We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apartamentos Altamira Sevilla
Ranked #64 of 154 Speciality Lodging in Seville
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed in Altamira apartment 1a and it was terrific (and I believe there are several apartments in the one building, run by the same people). It was bright, spacious, comfortable, stylish and in a terrific location. It is positioned on a small plaza (the balcony doors open up onto it – while the entrance is around the corner from it) which is very sweet and not too noisy. On it are a number of places for drinks, coffee, tapas etc.

We walked through a number of neighbourhoods and thought this one was the best. It is very quaint given it is the historical part of Seville but also close to a number of good restaurants/tapas/bars and walking distance to all attractions.

There were a few problems but the apartment manager and owner worked hard to resolve them as quickly as possible. While the problems were inconvenient we were impressed with their responses.

Tip one: The bar provide the keys to the apartment and they are all very lovely. However I strongly recommend that you contact/rely on the apartment manager to get all the information you need as the bar staff are not responsible nor aware of the apartment details.

Tip two: We recommend the following things that are less than 1 minute walk away:

1. Ristorante San Marco. Restaurant in an ancient arab building, best at dinner but also open for lunch. It was so good, we went twice.

2. Poncio. Tapas, located directly under the apartment. There are several good tapas in the area. This one is ‘a step above’ the rest and good if you feel like something different and is exceptional value. Sweet white chairs and tables out the front, on the plaza. It was so good, we went there twice).

3. Casa de la Guitarra. Flamenco performance. There are three performers (guitar, singer and dancer) and they are exceptional. It was our first introduction to Flamenco and had bought tickets to a larger, (apparently) world class performance the following night but wanted to try something smaller as well. Well, thank goodness we did because this blew us away. Each performer is outstanding in their own right, and when together, create a symbiotic, powerful performance that we could not recommend highly enough. This is not a tourist trap (there are so many of those around, I imagine) but a genuine experience steeped in tradition and delivered with skill and pride. I don’t want to sound like a complete idiot but we both cried during the performance.

I hope this information has been useful.

Room Tip: Apartment 1a overlooks the plaza from three double-door balconies that open up. Very cute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChampagneShelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    24
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Was very upset with the payment system - paid to paypal EU 130 - 65 per night for two nights and had confirmation that the transaction was completed without a need to pay more.

When I reached there, lady told me they had to pay paypal some agent fee and therefore we had to pay them that discrepancy amount. This is the first time I had such an encounter with paypal so did not know which merchant to believe and it did not help that they could not explain the situation to me properly. This had dampen the stay at first.

However, the location of the place made up a little, with the wonderful breaskfast that they serve at the restuarant across the street from the apartment. And, on our last day, the lady kindly allowed us to stay till 10pm as they did not have other guests coming in.

This accomodation would have been a very good if there was no problem with the payment and wi-fi available. I would suggest making sure that what you paid for is the right amount and the rest of the stay would be hassle-free. The apartment was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rentaplace22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Nice apartment, terrific location, and friendly waiters across the street where you get your breakfast of toast and coffee. We paid well over $100 per night as opposed to the $86 average that Trip Advisor has listed, but we were there during the high season of summer.

The negatives: There is no specific wi-fi connection dedicated to the apartments. They tell you the password to a nearby hotel internet connection. We had to sit in a specific spot in the apartment to pick up the connection.

The first floor apartment is one floor up the flight of stairs (no elevator). The apartment building has one parking spot.


Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank musicislife4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in June. We were on our second leg of our Spain trip (Madrid being our first). We were placed on the first floor facing Calle San Jose. The apartment was very clean and cosy and equipped with pretty much everything u need (including Internet) There is a washer in the apartment which came in handy. Although there wasn't a dryer but u can hang them on the rooftop terrace, and since it was the summer everything was dried within an hour. The Catedral de Sevilla is abt 10mins walk away, and once u get the hang of the little side streets, it is actually really easy to get around. There are plenty of tapas bars and restaurants near the apartment and the cathedral. Our fav place Vineria San Telmo (no 1 on tripadvisor) is just down the street. Overall very comfy place, definitely will go back again. couple of handy tips: 1) there are no lifts so keep that in mind if u are traveling with big bags and children. 2) always have a map, the little side streets can get tricky, 3) beware of horse and dog crap, seems like a common theme in Seville. :P

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay4cee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Many thanks to Maria and Altamira apartments for a wonerful 4 night stay. Yes its a bit of work to book but well woth the effort. Maria always responded promptly and when you arrive just go to Altamira resteraunt and they will open your apartment.

Apartment is just as described on website. Very comfortable modern and clean. Perfect position and we slept very soundly.

Breakfast at resteraunt is simple but delicious. I have no complaints at all with the accommodation and recommend to anyone thinking of renting. As perviously described we were on 2nd floor so if steps are a issue this is not for you - but it was no problem for us.

PS: we arrived by bus from Portugal and caught a taxi to park close to accommodation but outside Santa Cruz (perfect suggestion by Maria - thanks). Make sure you have a map of local area (from internet) before you arrive - Santa Cruz is a maze of narrow streets :)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here for a week in April 2012. The apartment has an amazing location right in the centre of town and at walking distance from all main attractions. The owner is extremely nice and kind. The apartment is new and in a very nice building. The only problems we had were the bed, that was extremely hard so uncomfortable for us, and the apartment was a little dusty, not perfectly cleaned. For these two (minor) issues I thought it was a little overpriced, since I did expect it to be perfect considering its price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Octopus713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

When traveling with family, we try to find apartment/hotels when possible, and since this was our first time in Sevilla I relied entirely on the recommendations in tripadvisor, going down the list in order of "ranking" until I found one available for our dates. This place was so nice that I can only assume that the reason it was available when the others weren't is because they make it a little difficult to reserve. While others let you reserve directly on line, this one makes you inquire through email about your dates, wait a day or two for a response, and then rather than letting you pay the deposit directly by credit card you have to use either paypal or a wire transfer. However, these impediments were definitely worth it, especially if they are the reason we were able to find available space in these wonderful apartments. So do not be discouraged by the cumbersome reservation process!

As for the apartments, they appear to be completely newly renovated. Everything looks so exceedingly brand new and spotless that I am surprised to see that they have been renting for several months now. The photos online of the rooms are completely accurate. What you don't see though are the fluffy comforters and comfortable pillows in different firmnesses. I am very sensitive to noise, so I can't say that it was completely soundproof - even though there are not many cars in this part of town there is the occasional motobike going shrieking by under the windows. But the windows are double paned and drown it out as much as possible. It didn't interfere with my sleep but if it bothers you, just use ear plugs. (also we were there in winter so didn't have the benefit of using the a/c which would probably provide enough white noise to cover it up.) There are two 4 star hotels (Alfonso X, and Fernando III) in the same plaza which share the same noise, and no one seems to complain about them.

As for the plaza it is in, loved it! Breakfast is included in a restaurant across the street owned by the same company, and even though the breakfast was minimal (toast or croissant and coffee) it was so delightful to take it just sitting out in the plaza, it brought to mind the credit card commercial ("Tickets to Spain: x dollars, Hotel in Seville: x dollars. Having breakfast in the Plaza de Santa Maria la Blanca in the morning: Priceless!")

The location is very central for all tourist sightseeing and taking beautiful walks at night. We almost didn't stay here our final night in Seville because we were concerned about what to do with our rental car (which we didn't have earlier in the trip) but discovered there is an underground parking garage just a few feet away on a main street for only 20 euros a day. Couldn't have been easier! Ask the manager and she will give you the information.

Also I would be remiss if I didn't mention the wonderful churreria just around the corner, looking like a hole in the wall (next to restaurant 3 de Oro) called La Calenteria. It has several "best in Seville" plaques on the wall. You won't need it for breakfast, which is provided by the hotel, but don't miss it for a churros y chocolate merienda (afternoon snack) Also, aside from breakfast, we didn't utilize the hotel restaurant, again trusting tripadvisor reviews that said it was overpriced and not so great. If you want to eat right in the area, we were satisfied with El Cordobes (salmorejo and other fine tapas for 2 euros each)

If stairs are an issue, you should know there is no elevator, and you will want to inquire which floor your apartment is on before choosing one - they have some that are only one flight up but others that are two. Also, they don't provide bars of soap, so bring your own - seems like a silly omission for such a nice place, but oh well.

All in all, if you are looking for apartment style accommodations in a central location, and want it to be supermodern and squeaky clean, I can't imagine you could do better than this place. Loved every minute here!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelisus37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Boutique Casas de Santa Cruz
Casco Antiguo
Apartamentos - Suites Santa Cruz
Casco Antiguo
Sevilla Central Suites
Sevilla Central Suites
#22 of 154 in Seville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Apartamentos Mariscal
#52 of 154 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Apartamentos Las Cruces
Apartamentos Las Cruces
#33 of 154 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Q&Q Cathedral Suites
Q&Q Cathedral Suites
#24 of 154 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Altamira Sevilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Altamira Sevilla

Property: Apartamentos Altamira Sevilla
Address: Ximenez de Enciso 33, 41002 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 154 Speciality Lodging in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apartamentos Altamira Sevilla 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
¡Welcome to ALTAMIRA apartments!Altamira apartments are conveniently located in the exciting Santa Cruz neighborhood, the hearth of the city.As the car traffic through the small alley is limited to taxis and authorized residents, we can guarantee peace to let our guests their rest. For those who are coming by car, there is a public parking just 50 metres away from the apartments.Captivating sevillian style building from 18th century. The house has 3 floors and it was completely refurbished in 2009 in six charmings and confortable apartments, all full equipped and decorated in contemporary style. The building has a comun top terrace. Feel free to enjoy it in sunny days or in our city's warm nights.Enjoy an enviable location in the heart of Seville. Set in the vibrating Santa Cruz neighbourhood, our apartments are a few blocks away from The Cathedral and Giralda Tower. You can walk to most of Seville's tourist attractions. You will find everything you need, from supermarkets to a wide range of fine restaurants, traditional tapa's bar, most famous comercial streets or fashionable pubs... all going for a walk.From airport: 6kmFrom Santa Justa train Station:1,5 km From Bus Station: 600 mts Public parking: 50 mts We hope you could find with us, the perfect place to know Seville. Waiting for meet you soon, ¡Regards! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Apartamentos Altamira Sevilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing