We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice”
Review of Gran Melia Colon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Gran Melia Colon
Ranked #4 of 176 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great choice”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is a very well appointed hotel in a good location. Front desk staff is first rate and helped us to get the most out of a brief stay in Seville. It was within walking distance of all the sights we were interested in

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank TR4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,552
    552
    123
    34
    10
See reviews for
411
1,315
61
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on first leg of our honeymoon. We were swiftly upgraded when we mentioned it was a special trip & nothing, absolutely nothing, was too much trouble. Amazing tapas in the hotel's restaurant & great G&T beforehand in the bar... we will be back :)

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

If only I had that closet space in my house!! The staff at this hotel is the nicest, most helpful bunch of people you can find - they can't do enough for you! The room was very spacious and comfortable! The hotel is situated in a perfect location; you can walk everywhere! Definitely recommended

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Y1858EHlindar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Visited October 2013 for our friend’s wedding. Red level room upgrade was spacious, well maintained and tastefully decorated with a modern, edgy elegance. We were graciously welcomed with a bottle of Cava and chocolate covered strawberries in our room - not sure if it was due to the wedding, red level upgrade or our great looks (kidding.) Attention to detail/décor was appreciated down to the exterior doors of the room. Each room’s door along the hallway was a replica of a famous Spanish painting, which added a whimsical, fun experience.

Laughed about previous ‘light switch navigating’ reviews- but while hanging out or relaxing, figure out how to turn off all lights except for the amber lighting under the molding for a chic and tranquil experience.

What I found a bit confusing, but rather hilarious looking back, was navigating the shower. My husband would turn off the water, however, he would leave a little surprise– either the manual hand held shower head or the ceiling shower head was left on - so after a few shocking, cold pressure washes to the face and full body frigid head shots - I quickly figured out the switches and/or turned the nozzle and shower head away before proceeding. This hotel (and others across Europe) seem to offer the ‘half glass’ across the shower vs. a full shower curtain or full glass door, thus, leaving the unexperienced American hiding in the corner as to not splash/soak the entire bathroom (or maybe I was on Candid Camera?) Bathtub was raised pretty high with a small stool to assist with landing, be careful. Slippers, robe, upscale toiletries, turn down with delicious chocolates offered as expected and most welcome.
Free Wi-Fi however, warning for those that need access – the entire city’s internet access was not reliable (bit challenging to keep up with work while in Seville.)

Spacious, chic lobby. Very affordable, well stocked bar (variety) and pleasing outdoor seating for casual drinks/tapas. Red level room upgrade offered a room in the lobby with free alcoholic and nonalcoholic beverages and snacks all day until late evening. Breakfast was included - enjoyable, typical fare (fruit, meats, pasties, cheeses, eggs etc.)

Charming rooftop lounging area and hot tub was an unexpected, splendid surprise! Great for day and night. Spa and gym also very nice, located just before the rooftop area.
Terrific location – walking distance to all major sites.

Entire staff was gracious, they sincerely aimed to please and were always attentive. Kudos to management. I am particular with recommendations, but I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giag21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleorton
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We spent two nights at the Gran Melia Colon and on the whole really enjoyed our stay. We arrived at the hotel a little early and reception was very busy and our room wasn't ready so we had to wait around for nearly an hour. We were given a glass of cava whilst registering and then taken to the hotels tapas bar and given complimentary drinks there, but this wasn't the best start to our stay.

However all the staff spoke English and were very attentive and helpful.

I tend ta agree with most of the other reviews, this is a very well located hotel which deserves its five star rating, but with a few minor and annoying issues; the light switches in the rooms are quite complicated to use, the sinks do splash you and the surrounding area if you turn the taps on too quickly and the showers are quite difficult to use without getting water everywhere.

Breakfast wasn't included in our room rate and cost 56 euros for two people which is quite expensive even for this type of hotel; however the breakfast itself was excellent with a wide range of options available.

The location of the hotel is ideal for exploring Seville, but not the easiest place to find if you're not familiar with the city. There is not an site car park but valet parking is available at 26 euros per night.

To sum up a very nice luxury hotel with a few minor niggles.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEVILLACOLON, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Graham B
I would like to thank you in name of all the Gran Melia Colon staff for your feedback.
We highly appreciate your comments, thanks to them we continously strive to strengthen the points that need to be improved.
Thank you very much again and we will be very pleased to welcome you back soon.
Sinceraly
Celia Martin
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed in the Gran Melia Colon for three days (four nights) last October. The room was very spacious (Grand Premium), but one large bed would have been enough for us ☺. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We did not have breakfast in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEVILLACOLON, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Kenneth D
On behalf of myself and all the staff of the Gran Meliá Colon, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your last stay in Sevilla.
also would like to thank you the kind comments you posted about our staff and our service. It is very important for us to know that we made your stay unique.
Thank you once again and we hope you come to visit us again soon.
Best regards
Celia Martin
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
731 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

I get frustrated sometimes by other reviews who say hotels are not. 5 * . Hotels get 5* for a reason and this place is. 5* . It is not the Bristol in Paris or the Ritz in London but what do you expect for £135pn including breakfast which is what I paid for 2 of us , fantastic value !! The breakfast buffet was excellent , the location perfect and the staff were friendly and helpful . I thoroughly reccomend this hotel if you are on business or a tourist .

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank phillip g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEVILLACOLON, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear phillip g

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Gran Melia Colon. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Gran Melia Colon and that you felt so comfortable.
We hope to see you back soon in Sevilla. Please, remember that we are at your complete disposal.
Celia Martin
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 176 in Seville
4,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#3 of 176 in Seville
2,021 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Boutique Hotel Casa del Poeta
Melia Sevilla
#27 of 176 in Seville
3,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Colon

Property: Gran Melia Colon
Address: Canalejas, 1, 41001 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#4 Family Hotel in Seville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#12 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Colon 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Melia, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Melia Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Colon Hotel Seville
Sol Melia Seville
Sol Melia Colon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing