We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located and worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Las Casas de la Juderia
Ranked #33 of 179 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Well located and worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

We visited as 2 couples and had rooms 66 & 67, the latter was better being more square and generally spacious. In room 66 the bathroom and shower are very cramped. Both were a bit dark. Now for the good bit! The hotel is made up of a number of old houses well located for walking to the cathedral area and restaurants. The public rooms are exceedingly grand and furnished opulently. Moving around the hotel is a voyage of exploration, revealing sunny courtyards and terraces.
The spa is good, the subterranean breakfast room rather less inviting, although the breakfast food and service were both very good.
We ate in the evening dining room once and the food was good but the service disappointing, particularly the wine dripped on my jacket.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,050
    923
    315
    173
    80
See reviews for
347
1,474
78
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I really wanted to like this place more. Ok so maybe trying to sleep in Seville is missing the point, but our last night in room 101 was a disaster with elephants thumping around most of the night over our heads. Next morning I realised that part of the roof was set aside for the locals and during Fereria sleeping is not on the menu.
Breakfasts were reasonably decent with a limited buffet approach and plenty of service keeping the supplies stocked up for little piggy tourists. Unless you are 5 foot tall you learn to walk around with your head bowed else get a nasty headache. I liked the location with plenty of options for tapas or just getting lost in the twisting streets.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EtheB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

I'm quite disappointed with this hotel. I decided to splurge on my hotel in Seville and wanted a rooftop pool, so I booked a room here for 3 nights.

They placed me all the way in the back of the hotel (in a separate building) and it's almost impossible to find it. You'll read many reviews of the many gardens inside the hotel but if you get a single room, you probably won't even see them except for when you first arrive. It's like you're in a completely different hotel. My room was dark and I even saw another room which was even worse (that one was tiny too)!

On top of that, the pool was closed which was VERY disappointing. I spoke to others, saw some other hotels like Doña Maria (from the top of the Giralda tower), their pools were open! Even the Hotel's pool across the plaza was open!

Breakfast is expensive and not worth the price. The wifi only works in the main courtyard in the front of the hotel and not in your room.

If you're thinking of staying here, just know that many hotels, even hostals, have the same Andalusian courtyards, and one you'll actually get to sit in.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank SweetSaturn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Las Casas de la Juderia in Seville is in desperate need of a refurb. The first room we tried even had a CRT TV. (Anyone remember those clunky old delights?) It also had an odour of drains, perhaps because it backed on to an alley with plenty of pedestrian traffic.

The front desk - generally helpful all round - responded positively to our request to change rooms. New one was devoid of truly offensive aromas, but also a bit past its stay-by date. Worn carpets, "gilded" plumbing where the gilt must have worn off quite some time ago.

A good test of the plumbing in any hotel is to check the shower rose. This one had seen better days. Mostly blocked holes, creating a "tropical rainstorm" effect than a refreshing shower that leaked out into the room, thanks to poor seals on the door. And the bath was badly chipped.

Yes, the place is a warren, but they hardly keep it a secret. Fortunately I have a good sense of direction.

The promised wifi wouldn't assign an IP address even if you sat under a "Wifi zone" sign. (Both my devices connected just fine at the bar round the corner and in the art museum.) By contrast, the wifi at the Cordoba pad stretched further than promised, delivering a weak signal to our distant room.

The new room we moved to had made it into the 21st century with an LCD TV, but the reception was poor. And yes most of the channels were in foreign. But what do people expect? This is "abroad", where they have this odd habit of speaking in their own tongues. We heard most European languages in town, so it makes sense for the TV channels on offer to reflect this. I bet the Dutch don't moan because they can't get their equivalent of Coronation Street.

Just one other spanner in the works, the hotel's computer system - an early victim of the demise of Windows XP? So they couldn't reprogram the electronic door keys. A security person had to shepherd us to our room, only to have trouble with his master key.

In all then, perfectly acceptable as an idea, but let down by too many small details. It doesn't help that we know how well these people can do it when they try.

On the positive side, they had a big bag of mains adaptors and wouldn't let me pay for the one I wanted. They also found, and returned, an envelope of money w we left in the room.

Would we return? Only if we heard that they have done something to make the place look a bit younger than most of the clientele, which, by the attendance at breakfast, was even older than us. (Tip for visitors to Seville, OAPs get a good deal at the Alcazar, take your passport.)

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

If you want an hotel that's new, shiny, lots of steel, modernly comfortable this is not for you. On the other hand if you love history and after all that's why you are in Seville this hotel is for you. Las Casas has many courtyards which are connected by open alleyways all decorated by potted plants and overhanging flowers. It will test your memory powers returning to your room.
The rooms are spacious and the beds very comfortable. There is also free wifi in the lounge. My wife and I stayed there early April, it's conveniently situated within close walking distance of the Cathedral and all the restaurants that inhabit this location. Well worth a consideration.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights and would have liked to stay for two weeks. It is an amazing hotel made up of a number of separate buildings linked by alleyways and corridors. Each room overlooks a separate courtyard and are very well appointed. It is also very well placed only a short walk to the heart of the old town and less than ten minutes from the Alcazar and the Cathedral. Lots of restaurants are within minutes walking distance. It is a unique experience not to be missed

Room Tip: They are all amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

A unique hotel, which was one of the highlights of our stay in Seville. Made up of 18 medievel houses, interlinked by numerous courtyards and a tunnel

Upon arrival a porter guided us to our room on the far side of the complex, it took approximately 7 minutes from reception to our room, through a maze of passages, stairways and courtyards. Each courtyard was different, delightful and very peaceful.

Our room was a good size with a large (very high) bed, with jacuzzi bathroom, toilet and shower room. The only criticism of the room being that it was a bit dark, re the lighting, it needed bulbs of a higher wattage. The breakfast was buffet style, very good and with plenty of choice of hot and cold options.

The location is excellent for the Santa Cruz barrio, with its myriad of alleyways and tapas bars to stroll through and cruise of an evening. It was a 10 minute taxi ride (circa €7) from the train station. It is approximately a 10-15 minute walk to the cathedral and Giraldo tower.

We would certainly stay here again, should we ever re visit Seville.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyandLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#9 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,891 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Murillo
Hotel Murillo
#31 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#3 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Casas de la Juderia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casas de la Juderia

Property: Las Casas de la Juderia
Address: Calle Santa Maria la Blanca, 5, 41004 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Seville
#20 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#34 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#40 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Casas de la Juderia 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Seville's old jewish quarter, just 6 minutes walking distance from the Cathedral, a modern service and classic decoration converge in the hotel Las Casas de la Juderia. History fills the air in this magnificent ensemble of 27 fifteenth century traditional houses restored to harmoniously reflect the authentic feel of the serpentine neighborhood that surrounds it. The vibrant colors of the 40 patios (typical Andalusian courtyards) and the friendly service mirror the true character of Andalusia. Fountains, statues and roman amphoras decorate the winding passageways that connect the 134 rooms. Las Casas de la Juderia offers an array of services for your enjoyment: a tapas bar and a restaurant both indoors and outdoors, a rooftop swimming pool to enjoy a selection of tapas and cocktails (May-Sept.), Live music in the piano-bar from Thursdays to Sundays, a spa decorated with roman mosaics, several meeting rooms and spaces to organize events, reunions or seminars, and a large breakfast area located in hotel's "Mirror's Hall." Located in the heart of the city center, Las Casas de la Juderia offers a superbly convenient access to some of the most symbolic landmarks of southern Spain such as the Giralda, Reales Alcazares, Casa de Pilatos and Jardines de Murillo. Parking is ensured by our valets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Las Casas de la Juderia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casas De La Juderia Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing