr. Manuel Lopez Pintado, the first Torreblanca de Aljarafe Marquis, it has been excellently renovated, maintaining its architectonic richness. Turned into a Luxury Hotel, its classical elegant style combine perfectly with a distinguish ambience, where you will be able to let go your five senses, enhanced by the fusion amongst modern design and andalusian culture, to discover and experience the most authentic Seville. Once you cross the entrance , you discover the experience of a Palace life, breathing all the contrasts and getting lost in the privacy and exquisite delight of its magnificent mudejar patio where you will be able to enjoy a welcome drink and let time go by with the best company. Each and every corner of the hotel invites you to relax and romanticism, standing out the magnificent marble and stone arches and columns , also the splendid height of its ceilings, the carpet like parquetry floors or its enormous noble wooden doors, showing the beautiful past power combined with exquisite furniture pieces from international designers. You will get lost in a sea of sensations, with its minimal design, exclusive warm and cozy luxury suites equipped with the latest technology to satisfy the most demanding guests who are looking for the delight of small intimate and personalized spaces created to dream in its balconies which caress the light over the Giralda and la Catedral de Sevilla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Palacio de Villapanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing