We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”
Review of Gran Melia Colon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Melia Colon
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2010

The renovated Colon hotel is an amazing hotel with a unique style and unbeatable location. Rooms are designed combining modern design with local elements. Breakfast is according to standard for a 5*. Service is great and very friendly. I stayed in a room with a seperate living room, two big LCDs screens and a huge bathroom with a spacy shower and bath. Great place for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristianK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,293 - 1,299 of 2,467 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2010

Beautiful building and furnishings in all public rooms, especially lobby and the employees had the best 'yes i can help' attitude i have ever experienced in all my travels. Dramatic decor, great buffet breakfast every day made this 3 night stay for myself and husband one of finest parts of our 2 week vacation in six cities over the top. Had light problems in first suite we were in, they tried to correct problem immediately to no avail and then promptly moved us to an upgraded suite that was four times the size of this already extra large one. High end toiletries, glass enclosed shower/tubs, huge separate sink/personal areas and beautifully appointed. One of two World Heritage site hotels that has been refurbished but oh what a wonderful job they did. Run, dont walk if you are lucky enough to visit beautiful Seville to this incredible hotel. You will not soon forget the memory.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LYNJU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Very nice hotel. Perfect location, close to the river, close the cathedral and close the shopping! Very quiet also at night. Nice room, great facilities. The only problem is the bathrom, well certainly in my room, the wall joining the bedroom is made of GLASS. There is a curtain that you can draw across, but the curtain is in the bedroom, if you wanted to peak from the bedroom it is VERY easy. Maybe not a flaw in all the rooms, but certainly was in mine.

I would recommend this hotel as I got a great deal on the price and the beds were very comfortable. If you want they offer a pillow service, but I didn't really see the point.

The location is superb. However, it is a bit of a walk to the Plaza Espana (which was under renovation when I was there).

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pneggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Great location but trying to be a totlaly remodeled avante garde hotel in an explosion of red and aromas. The doors and floors are themes by famous Spanish artists which surprisingly grew on us. The breakfast is average. You need a PHD to work light switches. Do not get an internal room. We upgraded at 100 euro a night per room for 1 bedroom suites which were much better with views. The concierge was 0-3 for dinner suggestions. However, this hotel has potential....just go to website and understand the room and the explosion of colors you will be subjected to.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miasig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

On the plus side, this hotel is in the center of sevilla and walking distance from many attractions. Further, the overall design of the hotel is modern and presentable. We also did not have any noise issue. While the lights are difficult to control, my main issue was the very poor quality of the bedding. My bed felt like there was a wooden board instead of a mattress. I booked the hotel through an outside service which indicated that check-in was at 12pm (at the hotel they tell you it's at 3pm). As other persons had forewarned on Trip advisor, the reception is to try to sell you an upgrade. This very annoying woman proceeded to tell me what a crappy room I had eventhough I had booked a premium room and tried to sell me considerably higher upgrades. While she was willing to have an upgraded more expensive room ready at a moment's notice, once it became clear that I would not be willing to pay -- we had to wait several hours to get our pre-booked room. If you do decide to stay, I would avoid the breakfast at the hotel. It was aweful and cold most of the time. There are so many nearby areas to grab breakfast and/or food that it really is a waste of money. In fact, right in front of the hotel there is an inexpensive cafe that is open at all hours that you can grab different foods, drinks and/or snacks. If I return to Sevilla, I would opt for a smaller bed and breakfast instead of a large chain hotel.
One last bit of advise unrelated to the hotel. Most guidebooks say that attractions are closed on Monday, like the Alcazar. Even the conceirge at the hotel said it was closed on Mondays. It is not. We were able to visit late and it was practically empty because most people think it is closed!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigapple6864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

This is the old Majestic Hotel, which Melia has redone and renamed the Gran Melia Colon, the home of bullfighters, artists, politicians and literati. Melia did a great job in renovating this beautifull hotel located in the center of the old town, near the Maestranza bullring and the area of the culture and religious attractions of this great city.The rooms are small but sufficient given the convenience of the location. Noise insulation is excellent and the modern decor is outstanding. The only problems we had was with the
3/4 glass enclosed bathtub being located between the bathroom and the bedroom an acting as a wall, privacy is provided by an electrically operated curtain. Since it is not completely enclosed, water spills into the bathroom floor. The menus are very heavy at the Burladero, the main dining room. The first four dishes on the menu all contain cheese and the selections are all sauce inspired dishes. The chairs in this restaurant
are all back breakers, again no ergonomics ( the docorator/designer/architec is supposedly related to Mr. Escarré the principal shareholder of Melia).
Beware of prices charged by the Concierge for event bookings, under the guise of being difficult to obtain, they charge up to five times for event tickets like the bullfights, and only accept cash! The staff is very friendly and the hotel is an excellent venue for visiting Sevilla. Ole!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EJGMIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

Stayed with my wife for one night, we loved this hotel. The location is excellent and central to the old city. The service is very good, buffet breakfast had everything. We have upgraded for a panoramic room and we thought it worth the extra 25 euros. Would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mar_Sam_Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 178 in Seville
4,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#4 of 178 in Seville
2,173 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Boutique Hotel Casa del Poeta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Colon

Address: Canalejas, 1, 41001 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Seville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#12 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range: £153 - £456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Colon 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Melia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Gran Melia Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Colon Hotel Seville
Sol Melia Seville
Sol Melia Colon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing