We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seville, beautiful city, lovely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Ranked #9 of 179 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
San Isidro, Argentina
Level Contributor
128 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Seville, beautiful city, lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Great hotel built at the turn of the century, as a palace !
Rooms are lovely, restaurant was very good the same as room service
Breakfast was simple incredible, with all you can imagine, even ending with Champagne !
Rent a bike and ride Sevilla, it's tiny streets, it's tiles all over walls, roofs, balconies
The Cathedral a must !
Re

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,402
    306
    121
    49
    37
See reviews for
434
998
54
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is one of the most beautiful hotels in the world, absolutely astonishing. Built in the 1920s in a Ibero-Moorish style, it is an architectural wonder, filled with sumptuous tiles and woodwork, and with decorative flourishes throughout. The rooms have been modernized and have every comfort; ours overlooked the beautiful courtyard and was very quiet. The breakfast buffet was lavish with many delicious selections, the staff was extremely helpful, and staying in this hotel is like being in a dream—exotic, unexpected, fanciful. It is the perfect place to stay in Seville, a city of many wonders.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Verseau99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Our room was perfect, quiet
The hotel caters for disabled with grab bars in disabled facility room & lifts to assist movement around the hotel. The staff are unusually attentive, carry your bags, park the car etc. Breakfast is a sumptuous buffet, included in room price. Other meals are pricey but so is Seville.Trams & taxis readily available. Beautiful courtyard & live music (guitar & piano played downstairs.Excellent location by the old town.Great bathroom. We couldn't find any negative criticism except the prices.Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, CA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

The stay was magical, I loved everything about it and I highly recommend the Hotel Alfonso XIII. I am a Starwood Platinum member and have been to many Starwood hotels in the world and the Hotel Alfonso XIII has to one of the best hotels they have.

The location can't be beat and it was easy to get there from the airport on the bus and it lets you off about a block away for 2.40 euro. Was able to walk to all the beautiful sites from the hotel, including Traina district for ceramics, Alcazar, Plaza de Espana and the Cathedral. There is a Starbucks nearby and a convenience store across the street for all your needs.


I booked a 5 night stay on award points (which is a deluxe room) and pleasantly surprised that upon check-in, I was upgraded to a junior suite. The room 203 faced the street and had a glimpse view of the cathedral. I was also fortunate to get an early check-in and the room was equipped with electrical adaptor and the extra hangers that I requested. The room had a very comfortable bed, On Demand movies, DVD player and turndown service. I emailed the manager, Carlo Suffredini, prior to arrival and he took personal attention to my needs and stay.

The decor of the hotel is exquisite and was built by King Alfonso XIII. At 5:30 pm, there is a lovely guided tour of the hotel, which gives you the history of the building and I was lucky to see the Royal Suite. The building has historical status and owned by the city of Seville.

The Platinum status allowed for free Wifi, bottled water and breakfast buffet in the Restaurant San Fernando from 7 - 11 am. The first morning, we had jet lag and woke up after the breakfast was over, but the staff quickly asked us for our preferences and made us a special meal. The breakfast buffet, 27 euros, has everything you could want, including juice, coffee, bread, pastries, egg, bacon, potato, yogurt, cereal, fruit, omelet, meats, cheeses and champagne. It's a wonderful way to start the day in the courtyard setting. Room service is also available.

The pool setting was a highlight and provided an intimate and relaxing space. Enjoyed lounging in the afternoon, after our daily sightseeing. I would say the only improvement at this hotel would be the pool service for food and beverage. The Restaurant Taifas is situated at the pool. Close by, is the Fitness Center with sauna and off the lobby is the Business Center with 2 computers at no charge.

Melanie Rehbein, the Lobby Ambassador, was amazing and made us feel very welcomed. She was wonderful in assisting me track down a purchase that I wanted to make while in Spain and worked on this for me over the course of a few days. Our favorite dining in Seville, was our tapas meal at Eslava in their casual restaurant. You should go right when they open to avoid a long wait. We ate here twice and was the best meals in Seville.

The hotel options are the Terraza XIII for tapas and wine terrace, Bar Americano off the lobby, San Fernando Restaurant and the pool venue Restaurant Taifas for pizza. There are many great restaurant in Seville and the hotel can provide a list of their recommendations.

We were surprised one evening when we returned to the room after dinner and the hotel had put rose petals on the bed and left champagne. It was such a kind gesture and really made the stay very special. We enjoyed the hotel and the relaxing time there so much, that we extended our stay for an additional day and sliced off one day in Madrid. The hotel helped us with all the arrangements. We flew to Madrid, but later realized that it would also have been easy to take the train.

I hope to return to Seville and the Hotel Alfonso XIII, as it was one of the best stays at a Starwood hotel. Here is my Picasa Web Album- https://plus.google.com/u/0/photos/110650120340040479508/albums/5848311334705295889

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusieJue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the hague holland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed in the Alfonso XIII Hotel over 12 nights in january and our booking there was based on great experiences we had in SPG-hotels before. Like said many times here the hotel is beautiful and very well situated in the centre of Sevilla but, if you are in a wheelchair, you do have a problem. At arrival there were no doormen outside so my husband had to climb the stairs of the entrance and ask for assistance while I had to wait outside. Finally someone came to take me inside through the service-entrance where we had to go down 6 small slopes to reach the service-elevator. After reaching the hall above the reception I was left alone and no words of welcome were spoken. We reached our room but were not offered the tour through the hotel that, as we experienced in later days, other guests got on arrival and, as there is no information in your room, the history of the building did not come to us. The room itself was beautiful (Grand luxe) with a big balcony just as we asked for. We went out to have lunch (as nobody had told us there was a fantastic terrace near the bar) and when we came back again there was no doorman and my husband had to ask the reception to send someone to open the door and be of any help with the slopes. After a short while a doorman arrives but, exept from opening the door, he was of no help but stood there watching us slipping down to reach the elevator. During the twelf days we stayed in this hotel there was not ONE moment that anyone reached out and tried to help a little. The weather in Sevilla was cold and wet in januari and there were many times I stood there in the pouring rain waiting for a locked door (also in day-time) and a doorman to open it. Of course we complainted and I told I felt like a second-hand guest but at the receptiondesk people shrugged their shoulders and no action was taken.
Also when we asked for some nice restaurants in the neighbourhood we did not get a decent answer. I know the Alfonso is a historical building and they cannot change the entrance and make it suitable voor wheelchairs, but there is no reason to treat your guests so rude. The Ritz in London has the same problem, you have to use the service-entrance there too but there is always a doorman helping you in a pleasant and polite way who gives you the feeling that you are a guest just as good as other guests.
I have mixed feelings about this hotel. Although the bar and restaurant in the garden were closed and it felt during the week if we were the only guests, the weekends were very crowded and service in the bar was better. During the week, when you wanted to sit outside, tables often were really dirty, at 21.00 while we were having a small meal there the waiter went on clearing away chairs and candles. The lovely patio was closed but we had dinner in the restaurant 3 times and the kitchen was excellent. Service in the restaurant was very welcoming too and I might say that the restaurant was the only part of the hotel where I was treated like a normal human being who just happens to have a problem with walking!
Yet, maybe, if you don't have any handicaps and in another season of the year this can be a nice place to stay but for me it was a big deception and made me very sad.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank edithTheHagueHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerrards cross
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We booked our hotel accommodation in early summer as we had been told how wonderful your hotel was, food, service, etc. My wife checked by telephone what the dress code would be on your Christmas Eve dinner and was told black tie.
My wife telephoned once we had arrived at our second home in Marbella to ensure the dress code was black tie which was confirmed.
We duly arrived at the Alfonso VIII early afternoon on Christmas Eve and re-checked the dress code and were now told men to wear jacket and tie, ladies cocktail.
In the evening we went to the cocktail bar and enjoyed early evening drinks in great surroundings.
After pre-dinner drinks we duly found out seat in the dining room and were very shocked to see no men in dinner suits, some gentlemen wearing jacket, ties, but the majority scruffy with jeans and T- shirts. Ladies anything seemed to go.
We sat for approximately half an hour when a small ramekin with a little luke warm chopped mushroom moose arrived.
An hour later our first course of salad arrived!
Now the main course!!!!! This was served approximately forty-five minutes after our salad plates had been removed. It was supposed to be beef wellington. What was served was a steak, and square parcel of potato/pastry and thick sauce.
Whilst waiting for this wonderful main course I asked when the meal was going to be served and was told shortly! This obviously did not happen.
After taking one bite out of the steak it was stone cold so we asked for it to be removed and a hot meal brought to the table. At this time I went to the Reception desk in the main hall saying if things did not improve we would leave. Many apologies were given in reception.
Our replacement main course duly arrived under hot dishes which were removed for us to see our same cold meal had been warmed up and loads more sauce put over it.
We both, by then had enough and walked out the restaurant, went straight to reception desk and said we would be leaving in the morning, I said if we had not drunk some wine that evening we would have left immediately. Reception staff were very apologetic.
Your banqueting manageress came to our room full of apologies with a bottle of champagne, but the damage had been done by then we were ready for bed and cases packed. We said we did not want champagne all we wanted was good food, efficient service, which was what we expected. So basically, we went to bed hungry and very annoyed as it was far too late to eat anything due to the long delays with our meal in the main restaurant.
The following morning we went into the breakfast room at 9.30 where approximately five tables were in use by guests. There was a full buffet service but yet again the food was only warm not hot. Your omelette chef who we presume was supposed to be on duty for the omelette trolley arrived at 10.45. Somewhat late in the day as the guests had mostly left the breakfast room. My wife ordered a poached egg, which is not rocket science to make, this took over 30 minutes to be served, at least it was hot!
Whilst eating our breakfast a guest bought in a very smelly dog into the restaurant, which no member of your staff asked them to remove. We do not expect to eat a meal next to a really unpleasant smell, why was the dog allowed in the restaurant in the first place!!!!
The restaurant manager asked to have a word with us after we had finished our breakfast and wanted us to stay and assured us this is not the usual standard of the hotel and would not be like this at the Christmas brunch which he offered would be free of charge. We decided not to go down this road as the two meals we had eaten were of such a poor quality and it was Christmas Day. We checked out immediately after breakfast and drove the two and three quarter hour journey back to our home in Marbella without having a decent meal to eat.

My wife is extremely upset that our Christmas break had been completely ruined by staying at the Alfonso. This has been our worst Christmas experience ever. 24th and 25th completely ruined.
We understand this hotel is part of the Starwood hotel group, we have stayed at other sister hotels and had excellent service and food, therefore, expected the same quality from a reported five star hotel.
I expect a full refund of the cost for our overnight accommodation as you can appreciate if we could have returned in our car to Marbella the night of 24th we would have.
It is a great shame that this beautiful hotel with such a lovely ambience, which should have a wonderful reputation to uphold, has had it blighted in this way.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank hugh f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Arrived in our car to find no concierge to take the keys or unload the luggage - so we dragged everything up the stairs to the check-in and just dumped the car there. There was a queue of three clients which took far too long to process, and there was no special line for starwood VIP/platinum members. Bad start.

The manager apologised profusely and then organised for us to be fitted in the christmas day lunch even though we hadn't booked. Then we were shown to our suite, which was a very nice, quiet corner junior suite, with lots of space a a reasonably comfortable bed. The concierges were excellent at helping us to book restaurants and organise tickets for the alhambra, which was on our itinerary over the next few days. Check-out was dealt with a bit clumsily again, as we had requested and been granted late check-out but our electronic keys suddenly stopped working at 12 midday (someone obviously forget to reprogram the departure time). The reception was a long walk from the room, especially with a grumpy 2-year-old who had a wet nappy that needed changing.......

So, it's a beautiful building, tastefully restored and with good rooms, but just needs a little bit of attention to the service aspect.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stinkaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Gran Melia Colon
Gran Melia Colon
#4 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Boutique Hotel Casa del Poeta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#3 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,938 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#11 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,748 reviews
Corral del Rey
#2 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville

Property: Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Address: Calle San Fernando 2, 41004 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Seville
#1 Family Hotel in Seville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the recently renovated Hotel Alfonso XIII, Seville. Since its inauguration in 1928 the Hotel Alfonso XIII has been the preferred rendezvous for residents of Seville and elite travelers from around the world.From the moment you pass through the entrance of the Hotel Alfonso XIII a world of luxury is your's to explore. Discover the 151 rooms and suites at the newly renovated Hotel Alfonso XIII, Seville, totally equipped and furnished with luxury and comfort. The hotel guestrooms have been decorated with three different elegant styles: Andaluz, Moorish and Castillian rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfonso Xiii Seville
Hotel Alfonso Xiii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing