We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks better in pictures--get in line!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silken Al-Andalus Palace Hotel
Ranked #61 of 178 Hotels in Seville
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I changed our Sevillian hotel after another property received poor reviews this late spring on Trip Advisor. Unfortunately, I still wonder if that would have been better. The SAA Palace was once a beautiful hotel, I am sure. The hallway and window bay area near our room (overlooked entrance) was full of spiderwebs and dirt. Credit to the cleaning staff who kept our room pretty tidy, however. The pool area is very nice for a European property. The breakfast is two meals--awesome! There was no internet access, nor any attempt by the staff to solve this. Every question in this regard received a 'non-answer' after we waited in a long line to reach a solution --we had planned to book some side train trips on-line.There is an office for general use--one computer for the hundreds of guests.

Stayed: July 2012
2  Thank a_viajera84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,014)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

706 - 712 of 4,014 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2012

This was our 4th weekend stay in Seville and we have always chosen a central hotel which is fine if arriving by taxi but not always so much fun if driving as parking and finding central hotels can be a problem. This time we booked the Al-Andalus for 2 nights for an absolute bargain cost with Booking.Com. We were not disappointed. We were driving in from Portugal and it was very easy to find. It is south of the city and a good 20 minutes walk to the Plaza de Espana, but the bus stop is just round the corner and a frequent service (no.37) goes into the centre for 1.30 euros. The Hotel itself is large and spacious as was our double room. We had breakfast included in our price which was an excellent buffet with a wide range of different foods available. The cost of breakfast if not included is 19 euros but even this is not bad value for the amount of food on offer. The outside swimming pool and garden area are very attractive and a very welcome oasis in the late afternoon after a hot day of sightseeing. We will definitely look to see if we can obtain another bargain offer and stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank therustler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Just returned from a 4 night stay in Sevilla. Hotel was spacious and cool and ythe pool area was great. Agree with Sue from London, who we met while there, with regard to tipping etc no need to leave much and we would have stayed longer if we could have. Nice staff. Room Air con great. Clean and friendly hotel.Buffet breakfast was excellent wiyth a variety to choose from.Didnt use spa so cant comment. Hope you enjoying the Olympics Sue!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank covgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I stayed here with my wife last weekend, the hotel is not bad, just a bit old, but the swimming pool and gardens are amazing, and is just minutes by cab from the city center. We went to a little new tapas bar nearby called "El 37" (Guadalimar St, just crossing La Palmera Avenue) and the food was excellent, so do the prices were!!!
I will be back to Seville, a really nice city which I love.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank martin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I have just returned from my first trip ( 12 days) to Seville and cannot wait to rebook....beautiful city, the best weather ever, fantastic tapas, great mix of people and a hotel with a beach feel....

I was apprehensive about the hotel as had read many mixed reviews but actually for me it ticked every box.... during the day we went walking to the beautiful parks or local coffee shops and then 3pm headed back to enjoy 5 hours of unbroken sun by the pool ( you can have 10 hours if you want but it was so hot ( up to 46) we decided 5 was enough.... ) You pay a euro for a large towel and bottle of water this is donated to local underprivalged families so for me this felt good to give something back to the community - also the water would cost you that anyway !!

We had booked breakfast which is fine if you like buffet style on mass...next time we will do room only as loved walking to the local coffee shops for a Cafe Americano con leche !!!

My top ten tips for anyone traveling there:

1. Upgrade to a suite with a terrace - costs about 10 euros a night and SO worth it !!!
2. Dont be afraid to the get the bus into town - its so easy. 1.3 euros each ( if you go after nine have the right change as they dont carry change) take about 5 mins and is all air conditioned - dont get into the TAXI trap you will end up spending alot.
3. Take comfy clothes - its not a dressy desitination be comfortable as it can still be about 38 come the evening - there is a lovely breeze but tapas is very casual.
4. Pack your trainers the parks are beautiful and I would recommend walking to plaza d'espana takes about 40 minutes and you see so much ( we walked to town a couple of night too)
5. Take a phrase book..... the time out book is good as translates what the tapas are
6. Sevillians usually eat lunch around 2pm and dinner about 10pm
7. Dont fall into large tip trap - just the change is enough you dont need to top up from a round up
8. Taxi to and from airport is 25 euros
9. Dont bother with toiletries the hotel provide lovely ones and there is a supermarket a 5 min walk away... this helps if you have terrace too as we used to like a few sundowner drinks before we went out ( we used the mini bar to keep things cool)
10. I didnt get bitten but the flies could be annoying we bought suntan lotion in supermarket called Delial.....FANTASTIC

All I would say is enjoy it - the distance from town is what it is and it never effected our holiday at all I cannot wait to go back

So many tapas to recommend my advice is to find out yourself - no bar is ever the same for anyone but we didnt have a bad tapas anywhere....... ENJOY beautiful Seville and dont tell everyone as otherwise it will get too busy !!!!

I would say to anyone going this city is still quite traditional and layed back - this is not high tourist, high tech, its still learning to cope with its new visitors but for me that is one of the best things about it....

PS April is their height of season due to all the festivals !!

PPS - Hotel is very very clean, staff speak fantastic english, POOL bar staff were second to none so happy all the time

Room Tip: Definately upgrade to suite......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sue_Dear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This is one of the nicest Hotels I have stayed at in Spain. The reception area is light and airy and a lovely place to sit with a coffee and watch the day going by. In the evenings it is ideal for a spot of people watching as it is always has comings and goings. It is also nice to watch the glass sided lifts shuttling guests around.

The Hotel itself has nice restaurants - I especially like the buffet restaurant which really gave value for money and the food is all of a good standard. Breakfast is exceptionally nice and very good value. Quite often I would fill up with a big breakfast and then not have to eat again until dinner time in the evening.

The hotel is situated in a residential area not far from the Real Betis ground which is nice to have a look around and is a short taxi or bus ride from the old centre of Seville. At night the surrounding area is quiet (unless you are there on a match day, obviously) but you can spend a very happy evening in the hotel Piano Bar and have a quiet, reasonably priced drink whilst listening to a rather cool dude play the piano.

The rooms were clean and well presented with all the amenities that you could need. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were a good temperature - important in summer in Seville.

The staff were all very friendly and spoke good English. The barman in the piano bar was especially good and remembered our drinks after the first visit which was a nice touch.

The pool is lovely and the loungers comfortable - although I have t say that there aren't really enough loungers for the number of guests that require them. The pool bar is excellent and the pool side four poster beds, which cost extra, are lovely.

All in all this is an excellent hotel that provides really good service, food and Value for Money.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool have twin beds, those on the other side have double beds - if you like sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We booked a two night stay in this hotel for the birthday of my boyfriend's mum. On arrival they had our booking completely wrong (two rooms for only one night instead of two nights), which resulted in them asking for a higher rate than upon booking. After showing our reservation form, however, they changed it to the original rate. The reception seemed a bit understaffed which resulted in a long wait to solve this problem.

The building is, according to us, very outdated, old carpets, lots of exposed concrete and unfinished staircases. The rooms were ok, not bad but not good either. The only downside there was that the air-conditioning always seemed too cold, you could only change the intensity, not the temperature. We would've have also liked internet in the room. We took the option to have breakfast included and that was well worth the money: a very big and delicious spread!

The outside sitting area was nice, we went in summer so the refreshing pool was very nice. It was always a bit of a challenge to find sun beds though. And the big beds next to the pool (you can see photos of them on the website) have to be paid for so nobody seemed to use them.

All in all the hotel wasn't horrible, but we found it outdated and I'm sure there are many more nice hotels around the city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dewulf_sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
5.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sevilla
3.4 mi away
Hotel Sevilla Macarena
Hotel Sevilla Macarena
#96 of 178 in Seville
2,403 reviews
1.7 mi away
Melia Sevilla
Melia Sevilla
#37 of 178 in Seville
3,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Ibis Sevilla
Ibis Sevilla
#51 of 178 in Seville
859 reviews
2.3 mi away
Las Casas de la Juderia
Las Casas de la Juderia
#33 of 178 in Seville
2,902 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ayre Hotel Sevilla
Ayre Hotel Sevilla
#38 of 178 in Seville
1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Al-Andalus Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Al-Andalus Palace Hotel

Address: Avenida de La Palmera s/n. Esquina C/ Parana, 41012 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Seville
#36 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#52 Romantic Hotel in Seville
Price Range: £41 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Al-Andalus Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 623
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis in the orange blossom capital This modern, light hotel, fully refurbished in 2005, emerges like an oasis in the orange blossom capital, amongst the gardens of the Heliopolis quarter and close to Parque de Maria Luisa and Plaza de Espana. With 623 rooms, the Silken Al-Andalus Palace hotel stands out for its spacious facilities, irradiating light and freshness, inviting the guests to enjoy its more than 15,000 m2 of gardened areas, have a relaxing dip in its exclusive pool, rest in its spacious rooms with free Internet connection or enjoy a glass of wine in its piano bar with live music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Easy Market Spa, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Silken Al-Andalus Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Al Andalus Palace Hotel
Silken Al Andalus Palace Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing