We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its all true, the good and the less than perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Las Casas de la Juderia
Ranked #31 of 176 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
usa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Its all true, the good and the less than perfect”
Reviewed 7 May 2010

The reviews are right on target. The grounds are very interesting to walk around. Lots of charm. There was a smell when we first entered the room, flower/chemical from cleaning and underlying musty odor that had me worried. We had a room with windows and that took care of it. I was there during the April fair and we were woken up every hour until about 4 am by people passing by heading home from the party. Pretty sure that is not the norm.

The location was just perfect. Tapas all around and short walk up the hill to the Alcazar.

The breakfast was in the basement with no windows. The food was good but no one mentioned the other room which had the hot food. Seventeen euros for cereal and fruit seemed unbelievable so I finally asked in my broken spanish and that's when I discovered the second room. English often hinders you in spain. Better if you are more fluent in Spanish, especially in the cities. No exception here but we did well enough.

The spa was similar. We could see a heated pool through a basement window and tried to find it. We could not. We did find a spa but the people at the desk did not speak english and my spanish did not suffice. There was no litterature out and we could not go in so still not sure if that heated pool was in there. Too bad, would have been nice and would have paid for a dip. There was a rooftop pool that was not open.

The location and the charm would bring me back to this hotel. I would make sure I got a room with windows.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cdmUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,069
    941
    317
    174
    82
See reviews for
351
1,493
82
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2010

This is an unusual, charming property, with lots of winding hallways and a charming interior courtyard. There were archways and tile throughout the hotel so the ambiance seems to fit well with beautiful Sevilla. We had a large, spacious junior suite, which was well-decorated and had one of the only true king size beds we had while traveling in Spain. The hotel is in a good location with lots of restaurants close-by. The service was good but a bit harried as we were staying the week after Holy Week and the city was still very crowded. We did not have breakfast at the hotel as there were reasonably priced alternatives nearby.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nhentschel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

This is a magnificent hotel and a great location. I visited in the high season during "Feria de Abril" and had requested a double room for a single person room with lots of natural light. I got a delightful room with 4 large windows. Decor was simple, but the room was large and bright and opened to a delightful "Patio Espanol". Hotel is 2 min to the beautiful gardens of Alcazar and 10 - 15 min walk to the old Catherdral. Lovely, delightful and worth the extra money. I skipped the 19 Euro breakfast and had breakfast every morning across the street at the local cafe for 5 Euros. Ask for a room with lots of natural light.

Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ZgirlfromSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2010

it is a really cool place but we had to switch rooms twice but couldn't get away from some seriously moldy/musty smells...

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmsdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

This hotel was an excellent base for our stay in Seville - the location is perfect, right in the old centre of Seville and just a few minutes (depending on how lost you get) from the cathedral/Alcazar, and the style of the hotel, being a cluster of old houses, seems to suit the city really well.

It's not smart and shiny (e.g. the paint on the exterior walls was peeling etc and our room was a bit worn around the edges) but it was very clean and comfortable - and I suspect that since we got a really good rate via one of the links from this site, we had one of the more basic rooms. I guess due to the age of the building, it was a bit noisy first thing in the morning or late at night with people banging doors or marching across the wooden floors etc, but this wasn't really a problem (and most people would probably be up earlier than us anyway!).

Breakfast was excellent - huge range of buffet options plus a menu of items cooked to order - but it was included in our rate and I believe it's very expensive otherwise; I wouldn't have paid extra given the range of alternatives within a few minutes walk of the hotel.

Parking is a bit of a pain - the hotel does have its own garage but I think it was 19 euros a day and we would never have been able to find it by car (tip: it's worth downloading a detailed map from Multimap or somewhere before you arrive, the one in our guidebook looked detailed enough but turned out to be missing all the smaller alleyways so when we were trying to navigate our way to the hotel we got hopelessly lost) as although it's not far from a main road, there's a tortuous one way system, the roads are very narrow and there's an assortment of hazards including delivery vehicles, horse-drawn carriages and pushchairs (the pavements are too narrow for them) to contend with. The receptionist seemed to encourage us to park at a public underground car park a few hundred metres away which was marginally cheaper at 18 euros a day, and much easier to get to as it's on the main road.

We did find one thing strange which was the lack of any reference to the spa or pool anywhere - I thought I recalled from the website that the hotel had those facilities, but I've no idea where the pool was, and we only found the spa by accident when looking for the breakfast room. We probably wouldn't have used either anyway but I was surprised that the hotel didn't promote these facilities more.

Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel if you can get a good rate and are not looking for something slick and modern.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minky99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Just be careful when you check out that they don't charge you for a night that they already put on your credit card. Also, about the unfriendliest staff imaginable. Other than that I would stay again. And breakfast unless it is included is too expensive. Walk outside and go across the street for a real spanish breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LosAngelesAndrea10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

A hotel of great character indeed!

The 'Casas' are beautifully restored and provide a splendid setting for a trip to Sevilla. If you cut through the side streets, it is only five minutes from the Cathedral.

Some further work on the site is needed. There are damp patches here and there on the exterior and these need attention.

The room we were allocated was very charming, quite spacious and most silent. The bed and pillows were up to standard and we slept very well. The bathroom was rather tiny however but well-designed. A better lay-out solution to installing the facilities would have been to have had just a shower and toilet.

Breakfast was included in the tariff and provided all the usual items you would expect from a four-star hotel.

The tapas bars in the square in front of the hotel were top-notch.

We would definitely recommend it to all discerning visitors and frequenters of paradores!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterStreetwise2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 176 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,982 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Murillo
Hotel Murillo
#35 of 176 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#3 of 176 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Casas de la Juderia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casas de la Juderia

Property: Las Casas de la Juderia
Address: Calle Santa Maria la Blanca, 5, 41004 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Seville
#19 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#34 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#40 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Casas de la Juderia 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Seville's old jewish quarter, just 6 minutes walking distance from the Cathedral, a modern service and classic decoration converge in the hotel Las Casas de la Juderia. History fills the air in this magnificent ensemble of 27 fifteenth century traditional houses restored to harmoniously reflect the authentic feel of the serpentine neighborhood that surrounds it. The vibrant colors of the 40 patios (typical Andalusian courtyards) and the friendly service mirror the true character of Andalusia. Fountains, statues and roman amphoras decorate the winding passageways that connect the 134 rooms. Las Casas de la Juderia offers an array of services for your enjoyment: a tapas bar and a restaurant both indoors and outdoors, a rooftop swimming pool to enjoy a selection of tapas and cocktails (May-Sept.), Live music in the piano-bar from Thursdays to Sundays, a spa decorated with roman mosaics, several meeting rooms and spaces to organize events, reunions or seminars, and a large breakfast area located in hotel's "Mirror's Hall." Located in the heart of the city center, Las Casas de la Juderia offers a superbly convenient access to some of the most symbolic landmarks of southern Spain such as the Giralda, Reales Alcazares, Casa de Pilatos and Jardines de Murillo. Parking is ensured by our valets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Casas de la Juderia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casas De La Juderia Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing