We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gran Melia Colon”
Review of Gran Melia Colon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Gran Melia Colon
Ranked #6 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This hotel was very comfortable and the service great. Wonderful bed and linens. Delicious and beautiful breakfast. Convenient location. Be sure and check out the rooftop spa-terrific view of Seville!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,051 - 1,057 of 2,424 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

The pleasing price, a jacuzzi and sun terrace on the roof and a complaint about the complicated lighting are what clinched the deal. And did I mention bags of style? From entering the cool (in every sense of the word) lobby, I wasn't disappointed with it or Seville. Three days wasn't long enough and the offer of 30% off the next three was irresistible. Here with a friend to breathe Seville's essence as well as do some writing, the communal air conditioned spaces and the outdoor terrace on the 7th floor were perfect havens.
Set in the old part of the city, shop, Palace, Cathedral, bullring, museum, gallery, restaurant or tapas bar are all an easy walk.
Oh, and you'll have fun with the lighting - it certainly kept us entertained, we finally got them all turned out by our last but one night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Magnificent in all aspects. Safe, clean, gorgeous, perfect location to museums, excellent concierge services, lovely breakfast. Expensive YES but worth it. Frequent Western European travelers....always bring our kids...may be the nicest hotel we have ever had the pleasure of staying in. And Seville is fabulous in its own right, especially if you follow the recommendations of the staff. Colors and decor...you feel like you are in a movie. P.s. it's also worth taking a day trip to Jerez to see the horses and the wineries. But come back to this hotel at night, cause you will be spoiled.
Chose the hotel from TripAdvisor recommendation ...... we are willing to pay for piece of mind when travelling with the kids....worth every penny and would chose it, pay for it again.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Laurie046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I really wanted to love this hotel but my wife and I were completely disappointed. Our bathroom was dirty and full of mold. The mold stunk so bad that we couldnt take it any more. Also the walls were all scuffed. I went downstairs and advised them of the problem - They switched us rooms. The new room had the same problem (bath full of mold) but the smell was tolerable so we decided to stay. The problem with this hotel is that they do not pay attention to detail. The garbage can in the bath had a broken handle, all the walls are scuffed up including in the hallways...the bathrooms are full of mold....also there is an odd scent throughout the whole hotel which is annoying after the first day. Also Candido the concierge as nice as he is, sent us to eat lunch at a HORRIBLE dump called Las Piletas. I assume he is getting kickbacks from there as I see that other readers sent them there as well. We discovered on our own an amazing restaurant (open for lunch and dinner) called La Azotea which was even closer to the hotel than the nasty place he sent us AND La Azotea is not to be missed. He never mentioned this place. Check it out on trip advisor and see the reviews yourself. Last time I checked, it was ranked 6th in all of Seville. Anyway....we went to a 3 city tour of Spain and this was BY FAR our LEAST favorite hotel. I wouldnt recommend - there are other places in Seville much better than this place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jvasquez1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEVILLACOLON, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Dear Mr. Vasquez,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking your time to express your thoughts and opinions about your last stay at Gran Melia Colón. Our aim is to provide unique experiences that go purely beyond the expectations of our guests; however in your comment we can unfortunately see that this was clearly not the case.

Before going any further we would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused, each service fault mentioned in your comment has been passed on to our management team for further evaluation and improvement.

Regarding the bathroom remark, we are glad to inform you that, it is something we have been deal with already, and we are working at the moment to assure a perfect impression.

We are completely disappointed you didn’t like the restaurant recommendation. We understand that such a place is designed for certain travelers looking for a traditional atmosphere and cuisine.

Mr. Vasquez, we understand that your stay in general in the Gran Melia Colon was hardly the most comfortable, and our first intention is to change this and show you the real experience that goes far beyond one’s expectations.

I hope that you will reconsider to visit our Hotel and our Restaurant El Burladero, and look forward to welcoming you personally during your next stay in Seville.

Warm regards
Celia Martín Irazusta
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Classy hotel in all respects. Attentive service, very thoughtful recommendation and proactive help. Outstanding breakfast to boot!

Very central location, easy walking distance to pretty much all points of interest. About 10 min cab ride from the train station

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NY008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This is a wonderful, up to date hotel, in a central location in Sevilla. The rooms and baths are modern, very clean and comfortable, the staff is great, and the atmosphere in general is very pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francisco2pr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The Gran Melia is a very nice hotel with beautiful, modern rooms. The best part of this hotel is the concierge, Candido. He was so friendly and helpful. He helped us with reservations and suggested spectacular restaurants. He recommended San Marco which was fabulous and for lunch Las Piletas which is a few blocks away. I think he would've driven us there if he could!

Room Tip: I hear the rooms on the 6th and 7 floors have great views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 177 in Seville
4,441 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#4 of 177 in Seville
2,145 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Boutique Hotel Casa del Poeta
Casco Antiguo
EME Catedral Hotel
EME Catedral Hotel
#50 of 177 in Seville
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Colon

Address: Canalejas, 1, 41001 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#4 Family Hotel in Seville
#5 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#12 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range: £157 - £639 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Colon 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Melia Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Colon Hotel Seville
Sol Melia Seville
Sol Melia Colon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing