We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in a good location”
Review of Gran Melia Colon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Gran Melia Colon
Ranked #4 of 176 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Good hotel in a good location”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

I visited the hotel on business from Tuesday, 26 November to Thursday, 28 November 2013. The only downside for me was the slow checking in process. I waited for almost twenty minutes to be checked in. Other than that it's a clean hotel with a very interesting theme of it's own. Most of the staff are friendly. I would go back, but next time the checking in process would have to be quicker!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeliaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for chosing Gran Meliá Colón to stay in Seville.
Your experience and opinion helps us to improve each day.
Please apologize for the inconveniences at check in. We will do all our best so you don't have to wait on your next visit.
Let us remain at your complete disposal for any subject we could be of assistance.
Sincerely,
Celia Martín
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,515
    543
    122
    33
    9
See reviews for
401
1,289
60
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seville
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2013

*Great 5 stars hotel!
*The staff is very helpfull.
*Great room, with relax bath, shower.
*Design
*The welness of the top of the hotel is free. (jacuzzi outside, haman, sauna) EXCELLENT!
*One small point: breakfast is to expensive (26 euro p.p.) you can go to the street where you can take breakfast for 10u euro).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Van Tomme K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeliaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for chosing Gran Meliá Colón hotel on your last stay in Seville. We highly appreciate that you decided to share your positive experience on tripadvisor.
We has always gone for the best quality and large variety of breakfast-buffets as a mark of distinction and an important meal for our guests to start an amazing day. However, we understand and appreciate your opinion about the price.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay anyway and would be very happy to welcome you again in this wonderful city.
Best regards,
Celia Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My wife and I booked two nights b&b in the Gran Melia Colon Seville last week for our 2nd year wedding anniversary. We were greeted upon arrival by welcoming staff whom took our baggage. Valet took care of our car parking. We then spoke with another gentleman who booked us in whilst he treated us to a glass of Cava, a lovely welcoming touch. My initial impression was of amazement of the interior and spotlessly clean.

Our room was large, spacious and clean. Our bags arrived soon afterwards via the porter. The bathroom was large and light and the bed was fresh and to our liking. We soon left the hotel to explore the city. Upon arrival back at our hotel room we were greeting with a bottle of Cava, roses, strawberries and chocolates, rose petals in our bath tub, and a traditional Spanish fan with a note from management congratulating us on our wedding anniversary, a tremendously romantic and thoughtful gesture from the hotel.

Our both days and nights were very enjoyable. We spoke to alot of the staff from barmen, valet attendants, receptionists, breakfast porters, each and every staff we found very well educated in their duties and always warm and friendly and respectful Without a doubt will be returning to this hotel should we return to Seville - perfect location for city centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sineadandbrendan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatriciaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for choosing our wonderful hotel to celebrate your wedding anniversary and share your experience with other potential guests on tripadvisor.
It is an honour and a great pleasure to know that we were able to make your stay an amazing experience. This is our aim and our main reward as professionals.
We are grateful and look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Thank you again for your nice words and best regards,
Celia Martín
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

A marvellous hotel,charming and very friendly staff,gorgeous breakfast buffet,great tapas bar and centrally located.What more could one ask for.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taylormadeWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatriciaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your encouraging comment about our hotel and staff. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay and experience at the Gran Meliá Colón.

We will be very happy to welcome you again whenever you want and remain at your disposal if we can be of assistance.

Yours Sincerely,
Celia Martín
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This hotel is located very centrally in Seville, just a few minutes walk from the art gallery, a few minutes from Plaza Nueva, and about 10 minutes walk from the Cathedral and Alcazar. A great spot for a visit to the city, and an amazing place to stay!

All the staff at the hotel are really friendly and helpful, and always available if you have a question. Rooms are very nice, and the doors have reproductions of famous paintings on them, so you feel like you're opening a secret painting door when you go into the room! There's also information on the paintings available, so you can learn something too if you'd like. Rooms are a good size, and bathrooms excellent. Only one complaint on the whole thing, which was the gym was very small and didn't have much (eg no mats for stretching on, and not much equipment).

I didn't eat dinner in the hotel, so I don't know what that's like, but I did have breakfast. The buffet breakfast wasn't cheap (about 20 euros a head), but was an amazing spread, with really good quality. One of the best hotel breakfasts I've had all year!

It's not the cheapest hotel, but if you can, splurge and stay here anyway, it's worth it!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gagravarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatriciaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on tripadvisor.com about your opinion and experience at Gran Meliá Colón.

It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay and we highly appreciate your positive assessment of the hotel and staff as we all work to reach the service excellence and guest satisfaction.

We remain at your disposal and look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Seville.

Yours faithfully,
Celia Martín
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seville
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stay in this hotel for the second time after the renovation , and we are very happy to return again, Everything is perfect , the staff very friendly and professional , the services are very good, they have a very nice restaurant , that you can try the Spanish flavours. The breakfast room very lighted . All decoration is absolute perfect for a 5 stars hotel. We will recommend this hotel to every friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Carlos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatriciaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing the Gran Meliá Colón as your home in Seville. It is so nice of you to share such good words on tripadvisor.com and have you as loyal guest. Your post encourages and inspires us.

Thank you and please feel free to contact us whenever we can be of assistance.

We look forward to see you soon.
Best regards,

Celia Martín
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
detroit, mich
Level Contributor
114 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed here on a family vacation in October. The service was very good. The rooms are small but well appointed. Everything you need is there. The bathrooms are marble, the showers are great. The square toilet seat is welll... interesting.

Location is very good- cathedral is 10-15 min walk- lots of good restarants nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avalonandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatriciaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for choosing the Gran Meliá Colón as your hotel in Seville. We also very much appreciate your post on tripadvisor, and particularly your positive valuation of the service provided during your stay.

Please let us know if there is anything you think that could be improved so we could reach all your expectations and your maximum value on possible future visits.
You will always be welcome at Gran Meliá Colón.

We remain at your disposal.
Best regards,

Celia Martín
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Casco Antiguo
Boutique Hotel Casa del Poeta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#3 of 176 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
Melia Sevilla
#27 of 176 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,943 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 176 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Colon

Property: Gran Melia Colon
Address: Canalejas, 1, 41001 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#4 Family Hotel in Seville
#12 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Colon 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Melia, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Melia Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Colon Hotel Seville
Sol Melia Seville
Sol Melia Colon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing