We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and modern”
Review of Gran Melia Colon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Melia Colon
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I spent 1 night at the Gran Melia Colon whilst on a business trip. The hotel is located in a central and pleasant area of Seville, within walking distance of the main attractions. Reception was modern and we I was able to check in quickly, the staff were all helpful and friendly. The room was of reasonable size and very modern - a bit too glossy for my taste. The bathroom was also very modern and spacious with a deep bathtub. The room had a large balcony which was pleasant although the high walls meant there wasn't a view which was a shame. The trip to Seville was excellent and this hotel definitely added to the stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamf76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeliaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind post. We are glad to know that you liked the Gran Meliá Colón and enjoyed your stay in Seville

Please, do not hesitate to contact us on your next visit so we will do our best to provide you better views. We remain at your disposal

Kind regards,
Celia Martín.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

969 - 975 of 2,561 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We booked 3 nights at this beautifully renovated medium size hotel, in one of their de lux rooms. Accomodation, breakfast and friendliness of staff were all first rate. On our last eveing we also found out that is not the cheapest but possibly the best place to have a good dinner! Seville in April was warm and full of the perfume of orange blossom, taxis are cheap and the horse-and-cart rides worth while.
Generally food is poor, but you don't go there to eat, but feast on the beauty of the architecture, palaces, parks, the river and general happy atmosphere.

Room Tip: we were on 4th floor, excellent air con. Bathrooms in black granite - I was glad I did not have to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeliaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your nice post. We are proud of knowing you had such a good stay in our hotel and your visit to Seville. Also, thank you for your kind words about our staff and the quality of our restaurant.

We are hoping to know soon from you and host you again.
Best regards,
Celia Martín

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My family and I spent 3 nights at the Gran Melia Colon. The hotel is located in very nice part of the old city of Seville a little away from the main sights, but still within walking distance the main attractions like the Alcazar (15 minutes). It is also located close to Triana (a nice area for shopping and restaurants across the river). There are many great restaurant options (non-touristy) within 5 minutes of the hotel which was great. The rooms are very modern and a good size. The bathroom was spacious, but the shower/tub was very deep so it was a little tricky getting in and out of the shower/tub since the ledge was very high. There was even a step since it was so high. Our room had two small balconies that looked onto the street, which was nice. The breakfast was good - nice selection. Free WiFi was a plus even though it was a little slow - it was fine for email though. The concierge was very helpful and friendly - they booked some restaurant reservations and were attentive to any other needs we had. If you are looking for a comfortable, modern, clean hotel that is within walking distance (15 minutes) to the main sights, but not right in the middle of the center city then this is a great option. We liked being a little further away from the attractions in a nice, quiet area of the old city.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Logan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeliaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your excellent post. It is a pleasure to receive comments so wonderful as yours. We are happy to know we made easier your stay in Seville thanks to our location and that you enjoyed the typical Andalusian cuisine of our city. We will take into account your remarks to improve in future renovations and to make more pleasent your next stay.

Please, do not hesitate in contact us for a future stay in Gran Meliá Colón, since we were willing to receive you.

Best regards,
Celia Martín

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have just returned from 5 nights in this wonderful hotel. Excellent location and boutique type feel but it is the staff that make this hotel very special - from the General Manager (a very customer focussed leader) to the wait staff and doormen - they cannot do enough for you. We have the red level experience which I would recommend - Moet on tap - lovely. It was very expensive but I don't resent a single penny. The only downside (and its not a biggy is that the gym is very small as is the solarium on the roof. ) On the roof however, the views more than make up for it.

Our other choice was the Algoquin XIII but I would recommend staying here instead - you won't regret it

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 bed suite - lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeliaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Lesley Anne F,

Thank you so much for choosing the Gran Meliá Colón as well as for your kind post sharing your nice opinion about our staff.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and contributed to make your stay an enjoyable experience.
Thank you to recommend the hotel. We will be more than happy to welcome you on your next visit to Seville.

Sincerely yours,
Celia Martín

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The good stuff:
a) Cool and funky - the hotel was totally refurbished quite recently it is very "cool & funky" and feels "boutiquie".
b) Rooms - reasonably sized and well equipped including two basins and a bidet
c) Solarium - there is a great sun deck and jacuzzi on the roof (7th floor) with amazing views + there is also a sauna and steam room

The average stuff:
a) Location - the hotel is on the edge of the old town so you always have to walk 10 minutes to get to most of the major attractions
b) Sleep - the bed has good linens and feels quite new but is a bit shaky and lacks support - not the best nights sleep but not disastrous either
c) View - not great but just getting a street view in Seville is nice and the noise is not obtrusive
d) Gym - there is a gym but the room is austere, the equipment is ok
e) Wifi - the connection is very slowwwww and keeps dropping, but it is complementary
f) Corporate - it is part of a large hotel group and the hotel is quite large so you don't get the personal attention that you would in a small hotel, but there are no nasty surprises either

The bad stuff:
None

If I stayed in Seville again I might risk a more historic hotel but the Gran Melia Colon is a very safe choice, you know what you are getting and you know you wont be let down.

Room Tip: Don't get a courtyard view - the rooms feel like prison cells!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BertBantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeliaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing the Gran Meliá Colón as your hotel in Seville. We also highly appreciate the time you have dedicated to share your experience with us on tripadvisor as well as your suggestions which help us to improve each day.

Thank you to trust Gran Meliá and feel free to contact us should we be of assistance.

Best regards,
Celia Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

After Buenos Aires (4*) which we really liked a lot, we were expecting much from Melia Seville. We had a suite at the 6th floor, huge but with poor lighting - only 2 rather little windows.
Being a reader I missed some additional light close to the sofa.
The bed was rather hard and there was always this strange synthetic perfume smell floating everywhere in the building. May be too strong.
Staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was fine according to northern Europe standards..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dommeldange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeliaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing the Gran Meliá Colón as your home in Seville.

We have taken well note of your suggestions and will try to improve as far as may be possible.
We hope that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,
Celia Martín

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We spent four days and three nights in this excellent place. It started with the friendly reception with a glass of cava. Rooms are spacious with a modern (although not very comfortable) bathroom furniture. Some at the 7th top floor enjoy a nice view towards the magnificent Cathedral. Large choice for the breakfast and here again a very kind and efficient service. Location is ideal : 10 min to the Guadaquivir, same for the shopping and lively streets of Velasquez and Tetuan (via the charming and narrow San Eloy). Further on is the Cathedral (also beautifu at night) this hotel is a great place to visit this wonderful city. Only small issue is from time to time an unpleasant smell

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Philippe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeliaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your nice comments about our hotel and staff on tripadvisor.com We are delighted to know that you liked the Gran Meliá Colón and enjoyed your stay in Seville.

It was a pleasure to attend you.

Please do not hesitate to contact us when you are planning to come back to Seville. We really look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,
Celia Martín

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 178 in Seville
4,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Mercer Hotel Sevilla
Mercer Hotel Sevilla
#1 of 178 in Seville
146 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#4 of 178 in Seville
2,272 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Boutique Hotel Casa del Poeta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Colon

Address: Canalejas, 1, 41001 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Seville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#12 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range: £172 - £532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Colon 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Melia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gran Melia Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Colon Hotel Seville
Sol Melia Seville
Sol Melia Colon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing