We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More a 3* hotel than a 4* ditto” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catalonia Giralda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Catalonia Giralda Hotel
Ranked #96 of 179 Hotels in Seville
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“More a 3* hotel than a 4* ditto”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

The hotel reception is fine, breakfast is very god, people there are very nice and helpful, but the wifi did not work in the room (tested 5 days), but in the reception it was ok.
The room's window could not be closed properly or locked. This resulted in cold and noiseful nights.
The hotel was somewhat shabby in the room and on the stairs.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José P, Director General at Catalonia Giralda Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you very much for your comments about your stay with us.
We apologize that he windows could not be closed properly.If we had known we could fix it.
Thank you very much again for stay with us and comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    154
    131
    58
    45
See reviews for
65
209
19
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Piedmont, California
Level Contributor
284 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in September. We found the hotel to be adequate, well maintained and in a good location (walking distance to the major historical sites and the city center) but nothing special. The staff were very helpful but the rooms were small and the breakfast just OK by the standards of other Spanish hotels we stayed in on this trip. Since we did not enable cell phone service overseas, we depended on hotel wi-fi for communicating with our family at home, and the wi-fi in this hotel was very unreliable. It seemed to have limited capacity, so it was possible to get on very late at night or very early in the morning, but as long as other guests were up and around, access was virtually impossible. If I went back to Seville, I would probably seek out other hotels before going back to this one.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

This is more like a three star hotel. Rooms are not as shown in photos and the beds have come in as the second hardest on our six week trip. If you are looking for a little comfort and a decent room try a different hotel. It's also a 15-20walk to the action so I think there is better value elsewhere.

On a positive note they transferred us to their sister hotel around the corner where we could choose our bed. Some were hard but we found one that was ok and stayed here. It's a little further out and about a 20 min walk to the old town but all in all it was good. It's called Hotel Catalonia Justa.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mavrik_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seville hotels

switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

summary: good hotel, not too far from city centre, good quality/price but not really a 4 stars

things to know: we stayed 2 nights with 2 separate booking as we decided the same evening to stay 1 night longer. The 1st night we paid with booking.com 55 EUR and the 2nd night 65 EUR but we had a better room as the others were full and due to our late booking!

plus:
+ : Good hotel in general and good service such as a welcome drink voucher
+: we chose this hotel because it was close to the old Sevilla (15 min walk)
+: convenient by car as there is a public parking free in front of hotel if you are lucky to get a place (but if you travel by public transport, maybe choose another hotel closer to old city)
+ : considering the price, very good quality / price
+: quiet and nice view if you can have a room at 4th or 5th floor

minus:
- : Nothing bad excepting the receptionist could not make a price for our 2nd night => finally we booked via booking.com again as it was cheaper than through hotel !!!!!!

As a whole, it's a good hotel. Low in 4 stars or good 3 stars! Considering price, I recommend it because it is a good value

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ehlstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

For the price, 200 euros/night, you can do better. Stuck. Here because it was pre booked from the US. Bathroom is minute, towels are like sandpaper, the Internet barely connects, and the neighborhood is debatable. The "kingside" bed is really two unconnected twins. Great if you're Ozzie and Harriet. The breakfast, included in the price, is an excellent spread, similar to other Catalonia Hotels in other cities we have been in. Look for a better location and price in Sevilla.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dronten
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

The hotel is located very close to all the things you want to see in Sevilla . The people at the reception are helpfull. The room was very clean and we ha a nice view. We had the best sangria in this hotel. The breakfast was excellent!

Room Tip: We had a room at the backside of the hotel with a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jama2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José P, Director General at Catalonia Giralda Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Customer
Thank you very much for your time and for share your memories with us.
Thank you very much on behalf of my team and on my own
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

This place is a little away from the action, which would be okay, but not for the price. Beds in Spain are hard, but these are the hardest so far. Building is old, no charm, and not really any great amenities. If I were looking for a budget hotel maybe I would expect this, but I am paying more than I feel this place warrants.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smaully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Gran Hotel Lar
#163 of 179 in Seville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Petit Palace Santa Cruz
#26 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hesperia Sevilla
#64 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#42 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Hotel Fernando III
#58 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Giralda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Giralda Hotel

Property: Catalonia Giralda Hotel
Address: Calle Sierra Nevada 3, 41003 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Giralda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Giralda is located right in the historic and shopping centre of Seville. It is named after one of Seville's most famous sightseeing locations, "la Giralda", which is just a few metres walking distance from the hotel. The hotel is also very close to the Santa Justa train station, where the AVE (high speed train) terminal is located. The hotel was built in 1967 and renovated in 2004, and has 110 rooms on 5 floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Catalonia Giralda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Catalonia Giralda
Catalonia Giralda Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing