We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Service!”
Review of Gran Melia Colon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Melia Colon
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Travel is a hobby for me and my husband. We travel all over the world and stay in 5 star luxury accommodations when available. Gran Melia, met our expectations in every way. The staff is very attentive and willing to go out of their way to make sure your every need is taken care of. Let’s start with check in. Seamless. We paid the extra for Red Level so we had a private check in which went great. We were given lots of information to make our stay memorable. The room was clean and comfortable, nothing special but very nice. We did not spend much time there so as long as it was clean and the bed comfortable we were happy. We spent most of each day walking the city. The breakfast each morning was adequate and plenty of choices. The open bar in the red level from 11:00 to 10:30 was great! We managed to spend time discussing our afternoon over cocktails before dinner each evening. It was so nice and quiet. I recommend you pay the extra for Red level it is sooooooo worth it.
Housekeeping was the only complaint I had and it was minor. Getting our room cleaned early in the day for whatever reason was a problem. Once I discussed it with Alberto, the manager, I felt he addressed my concerns honestly and I was satisfied. I have always said the measure of a great hotel is not how they treat you when there are no issues, but how they treat you when there is a problem and Alberto gets an A+! Not only did he address my concerns, I felt it was something that problem happens very rarely and was not the standard for Gran Melia. Alberto I look forward to visiting Gran Melia in Bali 2015 hope to see you there! I would strongly recommend this hotel if you planning to see Saville. The location is great, we walked everywhere. Lots and lots and lots and lots of shopping in the area. Just do forget everything shuts down at 2:00 for siesta!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wietz12016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E_Villanueva, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Territraveler,

Mr Lalinde and the whole team of Gran Meliá Colón would like to thank you for choosing us as your hotel in Seville.

We highly appreciate the time dedicated to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor.com, specially coming from five stars hotels travellers as you are.

Thank you again for your encouraging words. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and remain at your disposal, may we be of assistance in any question you might have.

Best regards,
Esther Villanueva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

895 - 901 of 2,561 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

The hotel is 10 Minutes by walker 7 Euros Taxi from Santa Cruz , the older part of the city in a nice quiet area.
Hotel is modern, elegant and spacious. The staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms (we are in a premium deluxe) very spacious, designed with taste in black and white, incredibly comfortable and big bed, and a spacious bathroom. The breakfast, nicely presented, products of good quality, lots of choice, a real delight to start the day. Staff in the breakfast area is very qualified and meets your need immediately. The breakfast is a must.
The price quality of this hotel is very good. I would certainly come back to this hotel without question.
the rooms could be better cleaned up, this is not a critic but a positive improvement that the hotel can do.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daya9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E_Villanueva, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Daya9,

Thank you so much for your nice words about our hotel and staff on tripadvisor.com. We are delighted to know that you liked the Gran Meliá Colón and enjoyed your stay in Seville. This is our main reward as professionals.

We also highly appreciate your sincere opinion which helps us to improve and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely yours,
Esther Villanueva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel was situated in a great location. Quiet but close to the shopping area as well as all the sights of interests,ask waking distances.

The staff were accommodating and very helpful. We had some issues with our room and they were able to change our room instantly. They remembered us and asked us how our experiences were.

The hotel rooms were unique and had everything we needed. The rooftop pool overlooks the city and is a great place to do during siesta.

Tip: taking taxis to the hotel with luggages require some 'supplemental charges' but make sure it is not over 2 euros. Be careful of taxi supplemental charges because they usually add two to four extra euros for no reasons.

Amazing hotel :)

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AndrewandIvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E_Villanueva, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Andrew and Ivy,
It is a great pleasure to read your kind post. We are proud to know that you had a good stay with us and I am delighted with your comments about the staff. Please, do not hesitate I will share them with the entire team. Also, we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Gran Meliá Colón and that you felt so comfortable.
We hope to have you back soon enjoying the hotel Gran Meliá Colón, your home in Seville.
Kind regards,
Esther Villanueva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very convenient hotel close to the centre of Seville. Fairly easy to navigate to compared to some central hotels and we had booked a car parking space with them as we did not require it at all during our 4 day stay. This worked well - we were met at the door and the staff unloaded the car and took it off to a parking facility somewhere until we checked out of the hotel. The staff at the hotel were very welcoming and helpful and unfailingly polite. Our room was of a high standard and quiet. We did use the roof top solarium/jacuzzi a couple of times - it was usually quite busy as there are only about 8/10 sunbeds but it was an amazing experience to be in the jacuzzi overlooking seville! The bar service was good, very reasonable prices. We did not use the adjoining restaurant/tapas bar at all, or have breakfast, so cannot comment on the food quality. The central hotel lobby was luxurious and had lots of seats, so good for meeting up with others - though it did have a very strong perfumed air freshener which made me sneeze constantly! That is the only tiny thing I could find against the hotel though, so I'm nitpicking. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerbyshireBizzibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E_Villanueva, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear DerbyshireBizzibee,

It is a real pleasure to receive such good comments like yours on tripadvisor.com, particularly coming from a great traveller as you are.

We would like to thank you for the time dedicated to share your experience at the Gran Meliá Colón hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Seville and hope to have you back soon with us.

Best regards,
Esther Villanueva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We havent actually stayed at this hotel but we have eaten in the resturant twice and both were superb. The first time we ate in the resturant downstairs but this time we ate in the hotels resturant adjoining the lobby as the downstairs resturant was being refurbished and was only serving cold food options. Downstairs is a lot more informal whereas in the lobby the room is grand and spacious. Both are equaly nice. We were served by rosa who is i have to say one of the most professional waitresses ive ever come across. It was a joy to be served by her she is polite freindly and very professional. My favourite dish is the pulpo which i could eat time and time again served on a bef of exquisit purred potatoes its just delicious and to die fir. Great wines too. Will return next time were in seville and strongly advise people to visit this delightfull resturant.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettyboop003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E_Villanueva, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear bettyboop003,

Thank you so much for choosing the Burladero and for your excellent comments on tripadvisor.com, which we will share with Rosa and the whole team.

We are happy that you liked our food and will be delighted to welcome you again on your next visit. Do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything else we can do for you.

Sincerely,
Esther Villanueva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Nice hotel. Was in renovation mode when we visited but still had a wow factor at the main hall. Design is fabulous. Had some small issues with the room. Like dirty sheets and shower leaking to the toilet area. Breakfast choices were good. Location is excellent. Overall positive experience

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mhm86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E_Villanueva, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Mhm86,
On behalf of myself and all the staff of Gran Meliá Colón, I would like to thank you for choosing us on your stay in Seville as well as for taking time to post your comment on Tripadvisor.com. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedbacks. I will share your comments with our team, who will certainly be encouraged by your remarks.
Thank you once again and we hope you come to visit us again soon.
Warm regards,
Esther Villanueva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We enjoyed staying at the Gran Melia Colon! Excellent hotel stay - great room, very comfortable bed, lovely art work, great restaurant, and amazing breakfast included. Located right in the heart of the historical district, it's a very easy walk to the river, cathedral, bullring, and so many wonderful places. Situated on a quiet, cobbled street - tons of shops, restaurants, flamenco - you'll stay very busy discovering the many wonderful places. Outstanding customer service tops the whole stay. A must stay when you are visiting Sevilla! And, an amazing view of the cathdedral lit at night from the roof spa area.

Room Tip: My guess is all rooms would be equally quiet. Each floor is devoted to an artist with their work dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E_Villanueva, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Eileen Z,
We appreciate your comment regarding your stay at Gran Meliá Colón. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedbacks and to know you enjoyed so much your experience in Seville. Therefore, we are really proud to know we participate in making of your trip a special moment.
Our appreciation again for sharing your opinion. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Best regards,
Esther Villanueva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 178 in Seville
4,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Mercer Hotel Sevilla
Mercer Hotel Sevilla
#1 of 178 in Seville
146 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#4 of 178 in Seville
2,272 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Boutique Hotel Casa del Poeta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Colon

Address: Canalejas, 1, 41001 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Seville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#12 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range: £172 - £532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Colon 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Melia Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Colon Hotel Seville
Sol Melia Seville
Sol Melia Colon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing