We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant Oasis in Heart of Seville”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Ranked #3 of 176 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Overland Park
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Elegant Oasis in Heart of Seville”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I would recommend staying in Casa 1800 if you want to stay in an elegant boutique hotel right off one of the busiest streets packed with restaurants, shops and tourists, within walking distance to the top sights in Seville. If you prefer a quieter area off the beaten path, or in a full service hotel with all the usual amenities, consider staying elsewhere. The hotel has many positives, including:
• The hotel is in a very convenient location in the middle of the action. Casa 1800 is in the middle of the Barrio Santa Cruz (old Jewish Quarter), within a couple blocks of the Cathedral and a 5 minute walk from the Alcazar, and a block off Mateos Gago, a busy street full of restaurants, tourist shops and tourists.
• The hotel is in an elegant, historic building, with beautiful rooms, hardwood floors, exposed beams, comfortable beds, and bathrooms with marble showers and granite counter tops.
• Our deluxe room was on the third floor and had a private terrace and Jacuzzi, with amazing views of the Cathedral and Giralda Tower. It was quiet and felt luxurious.
• Rooftop terrace with amazing views of the Cathedral and its Giralda Tower. The rooftop is a great place to enjoy a glass of wine and enjoy the Cathedral illuminated at night (see pics).
• Afternoon tea/coffee – at 4:00 p.m., the hotel offers complimentary coffee and tea, along with cheeses, baked treats, and cold cuts in the courtyard in the center of hotel. It’s a great place and time to relax after a day of sightseeing.
There are a few relative minor issues with the hotel that in my opinion caused me to rate it 4 stars instead of 5 stars, including:
• Efficient, business-like staff – we may have caught the staff at a bad time when we checked in, considering the other positive reviews. We found the staff efficient but not warm, overly friendly, or helpful. We did not receive any advice on how to find our room on the third floor, which was not intuitive, help with our luggage, a map of the town, or suggestions on what to see or do while in Seville.
• Very poor Wi-Fi reception except when in the lobby or inner patio. If you’re trying to disconnect from work or the internet, that won’t be viewed as a negative. If you’re trying to stay in touch with your teenage kids or review emails, it can be frustrating.
• Not enough storage space for luggage or clothes.
• Lack of bar, restaurant, business center, fitness center, and no parking at the hotel if you have a car.
• The hotel is convenient and in the middle of the action, which can be a plus or minus, depending on whether you want you hotel to be in a quiet location or in the hustle and bustle of the action
• The inner courtyard is very nice, but has too few tables and chairs. We had to wait for a table to clear to enjoy the afternoon tea/coffee.

Tips:
• Watch a Flamenco show – I can’t recommend enough to watch a flamenco show while in Seville. There are several options, but we were will forever remember the impressive flamenco dancers at Casa de la Memoria de Al-Andalus. We sat in folding chairs around a small stage within feet of some of the most amazing flamenco dancers for the show which lasted about an hour. Buy tickets in advance in Hotel Alcantara in Barrio Santa Cruz at Ximenez de Enciso 28, and arrive at least 15 minutes early if you want front row seats.
• Take a guided tour – we enjoyed Seville as much as we did because we followed Rick Steve’s advice and took three tours guided by Concepcion Delgado. She is extremely friendly, knowledgeable and informative. We took tours of the Cathedral and Alcazar, each lasting 1.25 hours, and another two hour tour walking tour of the city learning about its history and cultural. Although not critical, I’d take the cultural tour first.
• If you get tired of tapas food or just want fantastic Italian food, we enjoyed the food at Osteria l’Oca Giuliva so much we went there twice. The Italian restaurant is just across the street from the hotel’s entrance on Mateos Gago.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJDinKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,485
    382
    88
    23
    16
See reviews for
301
1,331
49
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel 1800 Sevilla was amazing. They were very responsive before we arrived. The location was perfect. The afternoon tea was yummy and unexpected. The breakfast was a perfect start to the day. And the staff was great. I'd stay here again on my next visit.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzysuzzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Casa 1800 provided an ideal backdrop for a long weekend in Sevilla because of its central location, comfortable but not overdone rooms, and superb tea room and rooftop. My girlfriend and I spent three days in Sevilla after exploring southern Portugal. We have stayed in almost twenty different hotels across Europe and we instinctively think of this place when asked "what hotel made the best impression?"

I opted for Casa 1800 based on several TripAdvisor reviews, and the hotel delivered on just about every front, including value relative to other hotel options (let's hope it stays that way; given its growing popularity, it could easily start charging more and more, and just become another expensive hotel).

1. The service was friendly, multi-lingual, and efficient. That combination is rare, and it didn't go unnoticed. I am the type of traveler that does not seek much help from hotel staff unless absolutely necessary, so typically what others would remark as 'exceptional' service can easily be lost on me. Basically, if you don't mess up my reservation and can perhaps recommend a good place to eat you have won me over. Some first class hotels with great service ratings can be intrusive, and more of a nuisance to me, so I am wary of high marks for service sometimes. (You know those places where they make a point to remember your name and say things like "Welcome back Mr. Johnson, did you enjoy your dinner at Cafe Bistro earlier this evening? Would you like turn down service? Will you be taking your International Herald Tribune at 6am or 7am?) I digress. Bottom line, excellent service. They did everything right.

2. The room was comfortably cozy, with a lavish marble bathroom and huge tub. The ceilings were high, providing an extra roominess to an otherwise standard European-sized room. The bed took up most of the room, but it was lush and provided for excellent siestas and sleeping-in. There was some noise seeping in, but if you are the type of traveler wishing to stay in the heart of a city, this probably would not bother you.

3. The location of the hotel made it possible to walk to several excellent eating options, and most of the major tourist sites, which you undoubtedly have already researched. We opted for exploring on foot and letting the streets decide what we would take in. Sounds cliche, well, it is, and it was, and it was still as good as it was supposed to be.

4. Oddly most notably for both of us, was the interior atrium of the hotel, which was both a breakfast area and tea room. The afternoon self-service tea and snacks seemed to be the perfect touch to temper the steamy street walks. Providing afternoon refreshments is not so unique, but like the rest of the aspects of this hotel, it was exactly what we wanted even before knowing what we wanted, and it was done just right.

5. Final tip: take a walk up to the rooftop and take in the view. Its not jaw dropping, but its refreshing, and pleasant, and its unique enough to enjoy it.

Recommendation for transport: Taxi to the hotel if you have several pieces of luggage. We arrived at Sevilla's main bus terminal early in the morning. It was our first visit to the city, so we opted to take a taxi to the hotel, which even in hindsight seemed to be the right decision. If you are not comfortable with Spanish, or if you think can speak it but you actually cannot (me), have the hotel name and address written down and eliminate the risk of starting off frustrated in a city that knows how to keep frustration out. Additionally, if you visit in the peak of the summer, which locals would tell you is your first mistake, walking around in the southern Spanish sun looking for a hotel sounds infinitely more romantic than it is. Your romantic walk through the streets can wait until after check-in.

Room Tip: The standard rooms in this hotel are better than most deluxe in others. If you are going to splurge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DominickGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Beautiful boutique hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Love the free afternoon tea & cakes. Excellent location, walk to everything we wanted to do. Parked our rental car in nearby parking station. Happy to highly recommend this hotel.!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juzt4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiburon, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed at Casa 1800 in Granada so decided to try sister hotel in Seville. We were not disappointed. The two are different as each is in a restored historic building (they call a house). Same afternoon tea service in their central court. Breakfast very good. Though we had a superior room, it was smaller than our room in Granada. Beautifully decorated and very nice bathroom. They do have a couple of rooms that have direct access to the roof terrace. Otherwise one can go to the roof and relax. Beautiful in the evening. Location was great, just a block from the main Cathedral. Within walking distance of most Seville sites. Many restaurants and tapas bars everywhere near..Night time was fun.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seville, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This hotel is located right by the catedral. It offers very nice rooms and service for a reasonable price. I highly recommend staying here. The staff are extremely helpful with many suggestions of what to do in the city. It was a fabulous stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cronulla, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Our stay 5 night at Hotel Casa was most enjoyable in every respect. Once you find it (I printed the booking in Spanish from Hotels.com for the Taxi driver), it starts a Seville experience to be enjoyed over and over again. The rooms are tasteful and not noisy unless you get one with a balcony. The staff are fantastic especially Eva and Ana. Nothing was too much trouble.
Everything is handy; from bars/restaurants to shopping to major tourist sites. You can basically walk everywhere except the 1992 site of the Expo (which is not that good anyway). Every alleyway uncovered another Seville delight. Dress well - everyone else does!

Room Tip: Inside rooms are quieter. We stayed in Room No 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wasu14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Boutique Hotel Casa del Poeta
Casco Antiguo
Gran Melia Colon
Gran Melia Colon
#4 of 176 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,225 reviews
Corral del Rey
#2 of 176 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 176 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla

Property: Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Address: Rodrigo Caro 6, 41004 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 176 Hotels in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Hotel Casa 1800 Seville is a boutique hotel based in a stunning building with a traditional courtyard that has retained all its charm and character while adding modern luxuries to make it a great property ideal for a city break in Seville. In a superb location, the charming hotel is situated in the heart of the old town within walking distance of the main places of interest in the Santa Cruz neighborhood. All 33 bedrooms are different in size and features and have their own style, since the old structure of the house has been maintained. All of the rooms have been fully equipped to ensure that you have a great stay, with individual furniture pieces and unique touches such as the original wooden windows and ceilings from the house. Casa 1800 offers breakfast to all guests each morning in the central courtyard of the house. Guests are also invited to enjoy afternoon tea as a courtesy of the house, a great way to bridge the gap between lunch and dinner and relax for a while after a few hours exploring the city. If you would like to enjoy the views of the Cathedral and the Giralda tower overlooking the rooftops of Seville, don't forget the rooftop seats where the pool and solariums are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing