We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, Would stay there again”
Review of Gran Melia Colon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Melia Colon
Ranked #7 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel has a excellent location and wonderful service and an incredible breakfast. We had a very spacious room especially for 3 people. Wonderful bathroom. The hotel restaurant was really good and fun. The hotel has a modern décor that isn't exactly what I am looking for in a old city like Seville, but that is my personal preference. The rooms are very clean and the roof top deck is really inviting.

Room Tip: We had zero view but we didn't ask for a view and was more interested in early check in, which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmoritz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeliaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear guest,

We appreciate your comment regarding your stay at Gran Meliá Colón. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedbacks as yours. Moreover, we are really proud to know that you had such a wonderful experience and that our staff met your expectations.
Our apreciation again for sharing your experience and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Best regards,
Esther Villanueva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

912 - 918 of 2,525 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

We just stayed at the Gran Melia Colon for one night! Service was impressive n everyone was polite and helpful. The tapas at the la burladero tapas bar was to die for! The dishes were presented as in a five star dining restaurant ! The wait service was excellent as well as the Spanish service can be some what surly.
Only quibble would be the 33€ parking but it's valet and totally stressless!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeliaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear guest,

We appreciate your comment regarding your sta at Gran Meliá Colón. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedbacks. Moreover, we are really proud that you had a wonderful experience and that our service met your expectations.
Our appreciation again for sharing your experience. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Best regards,
Esther Villanueva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is well situated for all of Seville - about ten minutes walk from the Cathedral/Giralda and a couple from the Triana bridge. Beautifully appointed, the hotel has a top floor solarium and sauna as well as a Wellness Centre. If you can go for a panoramic room - we were upgraded to one and the views are spectacular. The doors to the room on the 7th (Goya) floor are covered with his paintings (sadly not original) - a great touch. Lovely rooms with great bathrooms and friendly staff - great value

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gritstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeliaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear guest,

I would like to thank you on behalf of all the Gran Meliá Colón staff for your feedback. Futhermore, I would like to thank you the kind comments you posted about our staff and our service, since it is very important for us to know that we made your stay unique.
The satisfaction of our clients is our ultimate commitment and we would like to thank you again for your comments, so we hope to accommodate you in the near future.

Warm regards,
Esther Villanueva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We made a last minute decision to travel to Seville last week and couldn't be happier with our choice of hotel. The Gran Melia Colon is in a fantastic location and if you're driving, is one of the few in the historic center that you can drive right up to the front. The staff was super friendly and don't skip the breakfast! The room was also very comfortable. We loved our stay and would happily recommend it to others traveling to Seville.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eml012881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeliaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and nice post! It is a pleasure for us to know that you had an incredible experience among us and that you loved our rooms and the rest of the hotel.
I will share your opinion about our staff, since your positive comments will help us to imporive the service quality for our guests. Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

Kind regards,
Esther Villanueva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This Hotel offers a very high degree of comfort, facilities and professional service in the perfect city location if you are looking to explore the beautiful city of Seville by foot. The Cathedral and old part of the city with it's many romantic cobbled side streets is 15 minutes away taking you through either the modern shopping areas or meander throughout the many side streets. The Bull Ring, river and the Jewish sector approx: 20-25 mins- all pleasant walking. We elected to have breakfast within the city rather than be constrained to the Hotel, albeit that the quality of the Breakfast appeared excellent; this gave us freedom to enjoy and experience local food. Overall, excellent 5-days.

Room Tip: Recommend a high floor, we stayed on the 5th Floor in a upgraded Red level deluxe double room which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghostie270158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeliaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for having chosen us during your visit to Seville. It is really nice for us to know that you have an incredible experience and that you enjoyed the service provided by our hotel, Gran Meliá Colón.
Once again, thank you for having chosen us and for your feedback. We really appreciate that.
Thank you once again and we hope you come to visit us again soon.

Best regards,
Esther Villanueva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This Hotel is without doubt a very good hotel, the hotel was spotless and the rooms was excellent. The staff were very friendly and overall it was a very good stay, the only minor point was I had a meal in the restaurant one night that I wasn't enamoured with but that was probably my own taste rather than the quality of the food. I would give this hotel a 4.5 overall and would definately recommend it to others

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JK57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeliaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear guest,

It is a pleasure for us to know that you had a good experience during your stay at Gran Meliá Colón. We hope the next time you return back to Seville, you can spend more days to enjoy our city and our hotel.
Our principal aim is to give you our best service, to make your stay unforgettable and to reach your expectations. Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,
Esther Villanueva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife and I just spent several days at this lovely hotel in Seville, and while I don't often recommend or review hotels, I felt this one was worth the trouble.
The hotel is well located to all the major sights, with good facilities, including charming rooms, right down to the artwork on the room doors. But what we were most pleased with was the excellent service. Staff were ever-ready to help, offering to do so constantly, and going out of their way to meet your needs. Two staff, Maria at reception and Remi at the restaurant, were gems. Friendly, warm, and efficient. We'll remember them when we think of Seville! - Warren Fernandez, from Singapore

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank warrenjfernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeliaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear guest,

It is very nice to read your kind comments about Gran Meliá Colón! Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us! It is always a pleasure to know that you had a great time at our hotel.
Thank you again and we will be very pleased to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Esther Villanueva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 177 in Seville
4,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#4 of 177 in Seville
2,231 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Boutique Hotel Casa del Poeta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Colon

Address: Canalejas, 1, 41001 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Seville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#12 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range: £149 - £508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Colon 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Melia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Melia Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Colon Hotel Seville
Sol Melia Seville
Sol Melia Colon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing