We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ohhh the smell...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Las Casas de la Juderia
Ranked #35 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2010

it is a really cool place but we had to switch rooms twice but couldn't get away from some seriously moldy/musty smells...

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmsdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,734)
There are newer reviews for Las Casas de la Juderia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,243 - 1,249 of 2,734 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2010

This hotel was an excellent base for our stay in Seville - the location is perfect, right in the old centre of Seville and just a few minutes (depending on how lost you get) from the cathedral/Alcazar, and the style of the hotel, being a cluster of old houses, seems to suit the city really well.

It's not smart and shiny (e.g. the paint on the exterior walls was peeling etc and our room was a bit worn around the edges) but it was very clean and comfortable - and I suspect that since we got a really good rate via one of the links from this site, we had one of the more basic rooms. I guess due to the age of the building, it was a bit noisy first thing in the morning or late at night with people banging doors or marching across the wooden floors etc, but this wasn't really a problem (and most people would probably be up earlier than us anyway!).

Breakfast was excellent - huge range of buffet options plus a menu of items cooked to order - but it was included in our rate and I believe it's very expensive otherwise; I wouldn't have paid extra given the range of alternatives within a few minutes walk of the hotel.

Parking is a bit of a pain - the hotel does have its own garage but I think it was 19 euros a day and we would never have been able to find it by car (tip: it's worth downloading a detailed map from Multimap or somewhere before you arrive, the one in our guidebook looked detailed enough but turned out to be missing all the smaller alleyways so when we were trying to navigate our way to the hotel we got hopelessly lost) as although it's not far from a main road, there's a tortuous one way system, the roads are very narrow and there's an assortment of hazards including delivery vehicles, horse-drawn carriages and pushchairs (the pavements are too narrow for them) to contend with. The receptionist seemed to encourage us to park at a public underground car park a few hundred metres away which was marginally cheaper at 18 euros a day, and much easier to get to as it's on the main road.

We did find one thing strange which was the lack of any reference to the spa or pool anywhere - I thought I recalled from the website that the hotel had those facilities, but I've no idea where the pool was, and we only found the spa by accident when looking for the breakfast room. We probably wouldn't have used either anyway but I was surprised that the hotel didn't promote these facilities more.

Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel if you can get a good rate and are not looking for something slick and modern.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minky99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Just be careful when you check out that they don't charge you for a night that they already put on your credit card. Also, about the unfriendliest staff imaginable. Other than that I would stay again. And breakfast unless it is included is too expensive. Walk outside and go across the street for a real spanish breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LosAngelesAndrea10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

A hotel of great character indeed!

The 'Casas' are beautifully restored and provide a splendid setting for a trip to Sevilla. If you cut through the side streets, it is only five minutes from the Cathedral.

Some further work on the site is needed. There are damp patches here and there on the exterior and these need attention.

The room we were allocated was very charming, quite spacious and most silent. The bed and pillows were up to standard and we slept very well. The bathroom was rather tiny however but well-designed. A better lay-out solution to installing the facilities would have been to have had just a shower and toilet.

Breakfast was included in the tariff and provided all the usual items you would expect from a four-star hotel.

The tapas bars in the square in front of the hotel were top-notch.

We would definitely recommend it to all discerning visitors and frequenters of paradores!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterStreetwise2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2010

I saw many mixed reviews for this hotel and now having been have decided that the reviews must be affected by the room people have been allocated. Now was I a lucky bunny or what!! we got a fabulous room with a huge rooftop terrace to sit out on, which is just as well as we are both smokers and the entire hotel (excluding outdoor patios) is non smoking. Now the room wasn`t huge but it had the best storage in a hotel room I have seen for years and great refreshment space. The bathroom was really quirky with double marble sinks and a jaccuzzi bath is one part, then another little section with the loo and on from that a big shower with the biggest dinner plate sized shower head and a separate handheld one. We had no problems with hot water and there was a fabulous smell off the shampoo and gel.
The rest of the hotel as you can see for yourself in the traveller photos is stunning with little patios and moorish architecture at evey turn.
While out on our huge terrace we did have the opportunity to see windows to some other rooms on lower floors and hubby did say he wouldn`t be as happy if we had recieved one of those as although they are probably well furnished and quirky like ours was but being on a lower floor they could be very dark and could feel a little claustrophobic without the outside space we had.
The location cannot be beaten as it is central to everything and there are a good selection of bars and restaurants right outside the hotel and a supermarket within 5 mins walk.
We found any contact we had with staff to be polite, professional and more than helpful.
Overall we had a fantastic stay and I would stay again no problem, but then I did get an incredible internet bargain and fully expected to have a room beside the bins!!
One thing I would say though, we found Seville a lot more expensive to eat and drink in than other cities and tourist areas of Spain. Granada is incredible value by comparison especially for shopping, eating and drinking.
Oh the Casas De La Memoria flamenco venue is only 2 mins walk from the hotel and this is one of the top rated shows which we thoroughly enjoyed but book in advance as the shows sell out fast, you can pre book tickets for any date (if available) at 6pm every evening.
Only one glitch, we got a very low signal on our Samsung Netbook and couldn`t access the net for some reason although we saw others with laptops using theirs!! however, there are two rather slow PC`s for use in the piano bar.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paddy_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

The hotel staff were courteous, friendly and most responsive to all of our needs. We had 2 separate rooms - the first was lovely - updated and lovely bathroom facilities. Our second room was nice - quite dark - and really could use painting/updating. The hotel was very clean, which was most important to use. If I could have changed to a updated, more airy room, we would have. This is the absolute best location I feel you will find in Seville.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank westisbest30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

This was a great find. two minutes from practically everything. The winding paths to different areas are so lovely. The rooms are very basic, but you dont find hotels like this often.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zzara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 177 in Seville
4,373 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#4 of 177 in Seville
2,115 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Eurostars Sevilla Boutique
Eurostars Sevilla Boutique
#56 of 177 in Seville
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Casco Antiguo
EME Catedral Hotel
EME Catedral Hotel
#46 of 177 in Seville
1,430 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Casas de la Juderia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casas de la Juderia

Address: Calle Santa Maria la Blanca, 5, 41004 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Seville
#22 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#34 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#40 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range: £87 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Casas de la Juderia 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Seville's old jewish quarter, just 6 minutes walking distance from the Cathedral, a modern service and classic decoration converge in the hotel Las Casas de la Juderia. History fills the air in this magnificent ensemble of 27 fifteenth century traditional houses restored to harmoniously reflect the authentic feel of the serpentine neighborhood that surrounds it. The vibrant colors of the 40 patios (typical Andalusian courtyards) and the friendly service mirror the true character of Andalusia. Fountains, statues and roman amphoras decorate the winding passageways that connect the 134 rooms. Las Casas de la Juderia offers an array of services for your enjoyment: a tapas bar and a restaurant both indoors and outdoors, a rooftop swimming pool to enjoy a selection of tapas and cocktails (May-Sept.), Live music in the piano-bar from Thursdays to Sundays, a spa decorated with roman mosaics, several meeting rooms and spaces to organize events, reunions or seminars, and a large breakfast area located in hotel's "Mirror's Hall." Located in the heart of the city center, Las Casas de la Juderia offers a superbly convenient access to some of the most symbolic landmarks of southern Spain such as the Giralda, Reales Alcazares, Casa de Pilatos and Jardines de Murillo. Parking is ensured by our valets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Casas de la Juderia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casas De La Juderia Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing