We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rococo”

Iglesia Colegial del Salvador
Book In Advance
More Info
US$9.35*
and up
Santa Cruz Jewish Quarter Guided Tour in Seville
Ranked #14 of 289 things to do in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Fortaleza, CE
Level 6 Contributor
1,113 reviews
947 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Rococo”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This church is a small version of the cathedral. The altars are of the rococo style and very big. If you like visiting churches it is a must go. The ticket for the cathedral will also let you visit this church.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabiano F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    754
    451
    100
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
665 reviews
313 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Meet the wealthy Jesus”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

When you visit the Cathedral of Seville you also pay entrance to this church. It's worth seeing because of the many examples of Jesus and Mary seen as wealthy people. At least two times Jesus' cross is decorated with gold or silver, and he is dressed quite fashionable. Funny how artists reads the holy book in different ways.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mogeltoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Almost a religious experience”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I'm not religious but thoroughly enjoyed my visit. The soft airy music in the background added to the light, airy feeling of the interior, making it a peaceful, soothing place as soon as you walk in. I was there mid-afternoon and wasn't expecting to stay too long. However, once I was inside, the peaceful feeling made me slow down, and I ended up spending a couple of hours there. By then the sun had reached an angle where it began casting beautiful and colorful shadows on the statues, columns, and walls through the stained glass windows. I've seen and admired many stained glass windows in churches, but never got to see them "at work". So I sat there mesmerized by the "light show" for quite a while. A very different church experience this was.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dimsumcafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Altarpiece blew me away”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Don't miss this beautifully resorted church, not far from the Cathedral. Just take a seat and absorb the amazing alterpiece over the main altar. Such wonderful workmanship.
Buy a ticket for the Cathedral here to save queuing.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You Must Go”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a truly awe-inspiring church. I felt much more moved here than in the Cathedral. The statutory is incredible and everywhere you look there is something to marvel at. Entrance is basically free if you go the same day as the Cathedral and you won't be disappointed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTraveler2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Iglesia Colegial del Salvador also viewed

Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to Iglesia Colegial del Salvador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing