We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place with heart and soul”
Review of Comme a la Maison

Comme a la Maison
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Comme a la Maison
Ranked #37 of 70 Seville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We loved our stay at Comme a la maison! The care and attention that Jean-Claude & Nadia put into their welcome and hospitality is wonderful - they did everything to help us enjoy our visit. Our room was quite simple & not huge, but was very pleasing and comfortable. The breakfasts are excellent with a wide choice of tempting fresh food - that set us up perfectly each day. The neighbourhood is full of life with lots of bars clubs markets etc close by - a "real" place, not over-touristy. But it is also pretty convenient for the sights - we enjoyed the walk into the city centre each day. And the roof top terrace was a nice calm place to rest for an hour or two when we need to recharge.
Perfect - we look forward to another visit!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013

Nadia and Jean-Claude, "two French people in Seville", could not have been more welcoming or helpful, and their recommendations on restaurants, sightseeing and flamenco were excellent. The B&B is a typical Seville house in a quiet street in the Macarena district, an easy 15 minute walk to the centre and close to the restaurants and bars around the Alameda de Hercules. We were the only guests on the two nights we were there, but the breakfast spread was enough to feed the 5,000, beautifully presented with a wide choice of fruit, yoghurt, cereals, pastries, toast and home-made orange jam. Coffee was good and hot. The house is arranged around a courtyard which was once open to the sky but is now an atrium. Our room opened onto the courtyard and was quite chilly when we arrived but it warmed up quickly once Jean-Claude got the heating going. Wifi is free. When we left for the train to Granada Nadia gave us something to eat on the train and some Seville sweets to take home. Thank you, Nadia and Jean-Claude, for a very enjoyable stay in Seville.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cleoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Translated, this B&B is supposed to be "like home". The owners were very good with emailing and making sure we arrived easily. Upon our arrival they were very friendly and warm and greeted us with some appies to eat (cubed Spanish omelette, peanuts and I think it was tuna sandwiches of some sort). They sat us down and immediately pulled out maps of the city with their personal recommendations. Jean Claude did all the talking cause Nadia only speaks French. Their maps were helpful and made our list of "things to do" more manageable. The recommended Flamenco show was great and more authentic than the touristy ones.

The room was small but had an ensuite bathroom. The bathroom had some toiletries that consisted of things left behind by other guests (the gel was handy). The sheets were great and the bed comfortable. There are no bathrobes (as mentioned in another review) but everything is spotless. Complimentary bedside water was great too. Towels were changed daily. The bathtub was interesting though...we had a hard time not puddling up the floor with water because of the short glass barrier...we managed.
We stayed in the room on the second floor which is above the kitchen and on the same level as the owners suite. It was hard to not be woken up by the breakfast prep because of the way sound travels. The window in the bedroom opens up to the middle of the house. We kept it closed the first night but it got to stuffy in the room even with the fan on.
The breakfast presentation was lovely. Nadia had all the jams and fresh fruit all in little glass jars. Each fruit had its own little container for each person. The fruit consisted of pomegranate seeds, kiwi, melon balls, mango and pineapple. The pineapple looked like it had been served before though. Bread and spreads, cereal, cheeses, dried fruit and yogurt were part of the buffet. One thing that stood out (in comparing to the 6 other places we stayed at during our trip) was there was no protein served. And I mean eggs and charcuterie type protein. In Spain, that is expected. This caused us to get hungry an hour after breakfast and we always wound up at a restsurant soon after we left the house. The following mornings consisted of the exact same buffet with fruit that looked like it was the fruit from the day before. The Spanish omelette and the tuna sandwiches served upon arrival were also served for breakfast the following two mornings.
During our stay, it started to feel like we were staying at someone else's home. It never really felt like home. Don't get me wrong, these are lovely people and Nadia is a breath of fresh air, but sometimes Jean Claude is trying to be be "too friendly". In the evening after a day of site seeing, we just want to relax but it seems like he made it a point to always be there when we came and left. Honestly, this could just be us but we are in our mid-late thirties and want to come and go as we please. One night we came home with the door to our bedroom open as well...we were the only guests the last two nights of our trip.

This home is in the Macarena district and a 15-20 min walk to the cathedral and alcazar. It was also a 20 or so minute walk to the plaza de toro. Great restaurants are literally a 2 minute walk away (Avenida de Hercules)... Go to Al Aljibe for amazing tapas and the Gelato shop two restaurants from the restsurant...a must!!!
Would I stay here again? It depends on what you want out of your accommodations. For the distance from the main sites, this is not the cheapest or most expensive. I may have chosen differently.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Nadia and Jean-Claude adopt you. They want to make sure you have the best time possible in Seville, whether you like it or not. (We liked, a lot!) The breakfast is a highlight of the day: incredible variety and freshness, you have to tear yourself away to go sample the sights. Their recommendations were excellent, their directions clear. Jean-Claude remained unflustered both times I thought I had lost my mobile, happily making the trip to the garage to check our car (we found it both times). It was charming to converse in a mixture of French and Spanish and to get a sense of what it is to live in Spain. We loved the terrace on top (afternoon siesta!) and make sure to ask them for the best tapas!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArendMulligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Having travelled from Australia and being far from home, Jean Claude and Nadia made us feel cosy. You get that feel, immediately you walk in the door. Absolutely nothing was too much for them. I lost a Flemenco DVD on a train trip from Saville to Granada. I mentioned this to Jean Claude by way of an email. On our return to Australia, there was a Flemenco DVD in the post!
The room was always kept spotlessly clean, it was of a good size and the sleep quality was excellent. The free breakfast was to die for; magical presentation and wholesome. Well done Nadia! Jean Claude was a whizz on the computer and a font of knowledge when it came to "must see" sites, booking tickets and advice on the best Tapas bars. We will never forget the bar he directed us to one night (cannot remember the name). They had a free Flemenco show which was filled with haunting Andalusian music and superb flemenco dancing. The place was packed and the patrons went crazy. Bravo!!!
The only downside I found with Comme a la Maison, was the difficulty in having a shower as the roof over it was fairly low. The bath however was perfectly OK. Perhaps, the first floor bedroom may have a better shower position.
Should I visit Valencia again, Comme a la Maioson will undoubtably be my choice. It is excellent for a B & B. I would give it a score of 9/10
Thomas

Tom Pavey
Australia

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 242Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

From the moment we arrived, I knew it would be a special experience. There is no sign on the door, but Jean-Claude poked his head out the window with a big grin and I could hear him hop down the stairs. We were greeted by Jean-Claude and Nadia, eager to make us feel at home.

Nadia brewed us a fresh pot of coffee and we snacked on muffins as Jean-Claude explained the city, the streets, marked places on a map, and asked us about our interests. When we mentioned flamenco, they were both excited to tell us about Nadia's constant quest to find local shows... which really can only be found in the days leading up to the shows- Nadia spends hours looking through facebook pages of local bars and finds intimate venues for music (more on that later)

Our room was perfect... so above and beyond a b&B... Here are the things I really appreciated:
A hairdryer
Towel warmer (soooo nice)
Ample closet space
Ample space for toiletries
Extra toiletries in the drawers
Carafe of water by the bed refilled every day
Bathrobes! Hello mini-ritz


Every day upon returning from hours of walking, the room was cleaned, reorganized (in a way that made sense and really didnt feel invasive but rather relaxing... it was as if Nadia just knew exactly the way things SHOULD be to feel balanced and calm... ).. bed was made and sheets were buttery soft.

On to the breakfast: Because this place is just 2 rooms, Nadia and Jean-Claude pay very special attention to detail, including the breakfast. Coffee or tea, freshly squeezed juice, SO many jams and spreads for delicious fresh bread, yogurt, granola, cereal and THE most adorable little individually portioned cups of fruits- kiwis, melons, oranges, strawberries. I was so taken by the little cups with toothpicks- exactly 4 of each fruit for the 2 couples in the 2 rooms. How sweet. There were also some great cheeses to go with the various spreads, and I can't forget Nadia's homemade marmalade. Oh god if I could bathe in it I would.

So - did I love it? Yes. Would I recommend this place to everyone? No doubt.

The location is very good- Centrally located and an easy walk (although remember Sevilla is big, so an easy walk means 15 minutes) in either direction to just about anywhere. We particularly liked the neighborhood close by (google Eslava for a tapas experience and do try the ribs... best tapa in the history of tapas).

The experience was unforgettable and please don't be deterred by the lack of English reviews on here. Jean-Claude speaks some English, Spanish and French - He does a great job explaining in English (I do speak Spanish but we preferred to try English.) - You'd be surprised at how much combining of the 3 languages actually equals something understandable for all!

Please message me for more details. I had a great time here and it was above and beyond the most superior B&B experience I've had.

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms! You can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lovintheworld17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

A very warm welcome was received from the owners of Comme a la Maison. Nadia & Jean-Claude were their to greet us upon our arrival. They gave us all the information we needed to get the most of our visit to Seville. The breakfasts were amazing; a wonderful spread of fresh cut fruits, cereals, etc. We had the balcon room which was very clean and comfortable with a small balcony. Having the natural daylight was nice but it did mean that you could hear the late night revellers when you were trying to sleep. The bathroom for this room is quite small but it didn't spoil our stay at CALM. The B&B is centrally located; ideal for seeing all the surrounding wonderful sights and tapas bars, and in walking distance. Nadia & Jean-Claude are perfect hosts; friendly, caring and helpful. We have no hesitation recommending CALM.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
0.6 mi away
Callejon del Agua
Callejon del Agua
#1 of 70 in Seville
576 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Luxe Hostel
Grand Luxe Hostel
#16 of 70 in Seville
201 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sevilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oasis Backpackers' Palace Seville
2.4 mi away
Ibis Sevilla
Ibis Sevilla
#54 of 178 in Seville
826 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ayre Hotel Sevilla
Ayre Hotel Sevilla
#39 of 178 in Seville
1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comme a la Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comme a la Maison

Address: Barrio Feria, 41003 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Seville
Price Range: £62 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast, Art gallery, French cuisine workshop in a typical Seville's house in the heart of the city. At 200m from the Church of the Macarena... All the French comforts in Seville. Bed & Breakfast for 2 persons with private bathroom, bathtub with shower, toilet. Breakfast included (vegetarian on request)Double bed 160 wide, firm mattress. Heating, ventilation, insulation. Linens provided (sheets, towels). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing