We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,796)
Filter reviews
2,796 results
Traveller rating
1,953
645
141
43
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,953
645
141
43
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred levelclarins toiletriesel burladeroburladero restaurantlight switchespremium roomconcierge servicebeautiful hoteltapasroom doorturn down servicefive star hotelhotel restaurantbreakfast was excellentcentral locationflamenco showmain sites
Filter
Updating list...
1,206 - 1,211 of 2,796 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The reason not to give the fifth star to this hotel is beyond the hotel staff's control.
There is a real shortage of windows throughout the hotel. This makes the reception area a bit dark. There are only two main lifts which means that you have to wait at busy times. The breakfast area must have been the lounge. There are too few lounges for a deluxe hotel.
Now the good points. Unfailing courtesy is a terrific attribute for all the staff. We should mention Carmen in the breakfast area who has to satisfy clientele waiting for a table. We can also mention the reception staff and the porters.The hotel is close to the cathedral and also to Alcazar. There are good restaurants nearby. Overall, this is a good place to stay. Even though the rooms are on the small side, the amenities make up for it.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DocHedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We booked a package with flights through Expedia about four days before departure for a five night break. On the dates selected there was a 'sale' which reduced the price of the accommodation and therefore I must say I was very impressed with the value for money. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting the city centre and its main attractions - we were able to walk out of the hotel and be at the Cathedral in 10 minutes and there are various shops, cafes, bars and restaurants all within a short walking distance. In addition, we took the scheduled bus service from the airport which stops at about seven different location on its way into the city; the service terminates at Plaza de Armes, which is again about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The staff were courteous and helpful and, whilst we are pretty resourceful ourselves, I am sure that if a visitor had any need for assistance with tours, travel or general enquiries they would receive first class service. The room was clean, spacious and well equipped - the bed one of the largest and most comfortable I've slept in. I would echo previous comments concerning the sophisticated lighting system in the room - it seems more complicated than it needs to be and on one occasion we needed someone to come and fix the bathroom lights when we couldn't switch them off, despite all our efforts. The general impression is of a well oiled machine, which is common of large chain hotel groups, however the two things don't always go hand in hand. We did not eat in the hotel so I cannot comment on the food but I would have no hesitation at all in recommending the hotel or staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naturelover55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayes at Gran Melia Colon for three nights in September. Our room was spacious, modern, very clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was well supplied and the shower had a strong water flow. The hotel was close to most of the sights in Seville and we were able to walk everywhere. The biggest plus for Melia Colon was the outstanding service and the only problem was the weak internet. I had to go into the hallways to send e-mails and internet-voice services were out of the question. For a hotel of this quality, the internet is a real problem and if you have to do some work you may want to consider another hotel. We are not big breakfast eaters and didn't take the hotel breakfast which was offered at the price of one for two people, there are plenty of coffee shops and a Starbucks close by.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dav00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is a 5* rated hotel that is ideally located in the centre of Seville within walking distance of all tourist spots. We stayed there for a week in early September. On entering the hotel, one is impressed by the large number of staff in the hotel so that assistance is never far away. Our room was very spacious and attractive and the bed one of the most comfortable we ever slept on. The room opened on a dark and dim courtyard which meant that we had no natural light throughout the day; presumably this is a price one has to pay in order to stay in the old part of Seville. The TV had a wide choice of channels in many languages so one could be kept abreast with the news. The room boasted coffee facilities, which for me is a huge plus! The lights are fully computerised and one has to read instructions in order to switch the lights on and off. The bathroom is very modern and comfortable and quality toiletries are available. However, there was great reluctance to replace/replenish used items; surely a shoe-shine pad and a sachet of instant coffee cannot cost all that much. The breakfast offered a wide choice of cold and hot dishes and drinks, and the staff was highly professional. Although the public spaces were very clean, our room was not hoovered daily and this is something the hotel has to address. The Reception staff and the concierge were very helpful, efficient, knowledgeable and courteous. Despite some minor niggling things, I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel; I certainly would be delighted at the opportunity of staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank COSION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This hotel was awesome! Most European hotels are fairly small but this one is huge. Two queen beds. Quality amenities and room. The staff is incredibly helpful and gracious. And it ended up being the cheapest hotel we stayed at in Spain even though it is right in the heart of everything. Can't imagine a better hotel, value and location.

For some reason the light switches are incredibly confusing but oh well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews