We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place of worship”

Iglesia Colegial del Salvador
Book In Advance
More Info
US$8.92*
and up
Santa Cruz Jewish Quarter Guided Tour in Seville
Ranked #14 of 284 things to do in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
ND
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A beautiful place of worship”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

So many artists contributed to the beauty of this church, I hardly know where to start. There were sculptures that were outstanding, carvings incredibly delicate, but the most amazing thing - while we were there the sun was coming through the stained glass windows and casting radiant colors on many artistic features

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank marie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    724
    439
    97
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
3,574 reviews
3,173 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,118 helpful votes
“A Very Beautiful Church”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

When I visit Seville, I always have to visit El Salvador Church because it is so very beautiful. This time we went to see the thrones used during Holy Week. One throne was called El Señor de la Sagrada entrada en Jerusalén. The sculpture dates to 1700. The other throne was the Virgen del Socorro. Still another was Cristo del Amor and was the work of Juan de Mesa. It dates to 1618. We also saw all the side altars in the church.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best churches I have ever visited!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

A very impressive interior showing great examples of craftsmanship. Lovely ceilings, ornate floats (run up to Holy Week) and detailed statues. A far superior interior than Serville Cathedral.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
143 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Like a Cathedral”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

All scrubbed up it looked wonderful. You could mistake it for a cathedral with its art and architecture. And size.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank davidblades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
391 reviews
228 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
“Worth seeing with a joint ticket with the cathedral...”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Those used to English and German cathedrals will have their visual senses bombarded with the extraordinary decoration in this church. Apart from the floor and the wall under the organ, I couldn't detect a flat surface anywhere! Whatever C21st misgivings one has about the wealth of the church treasures, one has to realise that all the artistic work in this church was to glorify God with the highest achievements of creativity. My goodness, this church does that and more. Be amazed by the opulence and scale of all the 14 altar pieces, the carvings, the paintings and the architecture of this building. I expected a short trip around but stayed far longer than expected. It is quite rectangular in shape with large transepts, typical C18th barrel vaults and a glorious dome. The stunning main reredos [Retablo Mayor] and the sacramental chapel [both by the Portuguese artist Cayetano de Acosta] are outstanding and there are also superb carvings by Martínez Montañés and Juan de Mena. All the major artworks have very informative boards in English and Spanish so you'll not be stuck for knowledge. I took so many photos that had I not also taken pictures of the descriptions it would be hard to remember them all. Suffice it to say, that I was beguiled by the whole church and came away entranced. The overindulgence in the masterworks made me feel as if I'd eaten a whole packet of marshmallows at once but I was glad to have experienced such glorious works. Were there not so many other places to visit in Sevilla, I'd have gladly returned a couple more times. Miss this at your peril and try and see it before the cathedral. The shared ticket makes it all the more worthwhile as there was no waiting here and the ticket allows you enter the cathedral without queuing for a long time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank EximiousTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Iglesia Colegial del Salvador also viewed

Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to Iglesia Colegial del Salvador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing